We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Hotel Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Oriental Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10 Tanakamachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0026, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
EUROPE
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

really good room for the price and excellent location- 4min walk from the station. friendly english speakng staff. could do the washing there and use the dryer for free.breakfast was quite varied. the only minus was no wifi but didnt mind going to the lobby where i could use wifi and have free drinks. definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    126
    42
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
78
21
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is near (a brief walk) to Hiroshima Station, and I walked to it with my luggage without any difficulty. There are some trains that stop even closer, and these can be accessed from Hiroshima Station. The room was small but clean, and there was no hint of smoke in the room or floor of our non-smoking room, which I was very pleased about. However, despite the lobby looking very impressive, the room did seem a bit tired, and the air-conditioning seemed inadequate - consequently the room was uncomfortably warm and humid during my stay. The room had free internet; I only needed wired internet, so I don't know if the hotel has Wi-Fi as well. Unfortunately, the internet port had been placed in the headboard of the bed, which made it an inconvenient location for me. The staff spoke enough English for me to communicate without difficulty. The hotel is close to Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park, and there are some places nearby that sell very tasty okonomiyaki (a Japanese savoury pancake - called Japanese pizza in some places).

Room Tip: Be aware that the internet port is in the headboard of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel: looks like an expensive
one but in a budget price. Beautiful lobby and a cool room. Well located, just few
minutes from the peace area. Cordial and helpfull staff. Just to mention: like in most Japanese hotels, no wireless in the room. This is a negative point.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location, great staff but the room was tiny, the bed was very hard (I know that Japanese beds are mostly "firm" but this was very uncomfortable) and the bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen only being a bit bigger than an aircraft bathroom! We ate in the bar one evening and the dinner again was smaller than an in-flight dinner and we were very disappointed and it was not value for money at all. I think there are better hotels in Hiroshima for the price.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker make sure you request a non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We only had one night and 36hrs in Hiroshima. Enough time (just) to see the A-bomb dome, memorial museum and park but also, time it right and you can also get over to Miyajima Island for sunset. An absolute MUST!!

The hotel appears to be the most modern in the city and occupies the tallest building! It looks great, the lobby is modern and funky with free wifi. The restaurant had jazz and a great range of food even though we tried to go for local and the service was brilliant.

We had way too much luggage for our next stop at Koyasan so the hotel suggested us sending our non-urgent luggage to the hotel after Koyasan. Sounded great but how???? They basically sent it for us. For £10! Amazing service and totally saved us trekking around Koyasan with hefty unwanted bags

They helped us with JR train times, connections and all in good English. I was really impressed.

The slight downside was the rooms. They felt very dated and more like a cruise cabin.

The bed was pretty hard and the pillows flat but honestly - probably better than I expected and the service made up for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A nice place, centrally located with a lot of choices close by for shopping, entertainment and going out on an evening.
Grab a Get Hiroshima map to get you started and take a browse around this friendly place, I love it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea @ moment
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel is typical Japanese. Small rooms but having all that you need.
Toilet amenities selection is superb .Far much better than in many hotels better rated,
Hotel is situated 3-5 minutes walk from the A bomb memorial center on the peace promenade.
Right behind it starts entertainment quarter with number of bars but there is no noise which could be bothering.
Also, in vicinity there are several shopping malls in walk distance.
Reception staff is superb and of great help when needed with what ever you ask for.
Rooms are bit outdated but OK.
Would go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 6-10 Tanakamachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0026, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Hotel Hiroshima 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oriental Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiroshima Oriental Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.