We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make it easy on yourself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
■公式HPが一番お得!■Best Rate HP
Ranked #20 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
tustin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Make it easy on yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just returned from a 12 day trip to Japan with 6 different hotel stays. The Grandvia was excellent with prompt and courteous check in even though we arrived early. Great location at the train station for anyone traveling about the city as busses, cars and train are right ouside the hotel.Breakfast was included in our rate and well worth it. Excellent buffet western or Japanese; it will tide you over until dinner. Check out the super coffee, cappuchino maker; how do we import these ! Room and amenities were excellent. Do go up to the lounge for a cocktail and fabulous overlook of the city. We highly recommend this centralized big hotel with a staff that treats you like a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    689
    124
    27
    15
See reviews for
518
751
135
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently with my husband and parents. My husband and I live in Osaka, but with so much to do in Kyoto we wanted to stay there for a few days to show my parents some of our favorite spots around Kyoto. We planned to visit a few different places each day, and for that you really can't beat Granvia. They also have a few restaurants in the hotel - on the expensive side. But there is a huge shopping area adjacent to the station full of restaurants and shops to choose from. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, modern, and spacious. The concierge service in the lobby was excellent - they helped us with some bus routes and locating some specialty products we wished to find. Also, the day after we returned to Osaka I realized I had left my makeup bag in the room. When I called, they contacted the housekeeper, and my makeup bag was delivered to Osaka the following morning. I was so grateful. I would definitely recommend staying here - especially if you have many places you would like to visit around Kyoto. Or if sleeping on tatami mats isn't what you had in mind!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The experience with this hotel was excellent from the day I made the booking. The communication from the staff was excellent and very detailed and we were able to organise a lot of the detail before we arrived.
Hotel Granvia was very conveniently located being right at the train station near many great shops and the Isetan Dept store and many restaurants. Note due to the location, the area is very busy at certain times of the day.
When we checked in we were greeted before we even go to the counter with very helpful staff who spoke enough English to understand what was required.
We found the room to be a very good size, we travelled with a toddler who slept in a cot and were very impressed that they had provided a nappy disposal bin too! It was very clean and the facilities were excellent. There was a newspaper delivered each morning and the Wi-Fi was of a good speed too.
Buffet breakfast is excellent with a lot of variety and was of excellent quality.
The only negative would be that we were often woken by the sound of the trains at 6 am in the morning as we are very light sleepers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Granvia for three days after a work conference in Kyoto, and it was excellent. Perfect location right above the Central Train Station, right near shopping, and only a short taxi ride away from the cool spots of Pontocho and Gion.

The rooms were bigger than anything I'd seen before anywhere in Japan, and the facilities were superb.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

a great hotel to stay in outside weekends or holidays! our room rate was 14k for several weekdays - with a gratis upgrade.
But to extend to Friday/Saturday, only a larger room was available and the rate jumped to 45k.

learning the long corridor and two lift banks can be a trap for the sleepy. get it wrong and the walk from elevator to room can be extraordinary. but I didn't mind as the views down into the station are very pleasant.

checkout was a generous 12pm

Kyoto station is an architectural marvel, if you have never stated in Kyoto before it is as good a place as any to start. Buses outside go to all major temples and the train system is at your fingertips.

I enjoyed staying here, for the price it was a steal.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I would give this hotel 3 stars if it wasn't for the location.

All the things you want to see in Kyoto are spread around the city, requiring different transportation tools at different times. I could not imagine navigating around Kyoto so easily if I had stayed in any other hotel. The Raku bus for the tourists, the train to Arashiyama, taxi when you feel like it, shinkansen from Tokyo and train to Osaka are all ready and available at your doorstep. Not to mention a billion restaurant choices in the hotel and inside the terminal.

I am guessing most people going to Kyoto are going for sightseeing and there is no better place to make your base.

On the other hand, the rooms are clean and well kept, although bathrooms certainly need improving in the very near future. The hotel itself is very large so do not expect pampering and personal attention at all times.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The rooms are large, the buffet breakfast is delish. The sevice was excellent. Being near the train station was a real plus, since we used this hotel as a base and came and went 3 times to visit other cities. We stored our luggage each time and took a small bag with us with a day or two's change of clothes. The train station had great shops in it and we bought lunch there before each train ride. There was even an entrance to the hotel from the station. Going up to the top of the train station was awesome, where there is a garden on top floor and then walking the "cat walk". It is also attached to a beautiful department store.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.