We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the train stationed and tram lines” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand to your Saves list
Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4 Kyobashicho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0828, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 107 Hotels in Hiroshima
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very close to the train stationed and tram lines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Adequate clean hotel with friendly staff. Very small rooms though, I had to move the chair so it was jammed up between the bed and window, and be careful not to step into my case when I got out of bed. Wasn't quite the smallest room I had in Japan but a very very close second!!!! Basic facilities and no wifi.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    42
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
14
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Japan and our second hotel in country. The hotel was easy to locate and in a great location close to railway station (approx. 5 min walk). There is a 7 Eleven store near the hotel. The staff were very helpful and check in and checkout was very quick. The A/C worked very well, the bed was comfortable and wide and the bathroom was well appointed with replacement toothbrush, razor and comb on a daily basis. The décor was different with a European theme. Had two meals in the restaurant and they were very well priced and value for money. We walked to the Peace Park which took 25 mins max and we also used the tram. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After a long day of exploring Hiroshima, we felt this hotel was a bit out of the way. The staff were very kind. The decor is extremely elaborate, but the rooms were western, small and lacked any character. We were meant to have a crib pre-setup in the bedroom. THe staff were reluctant to set it up, but with some persuasion were abe to arrange for her bedding.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was a little concerned how far the walk from the station would be with luggage as there was a bridge to cross the river but by the time you exit the underground crossing from the station you are almost there and can see the hotel awning from the traffic lights over the bridge. All our internet bookings were smooth and this time our room included the buffet breakfast. A good selection of Japanese and some western items in a room on the top floor with lots of windows. As others have mentioned the decor seemed a bit old fashioned European and our room was a slightly odd design with the entry/fridge/desk/internet cable at one end, the bathroom in the middle and a double bed and TV on a small stand at the other. We only needed somewhere to sleep and shower so didn't worry us. We bought the 2 day tram pass with the ferry and ropeway (2 cable cars and a stunning view from Mt Misen) on Miyajima Island included, this is good value even though our JR pass covered the JR ferry/train to Miyajima. You can take the tram to Miyajima but it takes a lot longer. We found it convenient to stay near the station and catch the tram to the Peace Park both daytime and at night to see the A dome lit up. While I expect everyone knows the horrors of the bombing I was very impressed that Hiroshima has done such a wonderful job with the museum and seems to present a balanced view of the devastation. It is also remarkable that a small country like Japan has devoted what was a busy section of town to an entire peace park when I can imagine how valuable that land/space would be. It feels like a clean safe place.

Room Tip: seemed to be at the back corner of the hotel overlooking a construction site but we had no problem w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kawa,Japan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It is near to Hiroshima railway station, but not too near. I found other nice hotels very close to the station but I was worried that it might be somewhat noisy sleeping too nearly to railways. Then I selected the Grand Intelligent.
I had to pass over a bridge to reach the Grand Intelligent Hotel but it was only a few minutes walk from the southern end exit of the underground pass connected to the station.
In spite of the low price, the room was nice with cleanly and well maintained but a little bit old furniture. It would be narrow to the traveler who expect to relax and enjoy a stay, but I think it is sufficient and convenient, or rather more than average to business traveler for overnight lodging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The Grand Intelligent is conveniently located a few minutes walk from the station (you can even go through underground passage and avoid traffic), and check in was smooth.
The lobby and overall style is kinda weird - all old world antiques and a wiennese vibe - and this is found in the rooms also, with the exception of the inevitable capsule bathrolm, complete with multifunctional toilet and everything.
Everything was clean, but the room felt a bit tired and the beds were smaller than usual.
The breakfast was reasonably priced at ¥800 for a western-japanese buffet on the top floor.
It is not perfectly located for the shopping arcades or the Peace Memorial Park, but the 20-25 miute walk there is not too bad.
All in all, pretty standard fare except for the antiques road show styling.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izumo, Japan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel is located nearby Hiroshima station by 3 minutes walking. The interior design incorporates features of European traditional art. I felt it is interesting. Neighbor building blocks the view from the my staying room window. Bed is wide and comfortable, bath room is small. Japanese and western buffet style breakfast is yummy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand

Address: 1-4 Kyobashicho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0828, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station , Kanayamacho Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 107 Hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best hotel with good location for business and sightseeing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiroshima Intelligent Hotel Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.