We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9-12 Nakamachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0037, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Gum Spring, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was on business and this was just a place to sleep. The rooms are small if you are from the US but are about average if not slightly larger if you are from Europe or Japan. The hotel was clean and was fine. There are quick stores near so you can pick up a snack or drinks. Breakfast was ok.

I will return to Hiroshima often and this is the hotel I will most likely pick for my stay.

Room Tip: Visit small park across the street and see the memorial. Interesting short read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    152
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
66
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights in this hotel. I selected this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews and because of its central location.

The location of this hotel is certainly great. It is right on Peace Boulevard and within walking distance of the Children's Peace Monument/Atomic Bomb Museum and restaurants right off of Peace Boulevard. It is two/three blocks from the nearest tram station though, so in that way it could be a little more convenient location-wise. It was slightly difficult to walk those large two/three blocks from the tram station to the hotel. Again, there are plenty of restaurants near the hotel in the Peace Boulevard area.

The breakfast buffet was actually the best we had in Japan. It had a large selection of both Japanese and Western breakfast items. The breakfast room was also at the 25th floor of the hotel and had great views. At approximately $13 USD (1300 yen), it was quite a deal.

Enough with the positives. Unfortunately, the hotel could not fulfill the basic needs of a clean and comfortable room. I used my UV blacklight to examine the room and the room was the dirtiest I've ever examined both in the U.S. and Japan. There were UV splotches (not really visible by the naked eye, but some splotches were) not just on the headboard of the bed and on some of the sheets, but also on the carpet. We actually had to get the front desk people to replace the sheets and duvet cover (covered with a large "stain") because it was so dirty. The front desk staff apologized profusely.

Another issue was the lack of ventilation. The room temperature controls are unusable! Meaning that it does no good. It was really hot in the room with no ventilation. When we tried turning down the temperature, the room ventilation actually spewed out additional hot air! The front desk staff explained to us that the room controls were useless and that decreasing the temperature using the room controls would actually increase the room temperature. They also explained the heating itself is really controlled centrally and there was nothing they could do to make things more comfortable. We first had them move us to the north side of the hotel because they indicated it would not be as hot. They also offered us a fan - yes, a fan to increase ventilation. It did help a little, but we had lots of trouble sleeping in our room because of the high temperature and lack of ventilation.

I felt sorry for the front desk staff. They were actually quite helpful as could be. They were quick with offering the fan - which probably meant they've had this problem before and they've handled this before. They were helpful with how and which trams to take.

Room Tip: Supposedly, the north side (as far as I can recall) rooms are not as hot. Check with the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After reading good reviews I stayed at this hotel for three nights with my wife. They were nice to give us a room in an high floor having a nice view. The problem is that the economic double room was extremely small. No place even for our luggage. The room for one person is small but tolerable, but for two people it is just impossible. We wanted to change to a bigger double room but we couldn't because they were full. The price of the room was reasonably cheap for a normal double room, but given the size of this room my opinion has to change. The design of the room leaves some space next to the window which is quite inaccesible and was hence not properly clean. Dust acuumulates there and it is not very healthy.
This hotel is very well located along Peace Avenue. The staff is very helpful and polite but their english is quite limited.

Room Tip: Do not take the economic double room if you are two and have luggage or want to spend time in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect a luxury hotel room when booking this hotel but for the rooms are pretty well priced for what is offered. The location is central and convenient. Breakfast buffet (continental) is poor and not much is offered. The staff are very helpful in helping you get around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My self and my boyfriend stayed here recently, it cost $10AUD for a taxi from the train station but it is really close to the central mall and monuments, the rooms were small but they were clean and nice, the staff struggled a bit with English but hand gestures get you through. We were only there for 2 nights but were thankful it was close to the centre of town

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is well located 5 mins from a team stop, short walk to the peace park in one direction and restaurants in the other. Very clean, excellent value for money and amazing views over hiroshima (ask for a room on a high floor)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Location of the Hotel is a five minute walk fromthe Peace Park and a ten minute walk from the central shopping areas. Access to and from the hotel from the station is very simple on the tram service which runs frequently.

We stopped here for two nights in April 2013 stopping in twin rooms. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. All speak English. The public areas of the hotel are modern. We did not try the Bar but our stay included breakfast from the Restaurant which had excellent views. Breakfast was a mix of Western and Asian and was very good.

The rooms we clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 9-12 Nakamachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0037, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.