We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything works OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chisun Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chisun Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-7 Noboricho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0016, Hiroshima Prefecture (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything works OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was worried by this hotel because it was not expansive and the reviews were not so good ...
The location is very convenient, both to get a station and for outings in the city ..
The rooms are a good size considering that you are in Japan, everything very clean, polite staff. Breakfast compatible with the price and the standard of the hotel, or a hotel business ...
We slept only one night because I was advised to spend just one day in Hiroshima, which was a shame, because the city is very beautiful, including touring Miyajima and deserved at least one more day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    133
    60
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
85
45
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hell, Norway
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

There is no reason to stay the night in Hiroshima. You can do the Peace Park attractions in a few leisurely hours and then get back on the train to the next city.

But if you are forced to overnight here, skip the Chisun which is easily the worst hotel I have stayed in so far on my 3-week Japan trip. The walls might just as well not be there. I heard every word my neighbor uttered and he wasn't even shouting. When he zipped his bag at 6 am, the sound reverberated around my room.

Breakfast was a joke. Cereal and toast for 1200 yen (1050 if you pay the night before; more food options for Japanese food). I got my money back from the helpful chap at the front desk.

Location not the greatest. Sure, it is only about 10 mins' walk from the Station, but it is in a no-man's land part of the main street. You can do better with the Toyoko, I am sure, or with hotels closer to the action.

With Chisun you get what you pay for, but be careful about false economies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
510 reviews 510 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
613 helpful votes 613 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 1 night here in March '13.

Its a 15 min walk from the Japan Rail Station and the Hotel is directly opposite a tram stop (The trams run from the Railway Stn to the A Bomb dome on this track). A really convenient location. To walk to the a bomb dome, or castle, its about another 15 min walk from the hotel.

In common with all the hotels we stayed in in Japan the room was small, but well equiped clean and comfortable. Internet connection was via a cable in the room, but the reception desk lent us a small transmitter which connected onto the cable to provide wifi.

All in all a well located clean comfortable hotel - no nasty surprises. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in Hiroshima in December 2012 for 2 nights. The location is great as it's within waling distance to the peace memorial park and JR Hiroshima station. Rooms itself were the typical layout - small bathroom with limited space for bags.

When we got to the hotel it smelt of air-refreshener and smoke. In my booking I specifically asked for a non-smoking room. The lift and the entire 10th floor smelt of smoke. We rang reception and asked asked if this was a non-smoking room and they said it was, even though the entire floor smelt like smoke. They offered to deoderise the room while we were out so we let them do so. When we came back it smelt ok but not long after the smell of smoke came back in.

We went looking for a microwave and found it on the 9th floor. We noticed that this floor did not smell of smoke. I don't know if it's possible but try to request a non-smoking floor? Also for power adapters you must have a Japanese adapter without the ground. Reception do not have any power adapters for you to borrow if you have a ground pin.

Overall I would not stay there again, unless I can be certain that i get a room on a non-smoking floor. This was a case of you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Specify a non-smoking room. Bring a laptop to take advantage of the free LAN cable provided in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent a week in Japan on a family holiday. Chisun Hirsohima was the third and best hotel we stayed in. We booked two twin rooms which was well worth it: each "single" bed was as big as a double in some Japanese hotels. We didn't pay significantly more than we did for semi-doubles in Osaka and Kyoto. The rooms were bright and clean and airy, and not dated. As other reviewers already noted, the location is really convenient as it is linked to the railway station and the A Bomb Dome by tram, which stops almost outside the front door. The entertainment and shopping districts are right on the doorstep.

Two minor negatives: like other mid-range hotels we stayed in there was no non-Japanese channel on TV, and they won't let you check in early. But you can leave your luggage and head off to do your sight-seeing. And there is a computer in the lobby where you can check the internet for free, so you don't get completely cut off from the news. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel was very handy to the tram (very easy to use) which we used to go to Peace park and the shops and also to the train stations. The hotel was very small with a good breakfast - service was very good - I had left something in my room at the last hotel and they helped out by ringing them and having it sent on for me. Very clean and very small rooms (even smaller than usual). Bathrooms were the size of a toilet in Australia so quite awkward to use. Dont bring big luggage to Japan if you are on a budget. Handy laundry room but it is a bit hard to find being a bit out of the way so you would never know it was there. We had a national high school hocky teams visiting so the laundry room was in great demand by the girls.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Most things in Hiroshima are within walking distance from the hotel. If not, the trolley/train stop is in front of the hotel. The A Bomb Dome and Museum are a 20 minute walk thru lively shopping arcades. As stated. waling distance to shopping, food, A Bomb Park.

Room Tip: Rooms very small. If your taller than 6'2' good luck with the bathroom, it has a very low c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chisun Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisun Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 14-7 Noboricho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0016, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station , Kanayamacho Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chisun Hotel Hiroshima 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Chisun Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiroshima Chisun Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chisun Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.