We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying too hard to be trendy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flex to your Saves list
Hotel Flex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-1 Kaminoboricho | Naka Ward, Hiroshima 730-0014, Hiroshima Prefecture (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Toronto
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Trying too hard to be trendy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

This hotel was a pretty good value for the money, but they try so hard to be a boutique hotel that it was not as relxed and comfortable as we would have liked. We arrived an hour before the official check out time and they would not let us checkin. They did take the bags up to the room before we came back, which was a classy touch you don't often see in budget hotels. The location is nice as it's right beside the river. Although the hotel is very close to the JR station, it's tucked away on a sidestreet and not very easy to find. The staff are nice in a hipster sort of way. The room was nice. The breakfast is served in a French restaurant downstairs. It was a little expensive at 1,200 yen and again, really trying to hard to be a "french" restaurant. It was nice, however, to eat breakfast next to the river and people watch by the bridge.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
31
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Apart from the attractive pics on their website we chose the Flex due to how its location fitted in with our itinerary. Our route was an am start from Tokyo so arrival was around 3pm which fitted in anyway with their published check in times. With only a 2nt stay planned our idea was to follow a fellow TA recommendation to go to Myijima island that late afternoon (possible sunsets over the Tori gate). On paper the location looked just across from the station so this would fit in with checking in and then walking back to the station for a bit of sightseeing to make the most of that day.
Flex Hotel theme is modernist particularly over the communal areas, Londoners will know the South Bank exposed concrete look. The rooms have a nod at white minimalist which is reflected even in our pics. However don't expect high quality fittings and finishes, when you get close it looks like a teenage student of architecture has been in control and taken a can of white paint to all the surfaces of the previous existing furniture and surfaces. The other half couldn't get on with the ceiling to floor column “design statement” that is in the way of the window and room either. The chairs are of a primary school size and the bathroom is like a cabin from a caravan too.
We originally requested the superior room but as there were no non smoking rooms left accepted a standard A room. Don't get me wrong the room was quiet, the bed was ok and for the price Y9k it was reasonable. They also offer a buffet breakfast for Y1.2k each which was not bad too and you don't have to reserve it in advance.
However contrary to our map perspective it is more like a 10-15min walk from the station. So you could commit to a taxi from the station to other hotels if they offer a better overall deal and then catch the street car back to the station and still achieve what we did on that day. (Would confirm that Hotel Active is just around the corner from a tram stop, the entrance looked very nice, but that doesn't mean the rooms are of course, and best of luck as we couldn't navigate their Japanese only website.)
We did enjoy the late afternoon on Miyajima island even though the waters were out and the gate was exposed. But be aware this island does seem to be totally given over to the day tripper and providing endless souvenir shops rather than a tranquil cultural centre. We then spent the second day at the Peace Park and the museums, this was well worth the several hours that went by, emotionally tiring but cannot emphasise how much rewarding, so we didn't try and fit anything else in that day other than having a walk around the shopping centre and a meal in the early evening.
Overall if you are aware of the limitations that we judged above it is still worth considering Hotel Flex as an option for a brief stay in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Shared a double room with a friend at around 7500 yen for a saturday night. A great hotel for seeing the sights of Hiroshima. The area is very peaceful, considering how central it is. Roughly 5 - 10 minutes walk from Hiroshima Station with great views over the city and river. Roughly 15 - 20 minutes walk from places such as the Memorial Museum and A-Bomb Dome, and an equal distance from streets like Nagarekawa - a prominent area for nightlife.
The hotel itself is very sleek and modern and there is a quaint little cafe in reception, though we didn't sample the food. The rooms are on the small size but perfectly adequate for their use. Couldn't fault the cleanliness in either our room, bathroom, or throughout the hotel. The staff really didn't speak much english, but were friendly enough when we required their help.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

My Partner and I spent three nights at the Flex Hotel in Hiroshima . We booked into a twin room, and like most rooms we had in Japan the twin room seem to be the better options . the twin beds were big enough to sleep two persons , and it then gives you an option of having your luggage on the other bed . Having seen a double room here we were happy to be in a twim room. We found the staff at the Flex very helpful and if the person we spoke to was not so good with their English then they got someone who could help us. The view from our room over the river was very nice . I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Within walking distance of the A Bomb Dome and Peace Park. Hiroshima was indeed my favourite city to visit in Japan

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Hotel Flex is very nice and clean. The room is well and modern equiped, there is also o small fridge, TV, aircon. We were really surprise and had a lot of fun with hi-tech toilett, bathroom was also very clean. Stuff was very friendly but with poor english. We asked them about the restaurants, they were not able to give us advice, they smiled only . There is free computer with internet acces in the lobby.

Flex has a riverview side, but unfortunately (perhaps due to low tide) in the river basin was no water, just a mud.

Aside from the hotel is a small supermarket where we bought cheap breakfast every day.

Big plus is a proximity to the train station and good location nearby tram station, which takes you close to the Dome. But you can easily get to the shopping part of the city by walk (many roofed-in passages with shops and restaurants).

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed two nights in Double room. The hotel location is good. Just about 10 min walk from Hiroshima JR station. However we quite disappointed with the room as it is very small for two persons to fit in even though it is Double room. One needs to jump into bed so that the other can walk by. From the pictures of the hotel's website we thought it would be bigger.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling through Japan.

It is in an excellent location, really handy for the train station when you're dragging a huge bag in the summer heat! It's also within walking distance of the peace dome and other sites in Hiroshima.

The room was perfectly fine, fantastic air conditioning and unworn yukata were a plus. The bathroom was a bit odd though and definitely average rather than good.

We arrived early and were told we could not check in, which was unfortunate, but staff did hold our bags for us.

This hotel is average and better value for money than many in Japan, but I wouldn't stay more than a couple of nights here... it's not really authentic Japanese.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Flex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flex

Address: 7-1 Kaminoboricho | Naka Ward, Hiroshima 730-0014, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flex 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Flex is located on the riverbank where the Kyobashi river and the Enko river diverge. Facing the rich greenery of its surroundings, it is a certainly a city type designer's hotel, being positioned so as to afford the guest easy access to downtown Hiroshima. Hotel Flex is only a seven-minute walk from JR Hiroshima station, making the hotel one of the most convenient as a base for both sightseeing and business. We offer guestrooms from a compact single room, a maisonette, and also a personalized room with a terrace. We also have a living-room like open cafe and banquette rooms, all arranged in our ten-story premises . We are always there for our guests to make their stay in Hiroshima as comfortable and safe as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), HostelBookers and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Flex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flex Hotel Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.