We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice at night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kobe Harborland

Kobe Harborland
Chuo-ku, Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture, Japan
+81 78-360-3639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 157 Attractions in Kobe
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“very nice at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

kobe harborland is one stop along the kobe city loop bus route. there are many areas to explore, and many great spots for photos.

it's best to go there in the late afternoon. you can spend a few hours in the hake mall near the bus stop. there's a large seria (100-yen store) and a HUGE uniqlo. there's also a small gourmet shop on the second floor, and a green tea cafe and mos burger on the first floor. the place has a lovely atrium with a nice clock display and very cute bells that chime every hour. when the sun sets, you can take the escalator to the bridge connecting to the harbor. there are many novelty shops and places to eat. nearer the water, the view is fantastic, with the tower and other other buildings lit up.

if you're going home by train, there's a bridge connecting hake to the train station.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    217
    81
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Great way to finish a day visit to Kobe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited Kobe for a day from Osaka and first went to the Cablecar then visited the area of the former consulate houses. After we caught the loop bus to Harbourland to visit the maritime museum, Kawasaki museum, earthquake memorial and then onto the shops and restaurants in Harbourland. We strolled around the area doing a little windowshopping, rested on the waterfront tables with a "bubble juice" and admired the view. The scene was quite peaceful on the waterfront and we took a few photos of the area. Around dinner time we selected a small restaurant that had a great menu, with something for each of us. The food servings were huge. After dinner we strolled through the arcade to the Kobe railway station for our train trip back to our hotel in Osaka. This is the second time I have been here and I love the atmosphere on the waterfront. This was a great way to finish our day trip to Kobe and I recommend the area for children as well as adults. We will visit again when in Japan.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Interesting area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Nice place at the waterfront with some sailing on a big boat, walking along the waterfront, nice museum about the maritime history, special attention to the Kawasaki part, earthquacke memorial exhibit. About one - two hours to spend and take after that the loupe line.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We enjoyed a very relaxing visit to Kobe harbour land after travelling through from Osaka. There are many touristy shops and eating places here and it's a nice place just to have a wander through. There are some lovely views here - the Port Tower and the Oriental hotel to name a few. We also took a stroll round to the earthquake memorial park which was very interesting and humbling.

I felt that Kobe definitely offered something different. Some days you need a rest from shrines and temples :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Place to unwind”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Right by the Kobe bay. Unwind by strolling along the stretch..... Kobe Port Tower & Oriental Hotel on the opposite side. Alfresco cafes, gift/souvenir shops @ the mosaic town mall.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Harborland also viewed

Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture
 
Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture
 

Been to Kobe Harborland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kobe Harborland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.