We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Kyoto Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
■公式HPが一番お得!■Best Rate HP
Ranked #20 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Kyoto Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I spent three nights in Kyoto Granvia Hotel with my family in november 2013. The location is absolutely perfect within the station complex and in front of the bus terminal. The first room was a large and comfortable, although impersonal, Deluxe room facing South, just above the railway tracks, and the trains noise, if not too loud, was quite noticeable. The second room, a Queen Standard room, was facing Kyoto Tower, but one of the station buildings (we were on the 12th floor) blocked the outside view almost completely.
The staff was friendly, but reception rather impersonal. Good tempura restaurant on the M3 floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    689
    124
    27
    15
See reviews for
518
751
135
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Granvia while on a small group tour of Japan (InsideJapan Tours) and it was fantastic. Rooms are very clean, spacious with large shower and tub, with double sinks. We had a room overlooking the train station and it was very quiet. The restaurants are very good at this hotel, especially the roof top bar. It is a perfect place to catch a drink and have dinner if you want. Wines by the glass are over the top so best to order a bottle of wine. Breakfast was included and we had three choices but only choose the main lobby one as it was so good with so many local and western selections.
The shopping next door is amazing with some many stores and restaurants to choose from. Starbucks is right across the street as is the post office. Grabbing a taxi is very easy as is getting back. Of course grabbing the train is a 3 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Architecture and furnishings are fairly formal, but staff are friendly and competent. Hotel is located in the stunning and modern Kyoto railway station and shopping centre, both of which are bustling, but atmosphere in hotel is serene. Large room with excellent amenities. There are several restaurants in the hotel and breakfast buffet is outstanding with many Western and Asian choices. I'm a crispy bacon fan and this was the first time I have seen two bacon selections--soft and crispy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The position of this Hotel is great, just over the station, but not noisy at all. Plenty of good restaurants in this hotel on the 15th floor - option of eating breakfast in one of these also was good and very relaxing. The staff were great - the girl who pushed our luggage upstairs for us was really helpful. My wife merely asked her where we could get some glue to fix her trainer shoe and the next thing you know she went off and got some super glue and even fixed it for her! Spoke really good English.
Breakfast buffet, very interesting selection of Japanese and western style dishes. Relaxed and unhurried for such a busy bustling hotel. Would stay here again definitely!

Room Tip: Get a room facing onto the Kyoto tower for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you want a convenient luxury hotel in central Kyoto stay at the Hotel Granvia. It is an easy 5 minute direct access walk from the bullettrain station platforms and concourse into the impressive Foyer, and also the central bus station is directly in front of the hotel .Situated on top of the train station and in the architecturally impressive Cube building, you could not be in a more convenient spot for getting around Kyoto. Buy a popular 1 day pass for the Kyoto City bus system and you are ready to travel to all the tourists sites on this very popular, regular and easy to follow bus system with signage and announcements in English. The buses get very crowded but are thankfully air conditioned , a bonus if you visit in Kyoto's hot and humid summer and autumn months, The water misting sprays while you wait for the bus at the central bus station outside the hotel are very welcome and refreshing. Ask for a room on the 10th floor, open the curtains and you have a sensational view of the Kyoto tower and central Kyoto and the surrounding foothills Our room and en suite was very clean, quiet, spacious and comfortable, and the buffet breakfast bar in the Le Temps restaurant serving a wide choice of western and Japanese breakfast dishes was excellent. Take a walking tour of the Cube Building at night, along the various walkways and gantrys and up and down the escalators and enjoy the nightly light show and views from the top of this great building. There are numerous cafes and shops around this area if you don't want to eat at the hotel. Maxi Brisbane

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel several times and while you can not get better than the location being right in Kyoto station I have a few bones to pick.

I could not just book one night for any date in that month. This seemed very odd. In the end I was able to get the room, but it required a couple of emails to be able to set it up and I paid top dollar/yen for it. Much more than any time In the past that I stayed there. It was never a cheap hotel, but this was crazy. Almost twice what a JR hotel goes for in Tokyo. While I love the hotel, I though it poor value for what you got. In the future, if I am only going to be a night in Kyoto I will stay the JR hotel in Osaka for half the price and take the train in.

Other than that it was a nice room and a great location. If you are exploring Kyoto it does not get much better to me than being at the train station. The breakfast buffet was great and in past trips the dinner buffet was great and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Riding the escalator in a wheelchair was our welcome to the Hotel Granvia. Who knew this was even possible? Our family member who is in a wheelchair at the age of 18 had her first ride on one. Staff were delightful and warm, no question was too silly to answer. Great location with lots of shopping, great restaurants and easy access. The rooms were lovely and spacious, although the bathroom was a bit smaller than we are accustomed but definitely workable. Breakfast in the restaurant was lovely, with a variety of options for all. Great place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.