We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service but basic rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Hotel Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Oriental Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10 Tanakamachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0026, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
London, UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Superb service but basic rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We only had one night and 36hrs in Hiroshima. Enough time (just) to see the A-bomb dome, memorial museum and park but also, time it right and you can also get over to Miyajima Island for sunset. An absolute MUST!!

The hotel appears to be the most modern in the city and occupies the tallest building! It looks great, the lobby is modern and funky with free wifi. The restaurant had jazz and a great range of food even though we tried to go for local and the service was brilliant.

We had way too much luggage for our next stop at Koyasan so the hotel suggested us sending our non-urgent luggage to the hotel after Koyasan. Sounded great but how???? They basically sent it for us. For £10! Amazing service and totally saved us trekking around Koyasan with hefty unwanted bags

They helped us with JR train times, connections and all in good English. I was really impressed.

The slight downside was the rooms. They felt very dated and more like a cruise cabin.

The bed was pretty hard and the pillows flat but honestly - probably better than I expected and the service made up for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    126
    42
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
78
21
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A nice place, centrally located with a lot of choices close by for shopping, entertainment and going out on an evening.
Grab a Get Hiroshima map to get you started and take a browse around this friendly place, I love it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea @ moment
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel is typical Japanese. Small rooms but having all that you need.
Toilet amenities selection is superb .Far much better than in many hotels better rated,
Hotel is situated 3-5 minutes walk from the A bomb memorial center on the peace promenade.
Right behind it starts entertainment quarter with number of bars but there is no noise which could be bothering.
Also, in vicinity there are several shopping malls in walk distance.
Reception staff is superb and of great help when needed with what ever you ask for.
Rooms are bit outdated but OK.
Would go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Got a taxi from Hiroshima Station and also to return. Too far to walk but the taxis in Japan are very clean and reasonably priced. Room was clean & pleasant. We started out with the smallest room in the hotel and when we opened the door we realised 2 of us just wouldnt fit well plus our cases so rang & asked if we could pay to upsize. Good decision. And not so much more money either. Wi Fi only available though in the lobby. Close to shopping area downtown and a pleasant walk to reach there. Lots of shops & restaurants nearby. Went out at night and felt safe. Opposite was a large shopping mall and we enjoyed the convenience of that especially for the large supermarket in the basement. Walking distance to the Memorial Peace Park A must-see place for everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

As every other hotel in Hiroshima, hotel Oriental is located between the station and the Peace Memorial. Hotel Oriental is in fact located directly on the Peace boulevard leading to the Memorial. The location is very central :
- from the station we took a taxi that cost around 750Y
- it is a 15min walk to the Peace Memorial
- it is a 10min walk to the Hondori shopping area
- lots of restaurants on walking distance
The hotel is stylish, the room not so expensive (we paid19.000Y for 2 nights) and very nice : big enough, comfortable, fast Internet connection in the room (with a cable).
The staff is friendly and helpful. Totally recommend it !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed last week in August for three nights which was just about enough for a small room with six coathangers, a bathroom with a square plinth round the basin which caught your elbows getting off the loo and your knees getting out the bath, and like others have said, a bed attached to the wall. Arrived to find a private party in the bar so no food was available and worse no drinks. We waited for over an hour when we were told only 15 minutes but we did get drinks (at half price). The peace park is only 15 minutes walk away which was good but the area behind the hotel was a little seedy with lots of girl clubs which was ok but the wife was with me! Hotel was cheap and good value for money and we got good views from the 15th floor.
Breakfast was expensive for what was on offer but the hotel was friendly and spotless and the staff in the bar and dining room very attentive. Ok for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

when you are travelling around Japan you expect to find small rooms, but rooms of the Oriental hotel are very small even if "full option", they also provide you with a pigiama. Unfortunally, in my room the bed was attached to the wall and quit small, so not exactly confortable to be shared, but the price was good and we only had 1 night in Hiroshima. Staying more and having a big luggage would probably be an issue: no place for luggages nor closet!
The hotel is not exactly close to the commercial area, nor to the pace museum but they could be joined trought a 20 minuts walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 6-10 Tanakamachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0026, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Hotel Hiroshima 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oriental Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiroshima Oriental Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.