We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the b kobe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added the b kobe to your Saves list
the b kobe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-11-5 Shimoyamatedori, Chuo-ku, Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture 650-0011, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights prior to cruise. Hotel was good value for money and close to trains etc. I took the express bus from Osaka airport to the JR station. I also used it as a base to travel to Kyoto, Nara etc and was able to quickly access the subway and get to Shin Kobe for the bullet trains.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear leeleo727,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our location and value for money. Indeed we are located right in the middle of the action in Kobe and close to great shopping and many interesting temples. Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to try one of our many fines eateries.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    121
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
66
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

the b is situated in the heart of kobe. very close to trains, subways, buses, airport transfers. convenient location for first timers. city loop bus stop just a few mins walk. surrounded by cafes, restaurant and shops. late night shopping? no problem... Don Quijote is just next door and stays open till 4am while most shops closes at 8pm. explore the alleys of sannomiya just a few steps away. can get a little seedy at night as its close to kobe's red light district, but safe nontheless. great hotel, clean, easy and value for money.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is a smoking floor. choose 4th and above for smoke free environtment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear donovan_25,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our great location and great night life in the area and found value in the price you paid for your room.  It is true that we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to try one of our many fines eateries.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The air condition ofour room is glitch, then we respond to front desk male staff. He wonders whether turn on the control panel, I think the control only "High, medium, low" 3 button, this is not difficulty to identify.
OK, I understand no spare room at midnight once we request if any available room for change. Later, he coldly found a electrical fan to solve our problem, but we don't hear any sorry words duing whole process. This seems to feel we intentionally ask for his trouble, we never have such unkindness experience in several Japan traveling.

The room equipment is not modern, but clean and quite.

櫃台的服務人員態度沒有很好, 很冷漠, 當我們空調壞掉請他們協助是否能換另一間房間, 感覺好像是我們故意找他們麻煩, 後來他給了一架電扇暫時解決了我們的問題, 隔天空調確實也有改善了, 但是從頭到尾沒聽他們說過任一句道歉! 晚上會有特種行業在街上, 有小孩的家庭請留意

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear CYH0079,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the b kobe.

First of all we wish to sincerely apologize for your unfortunate experience with a member of our personnel. We are very disappointed to learn of the miscommunication that happened and of the way it was handled. We have revised our policies and we have also taken appropriate action with that member of our staff.

Again we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and thank you for bringing these to our attention. I invite you to contact me directly if I may be of further assistance.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I opted to stay in b-Kobe for easy access to the places we wanted to re-visit. We had previously lived in Kobe and wanted to enjoy our second home doing what we used to do. Sannomiya was convenient to trains and busses and to the shopping district nearby. We walked from the station to the hotel after arriving from our 6 hour flight. Even though it was late in the evening, the place was still very busy.

The hotel lobby was on the second floor. Quite a different feel already relative ti the front street. We were quickly checked in even after arriving 11 pm. We left our bag and went for a late dinner. We returned and unpacked and went to sleep. Room was spartan but had all the essentials. It was importantly a No Smoking room. Bed were also larger than the typical business hotel.

Room was equipped with a latest toilet technology - the cover opens up by itself when approached for use. It also flushes by itself when done.

And for the price we paid, this was very good value. We plan to be back. And we are back after a trip to Kinosaki. We left our bag with them overnight and returned to the same room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear chinaren_10,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our great location, cleanliness of your room and facilities of our hotel. It is true we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to try one of our many fines eateries.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The b hotel is only a short walk from the railway and bus station, and right in the buzzing centre of Kobe. Good rooms, efficient management, internet in rooms (but wifi only in the lobby) and an excellent breakfast. Just behind the hotel is a wonderful Buddhist temple -- in stark contrast to the agitation of the streets. This is a good place to be, for a bit of life away from the conference centers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter, and the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Muverans

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our great location and our breakfast. As we speak we are installing Wifi throughout the hotel so if you should visit us again you can enjoy the internet from the comfort of your room.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to try one of our many fines eateries.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This smart hotel is close to the transport links both for Sannomiya JR train station and the Shin Kobe Stations (for Shinkansen, Bullet Train) A taxi ride to the hotel from Shin Kobe station (if you are unfamiliar with area or arriving late at night as we did) should only cost around 1000Yen (April 2013).

Whilst being in a slightly quieter part of Kobe, it is only a short walk to the hustle and bustle of the bigger streets and shopping malls.

The streets are full of fantastic eateries and the hotel itself has a deal with the italian and Thai restaurants attached to the hotel whereby hotel residents can get discount if they produce room key. Food in both is fantastic and the service is great.

Hotel staff were friendly and spoke good English to help with any plans for the day. The room was very clean. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were a good size and quiet. There is a laundry on the third floor and a well-stocked vending machine in the same place for cold drinks (soft and beers).

A 'must-visit' is the Kobe Herb Garden which was an easy train journey, well sign-posted, resulting in an amazing cable car trip up the mountain to the Herb Garden with fantastic views of Kobe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear PaulineM190,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our great location, cleanliness of your room and facilities of our hotel. It is true we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions.

Next time you are in Kobe please take the time to try one of our many fines eateries.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

i happen to choose this hotel as all the hotel near the convention centre were fully booked

the location of hotel is very good, 5 minutes walk to the sannomiya station- JR station and subway
next to ikuta shrine, and just opposite the A1 restaurant (for kobe beef)

the area around the hotel is very vibrant with lots of selection of food and dessert.

the hotel room is clean and tidy. the front desk staff are very helpful too

the down side

i do struggle with the size of the room, however, i think by japan standard, this is not too bad. if you have a baby below 1 years old, i suggest you stay in a bigger hotel chain as it is probably easier for you.

the hotel lobby is situated on the first floor and we need to take a escalator up. the escalator is very narrow and there is no way we can push the pram/ carry our luggage up. The front desk staff however, very kindly showed us the service life that make life slightly better

point to note is, if you are travelling with family, going back to the hotel at night may be awkward as there are a lot of girls standing on the road side (if you know what i mean),

i will choose the hotel again

did i mention the hotel is cheap too? my friend that stay in portopia hotel need to pay for the swimming pool, line up for the breakfast buffet. portopia is massive and the staff is extremely helpful/polite but i feel like staying in a airport everytime i am there

froggy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b kobe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Froggyadi,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our location and value for money. Indeed we are located right in the middle of the action in Kobe and close to great shopping and many interesting temples.

We apologize for the inconvenience with your baby stroller. Next time if you let us know your arrival time we will make sure to have someone ready to assist you.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the b kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b kobe

Address: 2-11-5 Shimoyamatedori, Chuo-ku, Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture 650-0011, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b kobe 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your the b kobe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Kobe Hotel Kobe
The b Hotel Kobe
b Hotel Kobe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b kobe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.