We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Very Kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy Inn Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Dormy Inn Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dormy Inn Hiroshima
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-28 Komachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0041, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Brookline, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location & Very Kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was incredibly pleased with my service. The staff were very kind and helpful. The location was ideal. The price was reasonable and the hotel was quiet. There is not a better location for proximity and I enjoyed a lovely dinner next door eating udon noodles. I would recommend this hotel to any friends and travelers.

Room Tip: My window looked out on an ally but it didn't matter because I like to be outside. For those who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    70
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
25
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

One of the nicer onsen we experienced. The staff were lovely and helpful - even one particular sweetheart who spoke barely a word of English was running about finding me maps and timetables, he even printed off an English translation of some information of attractions! we had a comfortable room and the staff were very obliging when we asked to leave our luggage post-checkout so that we could walk to the Peace Park. Excellent location, down a quiet street but walking distance to wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Hotel Dormy Inn is definately 1 of the best sento hotel in Hiroshima. It is just located within 5 minutes walking distance to the Peace Memorial Park with a tram station located within 3 minutes walking distance away. If you are carrying big luggages and do not want to take tram from the Hiroshima Station, perhaps you could take the free shuttle services provided by the hotel. Do not worry about your heavy luggages as they will pick you up right in front of the station and drop you at the door step of the hotel for free. The schedule for pick up from the station for weekdays is from 5 pm onwards and for weekends as well as holidays are from 4 pm onwards. Shopping street is just located within 10 minutes walking distance away from the hotel. Sento at level 8 of the hotel is a must try. Due to high popularity of the hotel among the Japanese businessmen, visitors of the sento are only consists of Japanese hotel guests. This could be due to we are the only foreign tourists staying in th hotel during that time. Japanese breakfast serving some Western breads is inclusive in the hotel room rate and is the best breakfast I ever came across in other hotels of Japan. Although the room is relatively small which is normal size for hotels in Japan, but the hotel looks brand new and clean thanks to the clean & hygenic concious of the Japanese. 2 table-top PC located at the lobby provides free internet access for all hotel guests. Do not forget to pre-book the free shuttle service to the station T the hotel counter a day before. Overall, I rated this hotel 100 points & will definately stay back in this hotel if I go back to Hiroshima.

Room Tip: I am not sure whether there are any bigger rooms or not but look at the floor plan on the wall nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel is very close to Peace Memorial Park. the breakfast is both japanise and european. The price is quite good. Rooms not too large, but comfortable. Wonderful SPA at 8th floor, free for guests. Easily reacheable by tramway from station. Shuttle bus available for free. I recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

You can enjoy the Japanese spa in the middle of town. This is the largest attraction of this hotel. The room is small but clean and comfortable. After hot and humid day, I returned to hotel and had bath before going out for dinner. I felt very refreshed. If you have no difficulty in Japanese food, the buffet breakfast is also excellent in value for money. I enjoyed the octopus rice ( very local food ) and it was very good. Only one downside is that there are few instructions re use of many functions in the room but you can manage just by trying to find switches to turn the light of bathroom,for example. I will definitely come back to this hotel and actively consider this hotel chain when booking hotels in other Japanese city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

My Girlfriend and I spent one night at the Dormy Inn on a recent trip to Japan. Like many visitors our purpose was to visit the peace memorial and we only budgeted two days and one night for this part of the trip (we really could have used at least one more full day, it is a unique and interesting city).

The hotel is fine, for the price it is very good indeed. However finding the place wasn't easy. We walked from the train station (its about a half hour walk and pretty easy to get to the locale) however the Hotel isnt very prominently signed so we walked past it a couple of times before asking directions in another hotel.

We used the laundry facilities and the Onsen both of which were very good. Breakfast was.....um......interesting but a fun experience.

Would I stay there again, I don't know to be honest but we will definately be visiting Japan again and Hiroshima is on the list to go back to.

If you can get the Dormy at a good price and you don't need the comfort of a five star hotel then this place is fine.

Enjoy Japan, we sure did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

While travelling in Japan we stayed at budget hotels, dormy inn was definitely the best in terms of value for money.

Rooms were clean and comfortable

Also within walking distance of the peace park.

Staff were friendly and spoke english well, also 2 computers with intrernet access in the loby for free use (and they worked!).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dormy Inn Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Hiroshima

Address: 3-28 Komachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0041, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Hiroshima 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dormy Inn Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Hiroshima Hotel Hiroshima
Dormy Hotel Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy Inn Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.