We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars because of location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 40%
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Kyoto
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Five stars because of location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at the Granvia Kyoto in July using Kyoto as my base to explore the Southern region of Japan. It was an excellent choice as it has to be one of the most convenient hotels I have stayed at.

Overall, the hotel is very nice and the rooms are fine. I had no complaints about the hotel (the only thing I could try and complain about was that I asked for a two hour late check out and told I would be charged for it). But the location of the hotel is fantastic.

The hotel is located in the train station with access to all the different train lines, the metro, the bus station and walking distance to several areas as well. I toured Osaka and Hiroshima from Kyoto and it was so easy to get to both cities from the hotel (literally walk out the back hotel entrance into the train station). The station is huge and includes a department store and a bunch of other shops and restaurants. There is a light show on the stairs up to a roof top garden and a water/light show just outside the front of the hotel. I also did several walking tours in Kyoto in which I caught the bus just outside the hotel to start each tour. It was incredibly convenient.

The breakfast options were also quite nice with a lot of different choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    596
    109
    22
    11
See reviews for
440
661
118
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't beat the location of this hotel, it's right inside the complex of the Kyoto Station which makes it a super convenient base camp. It's a top notch hotel and they work hard to prove it. One staff woman was in a huge rush one day, running down the hall. As we were passing her she stopped immediately and gave us a patient, slow, respectful bow. After we exchanged greetings and a few pauses later, she took off running down the hall again. lol

Room was spacious, service and courtesy in general day after day made for such a nice and refreshing experience. A great breakfast buffet was included (make sure to double check).

If I had any criticism, it'd probably be that you have to pay an additional fee for access to the pool and gym. But even that is becoming more and more standard in the U.S., in Las Vegas certainly, etc. so I suppose it's not really a criticism. It'd sure be nice to have it included, but I understand it from a business perspective.

Other hotels in Japan strive for great customer service, but I definitely felt a difference in comparison. While others felt forced, with Hotel Granvia Kyoto it just felt like it came very natural for them. Experience was excellent, and would stay here again in heartbeat. No need for me to try another hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be a little far from the elevators, so try to get one a little closer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I and my husband stayed at the Granvia in Kyoto for 7 nights. The room was big (we did not expect to be that spacious). The location was really good as it is in the station. We jumped on the JR, subway and buses easily.The buffet breakfast was good with the selections of both western and Japanese items. We also tried the Japanese breakfast one morning and it was great. It was a good experience of the Japanese culture. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We also tried out a couple of restaurants (Chinese and Italian) in the hotel and we loved the food. We had a great time in Kyoto and a great stay in the Granvia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Though I was apprehensive in staying at a hotel that shared the same location as a train station, I was pleasantly surprised to see this Star Rated hotel within the Rail Station. Superb location with an excellent staff. Always helpful and courteous. Rooms are excellent, though I chose the wrong view from my room. I could see all the roof of the station from my window. But this is my address in kyoto, when ever I pass through, for sure

Room Tip: ask for a room that face the Kyoto Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our city-view king-size room on the 8th floor was surprisingly large. The staff were very friendly and even allowed us to check in early on arrival. The hotel is connected to Kyoto Station which is quite a sight and has lots of shopping and dining options. We had no problems with wi-fi in our room, everything was very clean, and we also had no smell of smoke on our floor. The A/C worked wonderfully (so important in Kyoto in the summer if you're like me). From the station you can catch a bus to anywhere in the city (a day pass is only 500yen), or you can rent a bicycle from Kyoto Cycling Tour Project nearby and explore the city that way.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room for a better night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

As we travelled by bullet train from Tokyo to Kyoto this hotel was perfect for us. The concierge here was extremely helpful and suggested things to do to make our stay memorable. The hotel itself is luxurious and nothing was a problem for the staff. There are a variety of restaurants in the complex, though the 2 we tried were nothing out of the box.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We paid more for a non-smoking room as we have 2 young kids. I think however, that the hotel should not impose the premium.

Other than that, the location (which is within Kyoto Station) is one of the best for the convenience, especially during our stay when it was raining quite abit, we enjoyed being able to go to the malls, or take the trains without getting wet.

The hotel also provided a cot and diaper bin in our room, but other than that, we didn't have any baby amenities. Perhaps this can be an area of improvement, as the amenities for adults are quite impressive - makeup remover, hair brush (not comb), lush bedroom slippers etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: 901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.