We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great christmas lights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Hotel Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Oriental Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10 Tanakamachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0026, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
telford
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“great christmas lights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

good hotel in hiroshima for sight seeing
hiroshima is not too large and you can walk to most places from the hotel
the peace park is about 15 mins, the castle about 25 mins and the town centre with the shops is about 10 mins
immediately behind the hotel is a 'lively' area with many restaurants and bars, however we found it a bit seedy - mainly business men and girls in non-existent skirts
go a few blocks over towards the peace park and hondori tram station and there are lots of lovely places to eat and drink where you can wear normal clothes
nice bar with a great cocktail man
rooms were a reasonable size and clean as expected - there is a lovely window from the room to the bathroom but there is a blind if you want privacy. it was quite hot and the a/c wasnt the most efficient

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    123
    42
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
78
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was a great experience to visit Hiroshima. The Oriental hotel is a 15-minute walk from the Peace Memorial Park and Museum. Everything is organized and efficient in the hotel. Swift check in and check out, clean and comfortable room and courteous staff. It is also a 10-minute walk to the city center.

The trip to Hiroshima is worth the trip.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I guess most people find a place right nearby the Peace Park when they choose a Hiroshima hotel. I never understood that. The peace park can be done in half a day tops, what do you want the rest of your stay to include?

I opted for the Oriental as it was dead center in the most pulsating area of town. Right in the thick of it with bars, restaurants and shopping.

The peace park is a 15-20 minute walk away. If that's too much, there's a tram stop just outside the hotel that will take you there for a few Yen.

The room was small and if you're travelling with some mates, I would suggest a room each. The bathroom has glass walls which will give you more of an insight in your mates bathroom habits than what you'd like.

Free Wi-Fi, good service and all in all a good hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Visited Hiroshima as business trip and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights
As subject line indicated I was surprised the hotel quality and services are above my expectation, well deserved !I defiantly suggested to foreign guest to stay there and enjoy a moment since the place is really close to Dinner restaurant and Bars.

Room Tip: Suggested to buy executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichinomiya, Japan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We took a taxi to this hotel from Hiroshima Ujina habor instead of the use of street car because it's not so far. The guest room is clean and let us relax. The loung is quiet and relaxing place. You can enjoy Japanese course cuisine which a serving lady brings at the Japanese restaurant "Mitsuki" on the 22nd floors if you would like to touch it. We enjoyed a walking on the path in the green space being parallel to the Peace Street next morning.  

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel just for one night but was very pleased by this hotel. It has a good location, if you arrive at the main train station just take taxi. It is less than 10 min drive. Personnel at front desk is super nice and speak English. The room was very clean. The only unexpected was that the bathroom had glass walls ( but with blinds). But it is manageable :). The hotel at whole has very chick, modern design. I would recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our first room was blazing hot and so we waited for the air con to kick in, and waited. As we rested in the room we noticed the bathroom emitted a sewer like smell. We called the front desk and a representative came up and said we couldn't move because all the rooms were booked. She was suggesting some sort of machine to place in the room to help alleviate the smell. Five minutes later she called and said they would move us. We were moved to a lovely cool room with no odor.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to speak up if things aren't right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oriental Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 6-10 Tanakamachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0026, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Hotel Hiroshima 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Venere so you can book your Oriental Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiroshima Oriental Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.