We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with incredible location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with incredible location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Kyoto was our main stop in our honeymoon in Southern Japan. So having a hotel that was connected to the fast speed train and the bus and subway system can't be beat. The rooms were nice and spacious and the staff was friendly. Being so close to the trains meant we had more time visiting the sites rather than traveling to and from the train station. Anyone visiting Kyoto, this is the place to stay.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    640
    113
    24
    13
See reviews for
471
700
124
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is located in a great position, right on the monorail to Odaiba and close to the Subway and JR lines. The staff were really great, as was the view to the Tokyo tower. The staff sorted us restaurant bookings, Sumo tickets and even a blow-wave. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room itself was small by Western standards, but more than big enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed on Kyoto just for a night and it was a great stay, the rooms were quite specious. The hotel is basically at Kyoto Station and all the sightseeing are close by. The hotel has great restaurants and breakfast buffet was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Arriving after dark from the airport on JR Railways (efficiency! Wow!), the Hotel was easy to find. Excellent check in and a room that was comfort personified. Great pillows. Easy access to day walking or bus tours. Tourist information centre in pedestrian walkway under station. Will come again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at the Granvia recently with six friends traveling from Hong Kong. Four of us stayed in standard/single rooms while 2 chose to stay on the Granvia floor, where we had a deluxe room which granted access to the "Granvia Lounge" and free use of the gym and pool, which otherwise is at an extra cost even to residents. While the use of the gm was great, the "lounge" was a little disappointing. The free drinks and snacks were limited to tea, coffee and juice, with rice crackers and the ambience recalled my high school library, with the few visitors speaking in hushed whispers, overlooked by the lounge staff, like librarians. This was not the kind of"executive lounge" I have experienced in international hotels. If you do not intend to use the gym, the difference between deluxe and standard rooms is barely discernible.

But that aside, the rooms were excellent considering the size of rooms in Japan generally. The Granvia supplies a comprehensive list of amenities including facial wash and make-up remover - but not moisturizer or body lotion, which would have been appreciated given the drying effect of the combination of cold dry weather outside and central heating inside. They even supply pyjamas, though not ones which anyone would be inclined to steal - they are more like a hospital operating theatre gown. But for a light packer, like me, they were a boon.

The best things about the hotel though were first, the location. The hotel is immediately above the train station into which the Kansei express train drops you. Being able to wheel my hand carry straight from the platform into the hotel, without needing to queue in the snow for a taxi, was a marvelous thing. It also gave us easy train, bus and subway access to all the sights we visited during our 6 day stay.

The second highlight was the service. We were able to use the hotel concierge to book several of the harder to access sights in the area. Several temples and sights require written application by any intended visitors, who must have a return Japanese address to which their written invitation will be sent, by postcard. Since we live in Hong Kong we had to ask the hotel to apply on our behalf. On arrival, the concierge had all our postcard invitations waiting for us, together with leaflets and information for all the sights, a typed up itinerary and a map, on which the sights were marked with numbered stickers indicating the order in which we would visit them, and public transport and taxi options to get us there. The level of attention to detail was very impressive.

Finally the breakfast was superb with a fabulous range of western and Japanese choices and again mope cable service.

The Granvia offers excellent value for money if you book with them sufficiently in advance. Waiting till the last minute however risks higher prices if the hotel is nearer full.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is part of the sprawling JR Kyoto Station Complex, and is owned and operated by JR West. Rooms are large for Japanese standards and very comfortable. The South-facing rooms look over the railway tracks, and you can see the trains pulling in and out of Kyoto station. Sound-proofing is great, so you do not hear the trains at all.

Being part of the JR Kyoto Station Complex, it means that you have a direct connection to Kansai Airport (via the Haruka Express), as well as numerous parts of Japan (via Shinkansen and regional lines). The Station Complex also houses an enormous Isetan department store, as well as many food & beverage options (if you get tired of the many restaurants in the hotel). There is also an underground mall connected to the complex, as well as numerous other entertainment option just a short walk away.

While not in the main touristy bit of the city (Gion and Shijo), these places are only a short hop away on a local bus. There is a huge bus terminal just in front of the hotel, and you can purchase an unlimited-ride one-day bus ticket for ¥500, which allows you to explore all the local sights and eats.

The hotel also hosts a long list of great restaurants, which are further augmented by the long list in the Isetan department store (including a branch of the famous Tenichi Tempura Restaurant) and those in the J-Cube complex.

In short, you could easily be entertained by what is around in the station complex for a few days!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

When traveling in Japan, staying near a large train station is a must. This was on top of the train station and connected to a large mall. I wish we'd gotten breakfast but it was much more expensive than our previous place so I opted out. However, we just walked out of the hotel, down the escalator, back up the escalator and had breakfast at a little bistro type place every morning. Then we'd head back down to the trains. The hotel was huge, easy to get lost. Our room was really big especially compared to the other places we stayed. Lots of choices to eat inside the hotel but even more places to eat at the mall next door. Free WiFi in the rooms was great. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: 901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.