We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Side Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Side Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Side Hotel
2-6-24 Ote-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent location & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent value for the location - opposite the Peace Park in Hiroshima and the shopping belt Hondori area. Easy access by streetcar from Hiroshima Station. The hotel is basic but clean. The hotel staff is excellent and even ordered the HIROSHIMA OMOTENASHI PASS‏ for me when I enquire about the pass by email. Will definitely return when I visit Hiroshima again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    63
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
43
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was a good place for a quick stopover. Room was small like many Japanese hotels, but it did have wifi and the bed was comfy enough. Not a lot of storage space, however, and the bathroom was quite small. Location was great - 5 min walk to the Peace Park and a huge shopping area. We didn't take the streetcar to/from the train station because it was raining when we arrived and left - it was about a 10-15 minute cab ride to Hiroshima station. We were there for such a short time so we didn't really use/explore the hotel amenities (laundry, food, etc...). A good hotel room for the value!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel easily accessible by tram from the station in Hiroshima. A-bomb Dome in walking distance and tram stop in Miyajima direction just a 5-minute walk away. Wifi available in the lobby. Area with lots of restaurants for the evening within easy walking distance. Rooms very clean, as all of them in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The location of this hotel can't be beaten. Just a 5 min walk to the A-bomb dome and Peace Park. The bars and restaurants of Hondori area are just a 10 min walk away.

The hotel itself is clean, with more modern rooms than most Japanese business style hotels I have encountered during my Japan trip. Friendly staff, they allowed me to use the laundry facilities even after I had checked out.

Wifi is only present in the lobby. Sadly the hotel was full when I wanted to stay a second night in Hiroshima as the town is quite fun!

The rates for a solo traveller were good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is close to the Peace Park, Museum, A-Bomb Dome, Nuclear Bomb Center Point and the Hondori Street Arcade. Easy to locate too from the Google Map. Just about 6 mins walk from the Fukuromachi Streetcar stop. The hotel itself is good. I have no complain, and I am very satisfied with it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If there was a dingier room in this hotel than the one I got, I'd be surprised.

If you look at my profile, you'll see that I've reviewed quite a few Japanese hotels. I've stayed in my fair share of dumps that need renovating, but this room was a new low.

I sometimes wonder if the front desk staff give foreign visitors the crummiest room in the hotel. This was one of those times. At the very end of the corridor so you're thinking that you've got a corner room. The view from the window was of the staircase of the building next door. The only way you could tell if it was sunny (or daylight) outside or not was sticking your head out the window and looking right or left to see daylight at the end of the narrow space between buildings. The room smelt dank and musty. Carpet-tile flooring that was very old.

I'd have gone down to switch to another room, but checking in was arduous enough with the staff person on duty - I wanted to get out and explore.

I have to give them some credit. They give you a sheet of paper explaining what the buttons on the room heat/cool thermostat mean. However, they don't tell you what any of the menu items that pop up mean... so that piece of paper is pretty much useless.

Besides its location close to the Peace Park and the Atomic Dome, the only good thing about this hotel is that I only had to endure one night there. I read somewhere that this hotel is popular with foreigners. Perhaps they're all getting much nicer rooms or are backpackers. I don't know.

Actually, another positive was that the wifi worked in my room.... I didn't have to go down to the lobby to get it to work.

Would I stay again? No. Not unless I got a REALLY good rate and was willing to be up for trying to exchange my dungeon for a better room.

Positives: Wifi worked in the room, good location to the Peace park, museums, very quiet rooms
Cons: Old dingy room. Cheap carpet tile flooring, musty smell of the room. Perhaps this room was formerly a smoking room and they're trying to move the smokers to other areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Perfect location for visiting the peace park and museum, only a 2 minute walk away. Surrounded by plenty of places to eat and shop. Lots going on around the hotel but very quite inside. Tram stop to train station about a 10 minute walk. Our room though small had everything we needed for our nights stay, was spotlessly clean with free wifi and a kettle. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Side Hotel

Address: 2-6-24 Ote-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, BookingOdigeoWL and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Park Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.