We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for the trains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hiroshima Ekimae Green Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hiroshima Ekimae Green Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hiroshima Ekimae Green Hotel
10-27 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0822, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient for the trains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Average business hotel. Perfectly comfortable. Clean room with ensuite bathroom. Very close to the train station so was convenient when I arrived in Hiroshima late at night. Breakfast was below average - i would not recommend getting it. Staff were very friendly but no English was spoken at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
5
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in July 2006 (I put November 2011 due to not being able to set an earlier date through the site), and while the rooms were quite basic its helpful staff and location were both beneficial. The price was also quite reasonable, so overall Green Hotel provided an adequate accommodation for a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The front desk was very friendly upon arrival, more so than other cities we have been to in Japan. The hotel is located close to the train station, so you can walk to it. The staff was very helpful with suggestions on planning the itinerary for the day. We went to Miyajima on the JR line using the rail pass which you have to purchase in the States. If you don't have one, you can use the Hiroshima trolley, and it takes you even closer to the boat dock to Miyajima. If you have the JR rail pass, you don't have to pay for the boat, but you have to make sure you are on the JR boat. If you don't have one, you can ride the either boat and pay. At Miyajima, you can walk to the Itsukushima Jinja (Shrine), visit the museum, and take lots of pictures by the Torii (gate), which makes this place one of the 3 natural wonders of Japan. During low tide you can explore the tidepools, and during high tide, it looks like the torii is floating on the water. There is a cost of 300 yen for the shrine, 200 yen for the museum, and 1400 yen for the aquarium. The Aquarium is new, and it was soooo interesting to see the different marine life....the Japanese horseshoe crab. There is a cable car where you can ride up to the top of the mountain, and on a clear day, you can see the Seto Islands. It was rainy and cloudy so we didn't get a chance to do that. On the return, there are lots of shops. There is a restaurant which specializes in Okonomiyaki, the specialty of Hiroshima. It is a vegetable and seafood filled pancake in which you can choose various fillings and watch the chef cook it in front of you. If you don't spend too much time on the island, you can hop on the trolley (150 yen) and stop at Heiwa Koen Peace Memorial Park, and the Genbaku Dome and learn about the history of the bombing of Hiroshima. Entrance to the museum is 50 yen and extremely well done. A great day all in all.

Room Tip: The tatami rooms are larger than most tatami rooms in other places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room didn't have any windows and was very basic with a small double bed, but was clean and functional. Japanese night attire was a nice touch! We paid 800yen each per day for breakfast which was lovely, as was the dining room which overlooked the main street! The location was fantastic, just opposite the station. Easy access to the streetcar. Massages are available in the same building. We are 'alien residents' from Australia living in Yokohama. Hiroshima is a delightful city and well worth a visit. We had three days which was perfect. Kanpeki desu!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Read the decent reviews, and booked for 2 nights. As with all hotels in Japan, you pay for the stay as soon as you arrive. Friendly staff, but the hotel is very tired. We were in the 2nd floor room with a balcony - the windows may as well have been open to the road, it was so noisy. Had to keep the heating on as the windows let in so many drafts. Everything felt old and musty. Bathroom towels were a dark green, and obviously dated from the opening of the hotel ;-)
Good location however, and clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

The staff here spoke beautiful english and were friendly. The hotel was located very close to the main train station. You could get a tram from the station to all of the main sightseeing spots including Miyajima island. The room was small but comfortable and clean with a real bed and an ensuite. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Subject: Nagoya
Location: Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture, Chubu, Japan, Asia
Title: friendly and convenient hotel in Hiroshima
ID#: 28858597

As non-speaking Japanese Brits with two teenagers in tow, we were anxious travelling to Hiroshima with no knowledge of the area. We had selected the hotel from the internet because it was near the station and fitted our very tight budget. On arrival at the station we were worried we couldn't see the hotel at first . On closer inspection we looked up and right and saw the hotel name about 200yds away. We walked across the road passing a bank and post office and as we discovered later a well;-stocked supermarket .On arrival at the hotel about 3mins walk we were greeted by friendly staff who although had little english had enough to get by and we were given our two twin bedded rooms.which oddly turned out to be on two separate floors. We soon found out why as the rooms had huge windows and a lovely panoramic view of the river and city with almost a180 degree view. Both rooms turned out to be the largest and best in the hotel. They were attractive spotless and a good size. The rooms had all mod cons hairdryer ,kettle trouser press radio tv ,clock, a small table and chair, clothes horse ,large mirror etc.and a compact en-suite bathroom.with sachets of shampoo and conditioner as well as the more usual soap toothbrush and toothpaste. We were very impressed. Breakfast was a western one on weekdays ie toast,eggs,salad, coffee/tea,fruit juice and a Japanese one at week-ends.fish miso soup etc. We found the hotel so easy to stay in as it was right by the tram stop too so we had no problem travelling to the Peace Park and Museums. Also being so close to the station we could catch the JR line train to visit Miyajima. On leaving we were told that we could leave our cases at the hotel whilst we spent the morning sightseeing instead of paying for coin lockers(left luggage) at the station. Wonderful hotel excellent friendly staff highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Hiroshima.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hiroshima Ekimae Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiroshima Ekimae Green Hotel

Address: 10-27 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0822, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hiroshima Ekimae Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiroshima Ekimae Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.