We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, comfy room, spot on location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Large, comfy room, spot on location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Spent four nights at the Granvia in October 2011. It's a professionally-run, businesslike hotel, with all you'd expect given the price and star-rating. Our room was a standard double of a really good size by Japanese standards, with enough space for a huge bed, separate chair, table, plus desk and a good-sized bathroom.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. There was free wired internet in the room but no Wi-Fi at all. Our view was straight across to the station roof, so if you ask for a room at the front of the building I suspect you'll get a better view.

Staff were friendly and helpful at check in and check out. We didn't sample any of the hotel's own restaurants, but there are hundreds of options in the surrounding streets, department stores, buildings and in the station itself.

In particular, check out the ramen floor of the Isetan building for lots popular restaurants serving filling, very tasty ramen dishes.

Obviously, this is an excellent location if you're arriving via Shinkansen, as you can stroll off your train and into the hotel with no fuss. But it's quick and easy to get to the other main sites in Kyoto - just don't assume the subway is always the best option.

The buses are frequent and often go to tourist spots the subway doesn't - get an English map of routes from the bus terminal office in front of the station. We walked to downtown and Gion in under an hour too, and that's a good way to see some more of the city.

In all, this hotel was very comfortable, spacious and quiet - definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Perhaps asj for a room at the front of the station for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    640
    113
    24
    13
See reviews for
470
699
124
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Hi everyone. I travel A LOT for work and also play and I can say the Hotel Granvia in Kyoto was fantastic.
Located directly above the Bullet train ( Shinkansen ) station in Kyoto , it makes getting to your room a breeze!

Very helpful staff , who speak great English as well.

One thing that really stands out in my mind was I travelled with my parents ( a wonderful thing! ) , and my Mum was sick while staying at the hotel. I called reception and they arranged to take us to their medical facility (located in the hotel ), where they took amazing care of my Mum , and after all the amazing service and also prescribed medication , they didnt want us to pay. We insisted but they wouldnt allow it... Another amazing thing about Japan and this special hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

When we booked we were a bit worried due to the location which is right above Kyoto's main train station.
We were very happy from the choice. The hotel is modern and very nice, large rooms very clean and highly equipped. Service is very good and helpful and the good Breakfast is served in 3 different restaurants so guest can choose the type of food he prefers.
WE like d the location very much. Right in front of the hotel there is public transportation to the whole city, and the train station is an attraction by it's self.
Very recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located above Kyoto railway station, so it's perfect for a walking transfer from the bullet train. The lobby is always busy with transient traffic either from the railway station or from the hotel. The rooms are fairly basic but comfortable. I would say that it's a 3-4 star with no outstanding feature to rave about. It's got free wifi in public areas but not in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Don't let the location above the main train station put you off - this hotel is a great property in an amazingly convenient location. Rooms are comfortable, staff are amazingly helpful (and speak great English), and the service is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

As we planned to visit Kyoto as a family of 4, we started our hotel search late, ie "only" one month in advance. Granvia Hotel was our fall-back choice after we failed to find an available Ryokan at an affordable rate. Outside a few pockets of preserved historical preserved districts, Kyoto is a surprisingly ugly city. In accordance with its surroundings, Granvia utterly lacks charm in our Western eyes. It makes up for it by delivering impressive value as a base for tourism.

The hotel's location on top of Kyoto train station translates into:
- straight Shinkansen access to and from Tokyo
- straight train access to other places in Kansai - think Nara
- straight subway access to the rest of Kyoto
- department stores, supermarkets and much more within the same complex
- an astonishing range of eateries in all price ranges

The lobby is always busy and feels like a transport hub in itself. Service is efficient and impersonal. The hotel is large and boasts of a dozen restaurants; all of them tend to be on the expensive side, but they are almost redundant given the offering of the train station.

The rooms are huge by Japanese standards, with comfortable beds, well-equipped bathrooms, silent air-con, soft floor carpet, warm toilet seats, high-tech showers, reliable broadband connections, well-appointed minibars and a broad array of amenities. Decoration is typical 1980-Japanese: cocoonish, which can feel between pampered and cluttered depending on one’s mood, in subdued tones of beige-brown-gray. Cleaning is (of course!) thorough and on time every day.

On a strict unemotional per-yen basis, this is hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We chose this Hotel due to its location on top of Kyoto station. This made it very easy to find after arriving by Shinkansen and also is very easy to grab taxis, buses and train lines to other areas and attractions.

After staying at the Cerulean Tower in Tokyo , you could definitely see the difference in finish of the rooms. They were nice enough but just a few small things were not quite as polished.
With 3 malls below the located within the station and a bottom floor dedicated to food in Isetan and heaps of restaurants in Porta ,there is a plethora of choice if you don't feel like sticking to the Hotel menus/prices .
You could seriously spend 3 days just in the Station! things are done on a grand scale and go up a few escalators and you will see some great architecture .
JTB one day or half day tours leave from the hotel lobby across the road so it is very easy to jump on a tour and take in all the major sites in Japans cultural capital of Kyoto.

Taxi from here to Gion is YEN 1,400 so reasonably priced to go for a walk around Shirakawa and Hanami dori to take in the old feeling of japan.
All in all, a very good experience, but the room did smell like it had been smoked in before.

Room Tip: Choose a North facing room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: 901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.