We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 40%
Ranked #6 of 143 hotels in Kyoto
Honolulu
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I really like the location above Kyoto station. It definitely makes it very easy to get around. The room is adequate, but not large per se, but it's large for rooms in Japan. There are a number of food options nearby and shopping down the escalator or within walking distance. It's a very "city" Kyoto location, so if you're looking for a peaceful ryokan-type experience, this is not it.

Staff has been great.

I'll definitely stay here again when I come back to Kyoto.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    924
    584
    107
    21
    11
See reviews for
426
648
115
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I always stay here when I go to Kyoto for vacation. It is right above the Kyoto station and you can go to Uji and Nara from the station. It is also quite convenient to catch bus or a taxi downstairs. Rooms are big and spacious which is not easy to find in Japan. Bathroom is big with nice and clean bathtub. Concierge is quite helpful and patient. Service is always prompt and friendly. They have package mailing service at the lobby.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet room, request the room facing the cityview. This is a huge long hotel and best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is at the Kyoto Station which is also connected to the bus and subway station. The station complex has a Isetan departmental store. It is also connected to an underground shopping mall. The property is a typical 4-star hotel with all the business and tourist amenities. Some of the rooms face the station platforms and you can see trains pulling in and away. However, the rooms are well insulated so noise is not an issue. I like this hotel for its excellent location as you can get straight into the hotel once you arrive in Kyoto by train, and you can practically go anywhere you like from the train, bus and subway stations which are just footsteps away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I read a few tripadviser reviews on this place before I booked and stayed, and there's obviously a small majority of people hard to please (some winged about train noise, announcements, etc). This is a great hotel, right amongst the Kyoto station so very central, and great location to/from Shinkansen. Service was great, rooms comfortable, price reasonable for the quality, location great, and quiet. I do suggest however request a room near lifts as the hotel is large, and also upper floors (for extra quiet, many views).

Room Tip: High up, near lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Kyoto for five days recently, and we chose this hotel for our first three nights in this UNESCO listed city. It worked perfect for us as we took the bullet train from Tokyo.
After arrival at the station it was a short ten minutes walk to this beautiful hotel located right inside the equally beautiful and amazing Kyoto Central Station.
We took excursions during our first few days in Kyoto including the must see city of NARA (another UNESCO listed historic city) as well as Hiroshima (UNESCO again) and neighbouring Miyajima Island for the splendid in the water Tori Gate (an enduring symbol of Japan). We got up very early to take the AM trains for these excursions and therefore the location of the hotel was unbeatable. During our stay, it was cold and very dark after 5 PM, and we were not interested in going out of the Station area in the evening to have our supper.
The hotel has at least 6 restaurants which we did not try as there were at least 10 times that many right in the Station itself, especially on the 11th floor of the Isetan Department store. All the different Japanese cuisines are available here incl sushi, tofu, tempura, shabu shabu, noodles houses, as well as western fare.
As for the hotel itself, it was lovely and extremely comfortable. The room was a little on the small side, but perfectly acceptable. It was extremely clean and well appointed. The service throughout was unimpeachable. We used the concierge a lot to help plan our sightseeing, and the staff here was simply excellent. For the last 2 nights we moved onto a wonderful ryokan (the Hiiragiya) or traditional Japanese inn, and I HIGHLY recommend all travelers consider doing this. It would be a once in a lifetime experience and richly enrich your experience of Kyoto and Kyoto/Japanese culture. Afterall this is why we travel.

Room Tip: higher rooms are better and bigger,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent a perfect weekend in Kyoto recently and the Granvia can partly take credit for this. The hotel is conveniently located above the station, with easy access to trains and taxis. We made our reservations via JTB including the Shinkansen tickets, which worked out cheaper than making separate reservations. The concierge staff were very helpful and knowledgable - their advice definitely added to our experience. We also made use of the hotel's luggage forwarding service, which made traveling back so much more convenient. The only slight negative point was that we could hear the announcements from the Shinkansen station, it did not keep us awake, but we were definitely aware of it. A room on the other side of the hotel could be a good idea for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the city instead of the tracks should be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What could be better than staying at a top class hotel right at Kyoto station, with easy access to trains, buses and taxis and all the great shops, department stores and restaurants within the station complex? I stayed for three nights and it was great! The hotel has its own art collection including really nice pieces which are on display, and when I was there there was also a terrific exhibition of woodblock prints in the foyer area. The staff were very helpful and agreed to store my larger piece of luggage for two and a half days while I went to Takamatsu/Naoshima before checking in. Room and ensuite were a good size and bed very comfortable. Free internet worked well. There seemed to be less free tv choices than at a couple of other places I'd stayed, but maybe I didn't fully understand the options. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the city, as opposed to a very close view of the station architec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: 901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 143 hotels in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.