We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to the Peace Memorial Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-7-9 Otemachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 185 Reviews
Ontario
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Walk to the Peace Memorial Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I spent two nights here in April. The hotel is right on the tram-line from the train station, which takes about 15-20 minutes, and is steps from the tram stop. My western-style room (double) was larger and more nicely appointed than I encountered in similar hotels . . . it was fine for one person, might be cozy for two. The room was clean, and quiet, with a compact bathroom and a comfortable bed. Also, free wi-fi. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which was included in the price of the room - there was good variety, but it wasn't overwhelming. There was free coffee available throughout the day. It was an easy walk to the Peace Memorial Park (the end of the park closest to the Peace Museum). There were many shops and restaurants nearby in the Hon-dori neighbourhood. The price was very reasonable relative to Tokyo and Kyoto and I was quite satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    108
    33
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
57
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel location is good - close to the peace park and shopping. about 20 minutes from the train (in the tram). The breakfast is good, there are Japanese and western options. And an unexpected bonus free coffee after 3 pm till midnight. BUT the room (double, not semi!) and the bathroom are tiny! For example the tap in the bathroom is shared for the shower and the "regular" sink...
There are two hotels in the chain on the same street- make sure you get the the right one

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hiroshima is a lovely, modern, thriving city. If you are a foreign tourist, you probably come here for the obvious reason. The hotel is a short walk from the Peace Park and its thought provoking museum. The perfect combination was to visit the park after dark and again the following morning. For this, the hotel location is perfect. There are nearby convenience stores for food and drinks. The included breakfast was really excellent.

The room was a standard Japanese semi-double, so you get the usual small space and integrated bath/shower/electronic toilet. The air conditioning was effective, it was clean and generally pleasant. The reception staff were helpful.

It is easy to travel from the station to the hotel. Just get the tram from outside the railway station to the Chudenmae tram stop - it is quick and cheap (you can pay the conductor) and was alright with luggage, the hotel is then only a couple of hundred metres away.

Suggested excursion - get the train to Miyajimaguchi and the ferry across to Miyajima. Tip - look up the tide table for Miyajima as it looks great at high-ish tide (Don't read Japanese? No, but you can spot that one column is blue and the other is sandy-coloured and the date and time numbers are all the same as the ones we use).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Yes, by Western standards, the rooms are a tad small, but ours ($79 a night) had everything we needed and some things we didn't (packaged hairbrushes, razors, etc.) but appreciated. The bed was comfortable. It seems modular bathrooms are common in Japanese hotels. By this, I mean the bathrooms are like plastic cubes created in a factory and then inserted into place. They are small, but if you've ever used a motor home or boat bathroom, you'll be familiar with the compactness. Everything does have it's place to maximize the space available. There's a desk, flatscreen and fridge. We've stayed in smaller hotels in Australia and New Zealand.

The (included) breakfast buffet is huge with many western and Asian options. One of the best hotel breakfast buffets I've ever had. Loved the fresh fruit and yogurt! Complimentary coffee and tea all day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were staying one night as a side trip from a longer stay in Kyoto. We caught the Shinkansen down and were easily able to find the hotel (after wandering into the other Comfort Hotel just down the street).

Reception were helpful and had laminated English information sheets.

The room are small but very well organised. We were travelling in a group with a couple and a family of four. The couple had a double room which had the smallest bathroom I've ever seen - the sink was ingeniously hanging over the bath and you did have to be careful not to hit your knees getting off the toilet!

The family had two twin rooms next to each other. These were slightly bigger - the "single" beds are not much smaller than the double and there is a table with more living space. The children (aged 7 and 9) also got discounts, the first we'd had in all of Japan.

The location was handy to the major sights of Hiroshima, the museum and the H-bomb hypocentre.

The price we paid was the cheapest in our two week holiday to Japan. It's not a luxury stay but it was clean, very habitable and a bargain. It would be fine for short stays. The breakfast was extensive - western and japanese choices with a lovely spread of fresh fruit.

Room Tip: If you want more room space, go for a twin room, they're only a few dollars more in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Strict 3pm check in enforced, however reception looked after our luggage so we could sightsee before returning for check in. 5mins walk to south entrance of Peace Park. 20mins walk to Hondori and the Okonoyamaki Village.

Front desk spoke adequate English and they had plenty of photocopied English instruction sheets to hand out.

Our room was on the 6th floor and unfortunately right opposite the lifts, which meant we had 4 hours of sleep due to the inconsiderate guests returning at 2am and children screaming excitedly at 6am right outside our room.

Notwithstanding the above, the room was fine. Not too small and we appreciated the clothes line over the small bathtub, as the laundry machines were fully occupied the 2 times I looked. Our room couldn't get the free WiFi, but I had my laptop so used the free LAN wire and used ConnectifyMe to create a hotspot for our iPhone/Android. No English TV but the LAN internet was fast enough for video streaming.

Toiletries (Kao branded) are provided but low quality. We used our own products instead. Plastic bathroom is the smallest out of the 4 hotels we stayed in Japan, but ingenius use of space with the sink 1/3 over the bathtub and a plumbing switch to flow water either to the sink or the shower. They still managed to pack in a gadgety heated toilet.

They provide oversized nightshirts, green stripped which we joked about getting ready to work at the bakery.

The breakfast was the absolute saving grace of our overnight stay. The spread was good: Japanese rice balls, miso soup, minestrone soup, tea/coffee/OJ/green tea, frankfurters, scrambled eggs, waffles, danishes, croissants & slices of bread for toast, butter/jam/cheese, yoghurt with various fruits.

Would stay here again, but will request a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place has a great price and offers all the basics any business travler needs. Free WIFI, free breakfast (with lots of options to suit anyone) and small mini fridges in the room are great pluses. Its also very close to the International Conference Center Hiroshima and many other attractions. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi

Address: 3-7-9 Otemachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hiroshima
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.