We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a low budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10 Tanakamachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0026, Hiroshima Prefecture (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 244 Reviews
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a low budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel: looks like an expensive
one but in a budget price. Beautiful lobby and a cool room. Well located, just few
minutes from the peace area. Cordial and helpfull staff. Just to mention: like in most Japanese hotels, no wireless in the room. This is a negative point.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    140
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
84
23
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location, great staff but the room was tiny, the bed was very hard (I know that Japanese beds are mostly "firm" but this was very uncomfortable) and the bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen only being a bit bigger than an aircraft bathroom! We ate in the bar one evening and the dinner again was smaller than an in-flight dinner and we were very disappointed and it was not value for money at all. I think there are better hotels in Hiroshima for the price.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker make sure you request a non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We only had one night and 36hrs in Hiroshima. Enough time (just) to see the A-bomb dome, memorial museum and park but also, time it right and you can also get over to Miyajima Island for sunset. An absolute MUST!!

The hotel appears to be the most modern in the city and occupies the tallest building! It looks great, the lobby is modern and funky with free wifi. The restaurant had jazz and a great range of food even though we tried to go for local and the service was brilliant.

We had way too much luggage for our next stop at Koyasan so the hotel suggested us sending our non-urgent luggage to the hotel after Koyasan. Sounded great but how???? They basically sent it for us. For £10! Amazing service and totally saved us trekking around Koyasan with hefty unwanted bags

They helped us with JR train times, connections and all in good English. I was really impressed.

The slight downside was the rooms. They felt very dated and more like a cruise cabin.

The bed was pretty hard and the pillows flat but honestly - probably better than I expected and the service made up for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A nice place, centrally located with a lot of choices close by for shopping, entertainment and going out on an evening.
Grab a Get Hiroshima map to get you started and take a browse around this friendly place, I love it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea @ moment
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel is typical Japanese. Small rooms but having all that you need.
Toilet amenities selection is superb .Far much better than in many hotels better rated,
Hotel is situated 3-5 minutes walk from the A bomb memorial center on the peace promenade.
Right behind it starts entertainment quarter with number of bars but there is no noise which could be bothering.
Also, in vicinity there are several shopping malls in walk distance.
Reception staff is superb and of great help when needed with what ever you ask for.
Rooms are bit outdated but OK.
Would go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Got a taxi from Hiroshima Station and also to return. Too far to walk but the taxis in Japan are very clean and reasonably priced. Room was clean & pleasant. We started out with the smallest room in the hotel and when we opened the door we realised 2 of us just wouldnt fit well plus our cases so rang & asked if we could pay to upsize. Good decision. And not so much more money either. Wi Fi only available though in the lobby. Close to shopping area downtown and a pleasant walk to reach there. Lots of shops & restaurants nearby. Went out at night and felt safe. Opposite was a large shopping mall and we enjoyed the convenience of that especially for the large supermarket in the basement. Walking distance to the Memorial Peace Park A must-see place for everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

As every other hotel in Hiroshima, hotel Oriental is located between the station and the Peace Memorial. Hotel Oriental is in fact located directly on the Peace boulevard leading to the Memorial. The location is very central :
- from the station we took a taxi that cost around 750Y
- it is a 15min walk to the Peace Memorial
- it is a 10min walk to the Hondori shopping area
- lots of restaurants on walking distance
The hotel is stylish, the room not so expensive (we paid19.000Y for 2 nights) and very nice : big enough, comfortable, fast Internet connection in the room (with a cable).
The staff is friendly and helpful. Totally recommend it !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 6-10 Tanakamachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0026, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Hotel Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Oriental Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiroshima Oriental Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.