We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good option in Hiroshima” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy Inn Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dormy Inn Hiroshima to your Saves list
Dormy Inn Hiroshima
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-28 Komachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0041, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Really good option in Hiroshima”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located on the route of No.1 tram from Hiroshima train station and only 5 minutes on foot to the Peace Park and A-Bomb Dome. The semi-double room was wide enough for 2 adults and an infant. Wi-fi is not available but you may use free Internet at the reception. The only disadvantage was that we did not have any view from our room because there was a wall 1 meter from the window. The hotel has a strange cleaning practice - you should put a magnet on the outside of the door if you want to have your room cleaned; if you do not do that, they will only empty rubbish bins.

The best thing in this hotel is free onsen (hot bath) and sauna at the top floor. You have to try this - it is really fantastic!

Dormy Inn is also a good base for travelling around Hiroshima and even having one-day tours to Kiushu (Beppu, Nagasaki etc.). They have free pick-up service from the hotel to the train station - we used it everyday and - travelling with a baby chair - we found it much more convenient than taking a tram.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    76
    24
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
27
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taree NSW
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Whilst the staff were very helpful and pleasant we did find the room very pokey and dated. We were at the front of the hotel and the light from the sign made it difficult to sleep. The first night the lights above our bed did not turn off properly so we had to remove the globes. We were moved to another room without a problem. It is well located for visiting the sites of Hiroshima, but I would not stay here again. Wifi is only available from the foyer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

we came from kyoto and thought we would stay the night instead of moving on to check out the mazda factory. after walking the streets trying to find an available hotel that i was willing to pay around $140 a night for in a NICE hotel , i was told they were all booked out. my last option was here.... and it was more expensive than the very nice and very highly rated cidadines in kyoto! we got a very small 2 single bed room with no wifi and no breakfast for 12500 yen! location well we are talking about hiroshima here... i just wanted to be close to a station. would i stay here again.... well only if it was around $60 aud a night or 5000 yen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was incredibly pleased with my service. The staff were very kind and helpful. The location was ideal. The price was reasonable and the hotel was quiet. There is not a better location for proximity and I enjoyed a lovely dinner next door eating udon noodles. I would recommend this hotel to any friends and travelers.

Room Tip: My window looked out on an ally but it didn't matter because I like to be outside. For those who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

One of the nicer onsen we experienced. The staff were lovely and helpful - even one particular sweetheart who spoke barely a word of English was running about finding me maps and timetables, he even printed off an English translation of some information of attractions! we had a comfortable room and the staff were very obliging when we asked to leave our luggage post-checkout so that we could walk to the Peace Park. Excellent location, down a quiet street but walking distance to wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Hotel Dormy Inn is definately 1 of the best sento hotel in Hiroshima. It is just located within 5 minutes walking distance to the Peace Memorial Park with a tram station located within 3 minutes walking distance away. If you are carrying big luggages and do not want to take tram from the Hiroshima Station, perhaps you could take the free shuttle services provided by the hotel. Do not worry about your heavy luggages as they will pick you up right in front of the station and drop you at the door step of the hotel for free. The schedule for pick up from the station for weekdays is from 5 pm onwards and for weekends as well as holidays are from 4 pm onwards. Shopping street is just located within 10 minutes walking distance away from the hotel. Sento at level 8 of the hotel is a must try. Due to high popularity of the hotel among the Japanese businessmen, visitors of the sento are only consists of Japanese hotel guests. This could be due to we are the only foreign tourists staying in th hotel during that time. Japanese breakfast serving some Western breads is inclusive in the hotel room rate and is the best breakfast I ever came across in other hotels of Japan. Although the room is relatively small which is normal size for hotels in Japan, but the hotel looks brand new and clean thanks to the clean & hygenic concious of the Japanese. 2 table-top PC located at the lobby provides free internet access for all hotel guests. Do not forget to pre-book the free shuttle service to the station T the hotel counter a day before. Overall, I rated this hotel 100 points & will definately stay back in this hotel if I go back to Hiroshima.

Room Tip: I am not sure whether there are any bigger rooms or not but look at the floor plan on the wall nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel is very close to Peace Memorial Park. the breakfast is both japanise and european. The price is quite good. Rooms not too large, but comfortable. Wonderful SPA at 8th floor, free for guests. Easily reacheable by tramway from station. Shuttle bus available for free. I recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dormy Inn Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Hiroshima

Address: 3-28 Komachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0041, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Hiroshima 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Dormy Inn Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Hiroshima Hotel Hiroshima
Dormy Hotel Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy Inn Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.