We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 331 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Location for Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in August 2013. A very good location for travel and Business directly above Kyoto Station. This is a luxury hotel with very nice clean rooms. Book direct with the hotel for best rate. Good bar on 15th floor with view of the city. This is a 5 star hotel and thus has a 5 star price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    628
    110
    23
    12
See reviews for
462
691
123
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nice rooms and view right above Kyoto Station. We booked two rooms; one for our college aged children and ourselves for five nights while we visited Kyoto and surrounds. We recommend booking directly through the hotel rather than going through a booking site because we got great rooms and a great price for luxury accommodations by emailing the hotel directly and giving them our credit card information without having to pay any fees upfront. They offered us a special deal for booking five nights and we got non-smoking rooms. It is very important to book nonsmoking rooms in Japan because a lot of people do smoke there. The hotel was very nice and extremely convenient for train and bus travel to wherever we needed to go. The staffs speak English and are very kind and helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel, but grabbed donuts and such at "Cafe DuMonde" just inside the station area below the hotel. The only real resemblance to "Cafe DuMonde" in New Orleans is some decor; otherwise, there is no beignets or hot chocolate. We really wanted to have drinks and dessert at the bar one night but they close pretty early so we missed that. The lobby was beautiful as well and had the most unusual and interesting flower arrangement. We would stay there again having the good fortune to return to Kyoto.

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel for the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro,Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at Granvia Kyoto with my daughter last July. We had only 3 days at the city and it was an excellent choice. Situated within the the train station, the hotel is big, with many choices of restaurants (some not cheap) and because it's so close to the station, you will find many good eating options as well. The location is very convenient to discover the city. The rooms are nice, clean and quiet. They offered complimentary wifi but it was a little slow. Kyoto is a lovely city and a great way to know the old Japan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Hotel Granvia Kyoto is attached to Kyoto Station, making it an ideal location if you plan to traverse Kyoto via trains and city buses. The hotel is gorgeous, the service top notch, and the rooms sleek & modern. I particularly enjoyed the full body showers in the room. The concierge desk was extremely helpful, they had tons of material on Kyoto's sites. I couldn't comment on the restaurants, as I ate out in the city every day. That said, Hotel Granvia did have some nice dining areas and a bar. VERY pleasurable experience at the Hotel Granvia. If you are looking for some luxury while you stay in Kyoto, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I must have stayed at the Granvia on about 15 occasions over the last 10 years, and it's always reliable and always good. This is the first time I've posted a review for it.

The rooms are good sized (especially for a Japanese hotel!) and very comfortable. The haven't changed in 10 years, but they still look well maintained and not at all tired looking.

The hotel has some excellent (albeit expensive) restaurants, but, being located over Kyoto Railway Station, there are literally hundreds of dining options within 100 metres in Porta underground shopping centre and in The Cube on the 9th/10th floors of the station building. Some of them are very reasonably priced.

The staff are excellent and extremely polite and courteous...most with an excellent grasp of English.

The only thing that could be significantly improved are the "health" facitities, which are quite disappointing. The gym is nowhere near the standard that a hotel like this should have.

Overall though, this hotel remains one of Kyoto's top hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at the Granvia Kyoto in July using Kyoto as my base to explore the Southern region of Japan. It was an excellent choice as it has to be one of the most convenient hotels I have stayed at.

Overall, the hotel is very nice and the rooms are fine. I had no complaints about the hotel (the only thing I could try and complain about was that I asked for a two hour late check out and told I would be charged for it). But the location of the hotel is fantastic.

The hotel is located in the train station with access to all the different train lines, the metro, the bus station and walking distance to several areas as well. I toured Osaka and Hiroshima from Kyoto and it was so easy to get to both cities from the hotel (literally walk out the back hotel entrance into the train station). The station is huge and includes a department store and a bunch of other shops and restaurants. There is a light show on the stairs up to a roof top garden and a water/light show just outside the front of the hotel. I also did several walking tours in Kyoto in which I caught the bus just outside the hotel to start each tour. It was incredibly convenient.

The breakfast options were also quite nice with a lot of different choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't beat the location of this hotel, it's right inside the complex of the Kyoto Station which makes it a super convenient base camp. It's a top notch hotel and they work hard to prove it. One staff woman was in a huge rush one day, running down the hall. As we were passing her she stopped immediately and gave us a patient, slow, respectful bow. After we exchanged greetings and a few pauses later, she took off running down the hall again. lol

Room was spacious, service and courtesy in general day after day made for such a nice and refreshing experience. A great breakfast buffet was included (make sure to double check).

If I had any criticism, it'd probably be that you have to pay an additional fee for access to the pool and gym. But even that is becoming more and more standard in the U.S., in Las Vegas certainly, etc. so I suppose it's not really a criticism. It'd sure be nice to have it included, but I understand it from a business perspective.

Other hotels in Japan strive for great customer service, but I definitely felt a difference in comparison. While others felt forced, with Hotel Granvia Kyoto it just felt like it came very natural for them. Experience was excellent, and would stay here again in heartbeat. No need for me to try another hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be a little far from the elevators, so try to get one a little closer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: 901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 331 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.