We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location. even better staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture (Shimogyo-ku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
new york, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location. even better staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

we stayed at the hotel granvia kyoto for 3 nights and had a terrific experience. we were upgraded to the concierge level and our experiences with the concierge staff was nothing short of excellent. they were uniformly friendly, helpful and very well-informed. definitely embellished our entire experience in kyoto. i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    775
    146
    29
    18
See reviews for
593
835
147
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the hotel was ok. The location is superb, it is inside the breathtaking Kyoto train station. Service was average, nothing bad and nothing sensational. A good choice if you want convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My family and i had a chance to stay here during our summer holiday. We arrived from osaka to kyoto by Shinkansen, which took only 15 minutes. After arrived at kyoto station i can see the hotel location clearly due a big sign of the hotel, where only just on top of kyoto station.

We checked in anf settled everything. We didnt need to queue so long for check in. The receptionist was very attentive.

The room was clean and very spacious, compare with osaka hotel that we stayed in. The bed was nice and we got kyoto city view from our window.

Overall, granvia kyoto is a good place to stay with convenient and accessible area, and good price for sure.

Ps: they have amazing concierge!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very central and easy location. Room a bit 1980s for my taste - black carpet! Bathroom clean but tiling a bit grubby and hand basin cracked. Good lap pool (have to pay) . Bar very average and expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a great time staying here with our 11 year old son. The room was incredibly comfortable and well equipped, with a view of Kyoto Tower and we loved the fabulous location! it's super convenient to be at the station, which is very modern and buzzing with activity. The staff was incredibly professional, the concierge helpful, the breakfast buffet fresh with many options, and terrific latte machines. Free wifi always a plus! And it was just fun to be in this location and its proximity to trains for local and regional travel, stores and restaurants, and the department store where we purchased food for our room and feasted from its great prepared food section (with bargains at the end of the day) after a long day of sightseeing. Memorable experience staying at the station in a beautiful, superbly run hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at the Granvia for 3 nights for business travel. I had the delux room, which was slightly bigger. Overall the hotel is a very nice business hotel - well kept and *rooms are good size*. I'm used to Japanese hotels which have room 10 inch larger than your bed, so was quite happy to find that the room was spacious and comfortable. Had a view of the railroad - seeing Shinkansen arrive and take off - kind of fun. Location is very convenient. There's lots of decent (some good, some ok) food on the 11th floor of the SENTE (sp?) building in the station which is very conventient when you don't what to go out and find a restaurant. Hotel has a web page with excellent directions to the hotel from near by airports - handy even if you are not staying there.

I use to stay at the Rihga Royal in Kyoto which is very so-so. I will definitely go back to the Granvia hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A very comfortable stay. The location is excellent, right in the train station and bus terminal. Everything is just seconds away. Besides the location, the panoramic view from the room is fantastic. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#24 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,509 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#50 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,571 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#82 of 344 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.