We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sound choice and good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-7-9 Otemachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A sound choice and good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is one of two Comfort Hotels in this road so make sure you get the right one. Considering its a busy road the street noise isn't bad. Our twin room was a good size with small but nice bathroom and comfy beds. They make a big deal about their ergonomic pillows here including advertisements in the lifts and Japanese only usage instruction cards on your bed. Sadly they're weird and very flat so not much chop. The tv is good for the few channels where the bilingual button worked. In room wifi is exceptionally fast and works everywhere including the dining room. Breakfast is included and is a good mix of Japanese and Western breads fruit and cereal with a few hot dishes. It's noisy and chaotic in there when busy though. They also have a free tea and coffee service from 3pm but this seems to be a cost saving measure as they don't provide facilities in the room. The lifts (2 if them) are insufficient for so many guests and queues are common). Also this hotel is a 20 min 2.5km team ride from the JR station. No big deal as the trams are frequent and its close to the Peace Memorial but its a little way just out of the city centre. Overall a good choice. One word of warning. We booked a two person 'double room' online and had to upgrade after seeing the tiny shoebox complete with just one pillow. Two tiny people would be uncomfortable. It cost us another 25% a night to upgrade. Expedia didn't suggest that room would be no good for two people so watch that. It seems like a con.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    107
    31
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
56
38
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed 1 night here as part of our quick trip to Hiroshima to visit the Mazda Factory. We arrived in the afternoon, went straight to the peace park and then walked to our hotel (which is quite close - 10 minutes or less from the peace museum at a stroll). The room was very clean, and larger than the room we stayed at in Osaka (still "small" but a good use of space). The free breakfast was tasty, with a good range of options. It is clean, and easy to find/get to (close to the tram stop). A good safe option for your stay in Hiroshima (beautiful city!). The staff are friendly and polite and you can pay by VISA.

Room Tip: There are a couple of Comfort Hotels close to one another. Ensure you know which one you're book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I recently burned 16000 Choice Privileges Points to stay at this hotel and I thought it was a pretty good deal. I booked a twin room and it was very large by Japanese standards, had free internet, and an extensive Breakfast Buffet. The hotel had cheap laundry machines that I used to wash my clothes mid-trip.

There is a tram stop (Chuden-Mae) 1 block away. It is about 10 minute walk to the peace park, which is a must-see in Hiroshima.

The staff's English was iffy but they tried their hardest to figure out what I was trying to communicate to them and always eventually figured it out. There were tourist materials and maps available in English for those that needed them.

BEWARE: There is another Comfort Hotel that is pretty much kitty-corner tot his hotel which is larger but not nearly as well maintained as this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

For a £60 a night hotel, this offers fantastic value for money. The room and styling is fine though a bit small. There are no wardrobes so if you are here for longer than a couple of nights you may find that annoying. The bathroom is tiny but has all the facilities you'd want. The free breakfast is fantastic and set us up for the day. It's about 10 mins walk from the main shopping area and peace gardens so location couldn't be better. Free wifi too. 2 mins walk from the tram.

Thoroughly recommend this as a no frills but very comfortable stay for a short visit to Hiroshima.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel was easy to get to on the streetcar from Hiroshima Station. So glad we booked a place close to Peace Park/Museum, rather than near the station. We stayed two nights. The first afternoon, we strolled to Peace Park and surrounding areas, then easy walk back to hotel for a break, before heading out again.

We found hotel to be really good value. Good sized room, fridge, TV (all japanese stations), robes, good shower pressure, free ice from vending machine a couple of floors down, ethernet internet connection in room (wifi in lobby). Hotel also seems to hire out just about everything you need "for free" - bicycles, umbrellas, internet "booster" if needed, and ... would you believe ... toenail clippers! (we passed that one up!). They also hire out laptops if required for around AUD$5.00 a day.

Breakfast was included - a weird and wonderful mix of western and japanese food, including german potato salad. Be warned, if you go for breakfast around the time the working business travellers are there, food will run out quickly. They do replenish it though, up until about half an hour before breakfast closes.

Also had a great (and very cheap) lunch at a confusing restaurant just down the road. Menus outside, but faced with machines when inside. You pick what you want from menu, find the pic on machine (including beers etc), put money in, tickets come out. Put tickets on table and staff will collect them and deliver drinks/food. Very confusing at first as staff don't speak english, and we don't speak Japanese (we were waiting for 2 cans of beer to come out of machine)! Hand signs, smiles, patience, and much pointing eventually solved the problem and we had a delicious (and very generous) lunch and two beers for under $20 AUD for two people. We weren't starving at dinnertime due to the good lunch, so just headed to nearby 7/11, bought some wine, and as is the norm in Japan, they had a great selection of tasty japanese food to choose from, already cooked, reheated in-store, then ate it in our room.

A very good stay!

Peace Park and museum are the sobering highlights of this visit - a must do experience. We really enjoyed Hiroshima. It was very different to what we expected; to our surprise had a very positive vibe to it. Also a beautiful city, with its rivers and gardens.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The room was quite small however we were not surprised at all as we knew Japanese rooms were tiny; my partner and I were "cosy" without feeling suffocated by the space. In saying this though, it was the smallest hotel room during our entire stay in Japan. The room and bathroom were exeptionally clean as were the common areas.

The staff were excellent and very helpful and friendly. It was great to have laundry facilites on site and the location of the hotel was very easy walking distance to either the Tram or local attractions. There was also free LAN internet in the room.

Breakfast wasn't great but it was enough to put a bit of fuel into the tank before we went off exploring.
I would stay here again and will be recommending the hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you are looking for a nice, economical hotel near Peace Park, this is it. Rooms are small (this is Japan), but the breakfast is huge, and it's included in the price. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi

Address: 3-7-9 Otemachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hiroshima
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.