We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhino Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rhino Hotel Kyoto to your Saves list
Rhino Hotel Kyoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Sanzocho, Saiin, Ukyoku, Kyoto 615-0021, Kyoto Prefecture (Arashiyama / Uzumasa / Takao)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Arezzo, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had a very pleasant two-night stay at the Rhino Hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful and breakfast included a wide range of hot and cold options. My room was very large and comfortable. Even if the hotel is not right in the centre, it is perfectly connected by both bus and tube to the main attractions of Kyoto and I found it very easy to move around. The only weak point for me was that the wifi didn't always work properly in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    59
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
28
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

the staff are very helpful and friendly, the hotel is slightly out of the CBD so had to travel in to see places of interest and meeting points for tours, which is a inconvenience when travelling with a young child. no wifi in rooms only in lobby. does have a family mart across the road and a great restaurant underneath. the rooms were clean but not much space was left once a cot was set up inside. partner couldnt use the fitness or spa because he had tattoos, the only other bother was having to hand the key in everytime we left the hotel and having to pick it up again when we returned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I cannot say enough about the Hotel Rhino. I got the room at a good price via Expedia. The hotel is very modern, staff is extremely friendly and professional, room was large (by Tokyo standards), amenities were excellent and the breakfast was very good. Room had good LAN connection but no Wi-fi at time of review. The fitness facility (extra fee) was the very best of any hotel I've stayed at. Convenient location right near major metro station.

Room Tip: Bring your workout gear to enjoy the pool and fitness facility.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osny, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is very good, the staff is efficient and helpful
No wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby (which, nowadays, is a weak point!).
The rooms are large (not like in Tokyo...)
Breakfast is slightly expensive (around 2,000 yen).
If you want to go to down town (Gion, Pontocho street), or visit temples and parks, add 1,200 to 1,500 Yen for taxi.
Seven Eleven, ATM close to the hotel.

We felt a slight earthquake that occurred in Kobe during our stay (during the night).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean and a decent size. The staff were all lovely. Western breakfast was limited.
The hotel is a little bit out of the centre so it's a decent walk to Gion but there is always buses so use them..!
Overall we were happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, EEUU
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Rhino Hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the Saiin Station and about 15 minutes, (1200 yen) from Kyoto Station. Within a 1/2 radius there is all types of restaurants, stores, (7-11) with ATM and bars. Shopping is ok, but the Teramachi is short cab ride away. There is also a pickup for many of the visitor tours. Rhino offers a breakfast, Western and Japanese for 110 yen. The rooms on the top floors have been renovated, but the lower floors have not been. The rooms are sparse but livable, have a refrigerator, free hi speed internet which works well, and is clean.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated floor and toward the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmoral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Mixed feelings about this hotel, it is located very close to a subway station however not really close to any of the main attractions so there wasn't much to see on the street from here. It was clean, but very basic. On the first of our 5 night stay we were placed on a smoking floor, which was not the hotels fault and they obliged by changing us the next day however overall I found the staff not as friendly as other hotels and there was more of a language barrier. Breakfast had limited western options and there is no coin laundry within hotel or located near hotel, they do offer a laundry service but it is quite pricey when you have a few bags of laundry as we did. Overall this hotel was ok, however I think we would have been happier being more centrally located such as hotel granvia or somewhere in Gion where there is a lot of nice restaurants

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhino Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Hotel Kyoto

Address: 17 Sanzocho, Saiin, Ukyoku, Kyoto 615-0021, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Arashiyama / Uzumasa / Takao
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino Hotel Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Rhino Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Rhino Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhino Hotel Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.