We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9-12 Nakamachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0037, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Value for money wise, you can't go past this hotel.
Yes, it is nothing spectacular, but it is comfortable, clean and in a great location.
We managed to get checked in early, which was good so we could get out for sight seeing. The hotel is close to the peace park and also has heaps of restaurants near by. We visited a great ramen restaurant just around the corner!
I'd highly recommend this hotel to others who are looking for value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    120
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
53
27
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days. During our 3 week trip to Japan, this was by far the best hotel we stayed at for the price. The rooms are spacious as well as the bathrooms.The location is great! It is about 1 mile from Hiroshima station; so with our luggage we took a taxi. But besides that we walked everywhere. It is an easy walk to Hiroshima castle (15 min). We also walked to the Peace Memorial/Atomic Bomb Dome (20-25 min) as well as Mazda Zoom-Zoom station (25 min). It is really centrally located for all the places we wanted to visit. We booked our hotel on Japanican.com, so we got an awesome deal which included a breakfast buffet each morning. I would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great location, with numerous restaurants just behind the hotel. A short walk to the peace park.

Modern room but tiny, and the windows do not open. No English TV programing.

Excellent Japanese restaurant in the hotel, we had Sashimi and Tempura.

Excellent buffet breakfast, plenty variety of foods, both western and Asian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in Hiroshima for 2 days, and after reading the hotel reviews for Hiroshima, I decided on the Mitsui Garden Hotel. The price was fantastic for the value received. The location is a bit of a way from the Main Train Station (you have to take the subway or tram or taxi) however, it's location to the Peace Museum is a 10 minute walk. The hotel includes breakfast, and it is a large one at that. (Both Western and Eastern). As we arrived earlier than our checkin, the staff happily stored our luggage safely while we went off the visit the Genbaku Dome. Rooms were clean and fine. If you want a very cheap and clean hotel, this is it. We had a great view as well from the 21st floor. It is also very close to the Hon Dori, which is a major shopping area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were really pleased to stay at the Mitsui Garden Hotel. The location is ideal for access to all the sites in Hiroshima. Access to the hotel via trolley from Hiroshima JR station is also simple and convenient. It is only a five minute walk from the Fukuromachi Trolley stop.
The staff members at the hotel were courteous, competent and English-speaking. Our room was an excellent value with a nice city view and a good size by Japanese standards.
There are plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood with a variety of international cuisine choices. For shoppers, plenty of shopping choices within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Hotel is well located and within a five to ten minute walk of the river and Peace Park. Staff were polite and helpful. The room was small and too hot making it very uncomfortable, both during the day and night. Good restaurants and shopping in neighbouring streets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staff very friendly, great location for the Peace Park, etc, but the room is as big as the bed!
Room temperature was extremely hot and the air con could not be lowered beyond 20 Celsius. Staff brought us a fan, DVD player and apologized for the inconvenience. As a long term resident of Japan, I talk to locals as they do, but was treated like a tourist on his first visit.
Overall, good place, clean and comfortable very good staff service, but hot room made our stay a little unpleasant.

Room Tip: If you're a couple with a lot of luggage, you might want to consider a larger upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 9-12 Nakamachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0037, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.