We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-7-9 Otemachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
brisbane
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. We've booked online direct. Got special discount for seniors.
Wi-Fi free, complementary western continental/Japanese breakfast; free coffee in the lobby during the day. Many restaurants close by.
Chuden-Mae electric train station is opposite the hotel; very convenient.
We upgraded our Double standard claustrophobic room to a twin room; which was larger and very roomy. Laundry coin facility available at the reception floor.
The hotel is old, but well maintained and serviced. recommended!

Room Tip: ask for upper floors to get some view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    110
    33
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
57
39
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel while visiting Hiroshima. It was very conveniently located - only a few hundred metres from the Peace Park/Museum and in walking distance to the CBD. The rooms are small (typically Japanese), but very clean. I couldn't believe that such a decent breakfast was offered for the price we paid.
The service was friendly and warm and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to others.
Although I'm rating it five stars, it is not a five-star hotel, but for the price paid (about $60 per night) it truly exceeds expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I arrived at the Comfort Hiroshima where you need to get the lift up to the 3rd floor to check in, which went smoothly if not short on English. The room was ample sized for Japan and had all the conveniences that you would expect. The upside of choosing an international chain is that room information is traditionally in English which helps when trying to change channels or turn on the AC!

Decor was stylish and well maintained, the hotel offers free continental breakfast, which is somewhat odd as there is multiple hot choices from eggs to rice, nonetheless it's free.
The only downside was there was no hot water when I tried to take a shower at 7.30am, after checking out just after 8am I realized why, this hotel appears to be used by Japanese salarymen, and they were all heading off to work.

Despite the above, at sub $100 AUD a night, and right opposite the tram stop, this is a good choice for the price conscious savvy traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The first room we were shown wasn't even big enough for our two 22 inch rollers to go anywhere, and the bed was shoved up against the wall, as another reviewer noted. Not a good idea! And the bathroom was a joke. After we paid more money, we were given a "handicapped room" which was more spacious, but also poorly designed where you practically had to climb over one bed to get to the other one. How this would work for handicapped people I do not know. Plus the room had an odd, unpleasant odor.
The service was fine, and the breakfast just ok with not a lot of western options, the location was not really close to anything (except the peace park) with easy access to the streetcar.

Room Tip: If there is an option to get a "bigger" room, choose it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nothing really bad, but having the bed against the window was a big pain. The last thing I wanted to do in my wet clothes was get on the bed to close the curtains. Washer was 100Y more (300Y) than my hotel in Tokuyama. The bathtub was taller, too. Breakfast was good and it's close to the streetcar stop. The post office is kitty-corner and has the international ATMs. The hotel is a good place to ride out the storm. I would recommend this hotel if you have a need to be in the area. For me, I'll try elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel doesn't look that much but we found it cheap and convenient. A buffet style breakfast is provided every day which although not lavish is quite adequate with both western and Japanese items available. Coffee and tea are available just outside the breakfast area from mid afternoon onwards which was handy to grab a cup to take up to your room.

There is a smallish laundry area near the reception desk which was handy. A tip - you don't need to add soap the machine dispenses its own included in the 300 Yen price.

The number 1 tram which leaves from the Hiroshima JR station stops about 50 metres to the north of the hotel so transport is easy. It's also a very easy walk to the Peace Park and museum area.

We really enjoyed our stay in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My dad and I stayed here for a single night during a brief visit to Hiroshima. We were both impressed. The rooms are very small and the bathrooms look like they belong in an airplane, but everything was neat and clean.

The beds are comfortable and the breakfast in the morning is adequate. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Plus, the hotel is right next to a street car stop making it a convenient place to stay if you want to get around the city. There's nothing to complain about. Great deal for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi

Address: 3-7-9 Otemachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hiroshima
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.