We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation above such a busy railway station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 332 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation above such a busy railway station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for six nights in this luxurious hotel. Our room was the most spacious of the seven hotels in which we stayed during 21 days in April 2013 and was very welcoming each time we made the rather long walk from the lifts. The hotel is right above the railway station and beside a major bus terminal so that all the sights on our schedule were achieved easily by foot, bus or train, either the JR lines or the subway. After arriving from Okayama mid-morning, the staff were extremely helpful and made us welcome although the room could not be accessed till the afternoon, a common procedure we discovered during this trip. As there are plenty of sights, shopping centres and restaurants near the hotel, this was not a problem. The Kyoto railway station itself is an architectural wonder which could be overlooked if you have too busy an itinerary. Wifi was complimentary. We did not eat in the hotel which however provided a vast array of Japanese and international restaurant choices if guests did not wish to go out from the hotel in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    627
    109
    23
    12
See reviews for
461
690
123
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Granvia for 10 nights during our recent visit to Kyoto. Among the five Kyoto hotels we had stayed over the years, this is the best in terms of spaciousness of room and location. The hotel is actually inside the Kyoto Station, with guest rooms located from the 7th to 15th floor. Our room at the 7th floor faced the railway tracks. However, the soundproofing of the room was so good that we practically did not hear any noise generated by trains. The room was rather spacious, with a big closet to put our suitcases. The room and the bathroom/toilet were clean. Newspapers (alternating among Japan News, International Herald Tribune and Wall Street Journal) and free internet were provided. The location of the hotel makes it very convenient to take buses, trains and subways to various spots. Underneath the station, there are several interconnected underground shopping malls with many small shops and restaurants. We had all our meals in those restaurants which offered good and inexpensive food. We enjoyed out stay at Granvia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I will go with a less is more approach here - it was very good.
Bed was LARGE (after some tiny ones, it was most welcome), shower the best I have ever had, and room was large and spacious.
The staff were so welcoming and friendly I thought they must be angling for a tip but that didn't seem to be the case.
The location was great for our two nights in Kyoto and made the connection back to Tokyo very easy.

Room Tip: The corridors are very long, so if you don't want a three minute walk to you room ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here two nights in April at the start of an organised tour. This Hotel was an excellent choice from the excellent location - we arrived by bus to the warm welcome from the reception staff.
We stayed on the Granvia Lounge floor and whilst the room may have been small we found it to be more than adequate. The BBC was available on the TV and best of all the shower was unbeliveably hot!!!! something I was going to enjoy throughout Japan.
We had lunch and two breakfasts in the main restaurant and all meals were excellent even though they were all buffets - something I normally do not enjoy. However the food was fresh and both Japanese and Western dishes were available.
Should we return to Kyoto we would defintely stay here again. I really could not fault this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May. Overall a great experience.

Location is great - attached to the amazing Kyoto Station and a huge shopping mall/restaurants and opposite the Kyoto Tower. Very nice area to browse around, in between temples and ahrines.

Check-in the 'usual' efficient and friendly service you get to expect in Japan.

The rooms themselves are great. Roomy, (Of course) spotlessly clean. The bed is comfortable. We had a large, king size and it was very good, after a long day walking around.

Bathroom is a little small but effective. Shower is in the bath and has two fixed attachments on the wall. Not the most advanced but did the job fine.

TV was modern but, similar to many other Japanese hotels, suffered from a lack of English channels. Basically National geographic, Discovery and BBC World only. Come on hotels: "International" means international!

We tried the coffee shop in the lobby for breakfast. Great for crowd watching, coffee is really good but the croissants are below par, compared to many shops just outside.

Facilities are good, service is outstanding.

Try it. Nice place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a tourist hotel right on top of the train station. It is good if you are coming to or leaving Kyoto on an early/late train. Otherwise, it is not a pleasant or quaint place to stay. The staff is perfectly nice. The rooms are in fairly good (basic) condition. The concierge was ultra helpful and would not accept a tip. Value for the money was fair. In the end, I would have rather stayed in a boutique or other local hotel, but this was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel has the best location ever right inside the huge and busy Kyoto station. Everything you need is right there: food, shopping, exchange offices and you get to live for a few days inside a train station!!! As all Japanese people, the staff was more than perfect, ready to help you all the times. Rooms are big and very comfortable. You have all means of transportation right there at your door. Easy, fast and perfect!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: 901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 332 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.