We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and modern room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Side Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Side Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Side Hotel
2-6-24 Ote-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot and modern room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for four nights whilst visiting friends in Hiroshima. The location is great, very easy to find and convenient to Hondori shopping area and the streetcar at Fukuromachi and Hondori. The room was modern, clean and comfortable and the bed was comfy too. As Japanese hotels go I was quite impressed for the price. We had breakfast included and the only let down was that the 'western style breakfast buffet' consisted of only toast and jam. It would be great to have some pastries or fresh fruit as well, but I realise that those breakfast foods might not be as popular. I would most likely stay here again in future if I can get another good rate. The service was polite and efficient as I have come to expect in Japanese hotels.

Room Tip: The only pointer is that the lift is slow so lower floors would be quicker to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
43
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kobe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed two nights with my daughter in a double room. The location was excellent. It's very close (3 minutes' walk) to the Peace Memorial Park, where the A-bomb Dome is, as the name of the hotel indicates. You can visit another UNESCO World Heritage, Miyajima, by the tram. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby. There is a very good seafood restaurant (Sakana Ichiba さかな市場) is in the hotel itself. You can enjoy very fresh and delicious seafood for reasonable price. The hotel staff were all very nice and helpful as other reviewers say. They offered a lot of good information about transportations, restaurants, etc., and tried best to find an answer to any question I asked.
It would be perfect if the bed had been bigger or they had more "twin" rooms instead of "double".

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

It's a simple, clean, comfortable hotel. Location excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that's looking for a inexpensive, efficient, clean and excellent location hotel in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is literally around the corner of the Hiroshima Park and Peace Museum, the most important tourist spots in the city. Not only that, there are tons of restaurants and shops on the streets around so there are a lot of fun things to do around. The hotel is small but ok for the price since it’s not that expensive. Rooms are also small but comfy and useful. The staff speak good English and are pretty helpful if you don’t know your way around. This is a good spot to stay in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

5 min. walk to Hiroshima Bus Station, Hondori Shopping district and just next to Peace Park. Nearby theres a speed boat going to Miyajima. Free washing machine and washing detergent. Stayed for 7 days Best stay in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel only one night and wish it was 20. By far the best hotel we stayed at in Japan. Reception staff were very helpful, room was huge compared to other hotels we stayed at in Japan, everything clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. Great location close to shops, places to eat and Peace Park. Overall very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a good time. The hotel itself isn't very special, the room was clean and is (for Japanese sizes) quite alright, but the bathroom is tiny. In earlier reviews we had seen it described as an airplane toilet, well it's a bit bigger than that, but don't expect to much. The location is great; it's in a quiet street just a 5 minute walk away from the Peace Park (which is a must to visit!) and another 5 minutes walk away from the tram stop and a large shopping area.
The biggest plus for us was the free laundry room. They have 2 washing machines & 2 dryers which we used quite a lot as we were already on holiday for 2 weeks.
Regarding location & price we would definitely recommend this hotel. If you are looking for something new, fresh & fancy, you'll have to search for another hotel, but we would stay here again when we visit Hiroshima!
How to get there? Exit tram 1 at the Hondori stop (tram departs just outside Hiroshima Station).When you get off, walk towards the pedestrian crossing bridge (not to miss). Turn right just 1 block before that bridge and you will already see the park ahead of you. Then turn left after 2 blocks, when you are on the crossing of an Italian bar and a kids playground and you'll find the hotel on your left hand side just 50 meters further.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Side Hotel

Address: 2-6-24 Ote-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Park Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.