We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, lovely staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flex

Save Saved
You added Hotel Flex to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Flex
7-1 Kaminoboricho | Naka Ward, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0014, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Stevenage uk
2 reviews
“Excellent value, lovely staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I found out about the flex when i went to the Hiroshima Rail station tourist imformation counter after arriving from Tokyo. The hotel is about a 10 min walk from the station and easy to find . I found the staff excellent they made every effort to make me feel welcome. The single room i had over looked the river towards the station a great view . I found the room neat and tidy just about right for my needs , i ended staying at the flex for 4 days using Hiroshima as my base to come backwards and forwards whilst using my japan rail pass . I for one think its important to feel comfortable when you arrive in new surroundings the Flex and its staff made me feel just that . Yes i will go back to amazing Hiroshima and the flex sometime in the new year i loved it so much . If you manage to meet maki who is on night staff in the resturant give her my regards a lovely person .

Room Tip: I found it slightly cheaper to book hotel rooms when in japan . Look out for tourist imfo areas at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
28
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. It was superbly priced, given its location right on the river. The views from our room were great, as was the ability to have an evening meal/drink/breakfast by the river on the heated terrace. It was close to the station and the rooms were small but clean and had everything you might need, except wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Small and squeezy room, friendly people, AC worked (hooray) and a set piece breakfast on a tray of Bannana, bread roll, yogurt and coffee or tea
Free access to the computer for emails and confirming next hotel details
Used the restuarant for our evening meal and that was quite enjoyable.
It is "close" to the JR station (if you are not carrying lots of luggage) Check the map to see.
In my mind about 600 metres.
No wi fi limited satelite TV and but has that 1000Yen /night card dispenser :-(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is close to the station and easy to find, which was important for us as we were travelling Japan by train. The hotel was also in a very good position for visiting the main attractions in Hiroshima. Although the room was tiny, the smallest we encountered on our travels, it was clean. A basic breakfast was provided and this was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Rooms here are postage stamp-sized, as with most hotel rooms in Japan, but are clean, comfortable and relatively affordable. The location is good for local sightseeing, and the staff are eager to assist with sightseeing and dining plans. Most of the people we encountered at the hotel spoke good English. I had requested a non smoking room for heath reasons, but due to a disproportionate ratio of non smoking rooms, we were assigned a room that clearly was NOT non smoking. This is a serious issues for those of us with health issues such as allergies, or pulmonary disease. But that's an issue that is country wide, as everyone seems to smoke in Japan, and it's almost impossible to escape second hand smoke. Even China has more stringent non smoking regulations.

Room Tip: Even if you request a non smoking room, don't be surprised to find that is stinks of cigarette s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on a whirlwind tour of Japan and we really enjoyed Hotel Flex. The foyer and restaurant are beautifully decorated in simple, natural style with a funky edge. iMac for guest use is a nice touch. If the weather was nicer we would have had drinks on the deck overlooking the lovely river but breakfast with complimentary blankets was nice enough! Am puzzled why they used plastic with a pattern instead of clear for their conservatory as it blocks much of the view....

The rooms are simple and smallish but perfectly fine for one night where we barely unpacked. Little desk with chair was appreciated. I can't remember the bed so it must have been comfortable!

Staff were helpful in printing maps for us to find our recommended izakaya. Highly recommend a walk through the red light district for a bit of colour!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My wife, daughter and I stayed at this hotel from October 1 to October 3 this year.

We wanted to say how much we enjoyed staying at Hotel Flex. The staff were very helpful, the rooms very clean and tidy and the café was also very good.

The breakfasts were terrific. In other places we stayed, we often found the hotel breakfasts to be too big. Hotel Flex has everything just right.

Added to the above, Hotel Flex is so convenient to Hiroshima Station too. We arrived in Hiroshima with no accommodation booked and the lady at the Hiroshima Visitor Information Centre recommended Hotel Flex to us, and booked us in straight away. We could not have been happier!

We will recommend Hotel Flex to anyone we know who travels to Hiroshima.

Thank you Flex for a pleasant, comfortable stay. We hope to see you again some time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Flex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flex

Address: 7-1 Kaminoboricho | Naka Ward, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0014, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Flex is located on the riverbank where the Kyobashi river and the Enko river diverge. Facing the rich greenery of its surroundings, it is a certainly a city type designer's hotel, being positioned so as to afford the guest easy access to downtown Hiroshima. Hotel Flex is only a seven-minute walk from JR Hiroshima station, making the hotel one of the most convenient as a base for both sightseeing and business. We offer guestrooms from a compact single room, a maisonette, and also a personalized room with a terrace. We also have a living-room like open cafe and banquette rooms, all arranged in our ten-story premises . We are always there for our guests to make their stay in Hiroshima as comfortable and safe as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Flex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flex Hotel Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.