We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo to your Saves list
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8494, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #45 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a great stay here, rooms generously sized, ensuite, modern with slight business styling, beds comfortable. Right in the middle of Kyoto - well connected with the bus services. Recommended. Note that reception is one floor up from ground level. Coffee and thick sweet green tea machine near reception worth finding! Good friendly staff. Enthusiastic backpackers can walk from train station but advise getting bus. Wifi in reception only - cabled to rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo.
We are glad that you were satisfied with us.
And now we are planning that you can connect free Wi-Fi in your room.
So you do not have to come to the lobby that is located on the 2nd floor.
We hope to have you again here.

Sincerely

HOtel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    328
    69
    15
    8
See reviews for
150
229
111
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is hands down the much more superior of the 2 hotels that we stayed, 2 nights each, in Kyoto. It is nicely situated on the relatively quiet side of Shijo-dori, with just about 10 minutes walk from Shijo-Kerasuma, that means turning left as you come out of the Shijo (Metro) Station via exit 2. The Fresco Store and Family Mart round the corner provide added convenience.
The cozy family-lounge-like lobby is on the second floor, manned by some very cheerful and helpful staff. Here WIFI is easily accessible and free Illy coffee and green tea latte are provided out of the vending machine at the corner by the lobby and various hygiene toiletries are conveniently available just beside the lift.
The room, though understandably not too spacious, is spotlessly clean and the beds absolutely comfortable. The air-conditioner and various equipments are in immaculate working condition, making it a real joy to even spend extra few minutes in the toilet!
We are glad to have made this choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful that you liked staying with us.
We are centre-located in Kyoto city and quite good and easy to get to the subway and bus.
That means it is easy to hang around Kyoto city.

How was your trip?
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

On the face of it, MyStays Kyoto looks good. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet -- if small, in typical Japanese style. But I was irked by lack of wifi in the rooms. I had to venture to the lobby where the speed was dismal. Also, lack of coffee-making facilities in the room was incredibly annoying. I learned, upon checkout, that free coffee is dispensed in a hard-to-find alcove around the corner from the lobby. I was also vexed by the elevator, which automaticaly stopped at the lobby on the second floor even if no one was there to get on. The stay was relatively pricey. I would recommend shopping around. Would not return. Location not the greatest. Actually, Kyoto is a bit over-rated. I preferred nearby Nara.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are very sorry for unconfortable staying here.
but this is really well-located to go aroud the city and Nara or Osaka as well.

We hope that you are coming back and staying here at Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

excellent hotel, what you see in the pictures is what you get; and the service is just fantastic people at the front desk is ready to help you in everything. The location is a plus near to everything, if you are not the walking type you have a bus stop and the subway station near. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful that you liked staying with us.
How was your trip going?
We hope that you had a lot of fun staying here.

If you have a chance to come back here, please come back to Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

For how cheap this hotel sells its rooms and its close location to the heart of Kyoto I would definitely stay here again. Room size I would consider large for Japanese standards and had all the basics that a 4 star hotel would carry with a 3 star price. if your coming from the subway station Shijo I would recommend taking a left after you leave the gate and take the last exit to the surface which should get you very close to the hotel.

This hotel is so new that even the veteran taxi drivers were surprised that is was there even after seeing the address. I would have to also add that being a hotel with beer vending machine is a plus as you don't see them as much in japan unless your in a back alley of the red light district. Didn't get to have any interaction with the staff except when I left my water bottle at check in the girl was nice enough to run to me and give it to me.

Ohh loved the memory foam pillows!

Room Tip: Be sure to turn on the heater next to the window or adjusting the thermostat makes no difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We apprecaite that you were satisfied with the room and especially pillows.
Actually the pillows you liked is that you could buy at the reception.
We would like you to buy one and use it in your country.

We hope that everything here was alright and you had a great trip here.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in Kyoto.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Mystays was just perfect for our needs when we stayed in Kyoto. If you arrive via train from Shijo Station simply leave via exit 2, turn left and walk down Shijo-Dori for 10 minutes or so. It is on the opposite side of the road to the station, you can't miss it!

Rooms were small but comfortable, bathroom had everything you could need. There is free Internet and FREE COFFEE in the lobby! There is also a bus stop about 100m away, walking back in the direction of the station, this gives you pretty good access to the rest of Kyoto. The famous Gion district isn't far, about 5 - 10 minutes on the bus and one night we decided to walk back, it was only half an hour or so and a very pleasant walk :)

I think the bet part about Mystays was the value for money. It was under 100 AUD per night - remarkable for such a clean, convenient and comfortable hotel. We would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
It seems that you were satisfied with the hotel.
Thank you very much for the direction that you mentioned.
It is just perfect!!
We have free coffee and Wi-Fi on the 2nd floor.
So you could enjoy the internet with the drink.

We do hope that you come back again.
We are looking forward to seeing here.

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in Kyoto while on honeymoon. We had previously stayed at another Mystays in Tokyo (Asakusabashi), and after that great experience, we knew that we'd have to stay in another when visiting Kyoto.

I want to say that this is a great hotel considering the low price, but it is actually a great hotel either way. It's incredibly clean, the staff is helpful, the location is a short walk to transit, and the feel of the hotel is very professional. The rooms are small, but perfect for the two of us. They provide you with everything you'd need in the room. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment and staying at Asakusabashi as well.
We appreciate that you were satisfied with us.
Was everything alright when you were staying here at MyStays Kyoto-Shijo?

I hope that you come back here.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo
Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8494, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.