We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room but with almost no daylight” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,792 Reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“clean room but with almost no daylight”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel Gravia is a very convenient place to stay if you are planning to make a lot of day trips where you need to go by train (jr lines) - it is in the same building as Kyoto station. And the station center is also full of shopping and dinner possibilities. My room was on the 7th floor (room 770), and I would not recommend this if you like daylight - the glass roof of the station building was blocking the view and daylight to the room and it was a very uninspiring view. Also there is no in-room safe which you would expect when you stay in a hotel on this price level. The bathroom amenities was good, but it would have been nice with some bodylotion too. wifi in the room worked fine.

Room Tip: My room was on the 7th floor (room 770), and I would not recommend this if you like daylight - the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    642
    113
    24
    13
See reviews for
473
701
124
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was a good hotel, but I think after staying at the Grand Hyatt in Tokyo, I was a little disappointed. Having said that, this is a great location, with everything accessible from here, and especially being there on the busiest week, Golden week"!
There are so many restaurants in the vicinity that you don't have to venture far. The gym and pool etc were very old and did not inspire me to use it.
The hotel is in need of refurbishment, as it is a bit tired looking, but it is spotless!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

You could not be in a better location for if you are doing Kyoto on the quick but with that you pay the price of being in the romantic Kyoto in and around Gion which is very charming. Things I loved was the convenience if being in the transport hub, access to lots of shops and restaurants in the station at very reasonable rates and the design of Kyoto rail station. It's stunning!

Things that could have been better- the rooms are very 80's looking and having just come from st Regis in Osaka which was 1/2 the price and about 10 times more stylish and luxurious. It felt like a massive let down.

We were upgraded to a superior room but it was the furthest you could go to in the hotel and I am afraid even on the 12th floor we heard the trains very clearly although I can sleep through anything.

Didn't try anything else in the hotel so could not say.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and we loved it. It was a bit of a splurge for our budget but we knew we wanted to be in a convenient location. It was definitely convenient for us right when we arrived at kyoto station. The hotel can be kind of hard to find but if you ask around in the station people can point you in the right direction. You don't even have to go outside to get to the hotel which is really nice. We didn't visit any of the restaurants in the hotel because they were a bit pricey, but we had a lot of fun exploring the food options in the station and department stores connected to the station. As you would expect from a hotel at this price point, service was fantastic. We arrived early and since our room wasn't ready, the staff checked us in and held our bags for us while we went sightseeing. Once we returned, they gave us our keys and let us know the bags had been taken to the room already. The room was awesome. It was large, modern, and super comfy. Great closet and storage space for all your stuff. The bathroom was huge and had really nice amenities (loofahs, makeup remover, heated toilet seat, etc...). We had a room on a lower floor and facing the train tracks, but we never heard any noise from the trains. I took off one star on the review because there were several things that were not included in the room rate that you would really expect at a hotel at this price. Coffee and tea bags in the room were not free ($2-3 each) and they also charged $10 per day to use the gym or pool. Other than those minor things, we loved our stay and would likely stay again. Great location and beautiful, comfortable rooms.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this hotel right now. Location is fantastic - walk straight upstairs from the station, all the city buses are out the front door for sightseeing and there are plenty of restaurants and convenience stores in walking distance. The hotel is massive, service is great and friendly. The room is a decent size for Japan and in a twin we have fit two adults, a 4 year old and a one year old. One great thing - free, reliable wifi is available throughout the hotel, including rooms - as I would expect for nearly £250 a night! (I do appreciate that we are in Kyoto on the busiest weekend of the year.)

My issue is the extra charges for things. The pool, which my four year old would have loved after days of sightseeing, is over 1000yen per person, and only available to those over 20!!!!! And the biggest is the gym - 1500 yen a session, and it is essentially a few treadmills in a corridor. I realise that we haven't come to Kyoto for swimming and the gym, but we are staying 5 nights so those things would have been nice, and at, as I said, £250 a night, not including breakfast, they shouldn't be charged extra. Sadly, this has left a bad impression of this hotel, hence my 3 star rating. Would have been better otherwise.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

definitely a 5star hotel. love their toiletries. best location right above the kyoto station and the bus station is just next to it. even with lots going around this area, the room is just quiet. lots of shopping and eateries within the station. we stayed here for 5 nites and with our JR pass traveled easily visiting all the places of interest. enjoyed our stay ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very easy to travel within Japan with luggage especially with a Japan Rail Pass because you do not have to leave the station. There are many shops and restaurants at the station as well. Busses and local trains are also easy to use.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: 901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.