We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flex to your Saves list
Hotel Flex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-1 Kaminoboricho | Naka Ward, Hiroshima 730-0014, Hiroshima Prefecture (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Small and squeezy room, friendly people, AC worked (hooray) and a set piece breakfast on a tray of Bannana, bread roll, yogurt and coffee or tea
Free access to the computer for emails and confirming next hotel details
Used the restuarant for our evening meal and that was quite enjoyable.
It is "close" to the JR station (if you are not carrying lots of luggage) Check the map to see.
In my mind about 600 metres.
No wi fi limited satelite TV and but has that 1000Yen /night card dispenser :-(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    43
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
33
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is close to the station and easy to find, which was important for us as we were travelling Japan by train. The hotel was also in a very good position for visiting the main attractions in Hiroshima. Although the room was tiny, the smallest we encountered on our travels, it was clean. A basic breakfast was provided and this was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Rooms here are postage stamp-sized, as with most hotel rooms in Japan, but are clean, comfortable and relatively affordable. The location is good for local sightseeing, and the staff are eager to assist with sightseeing and dining plans. Most of the people we encountered at the hotel spoke good English. I had requested a non smoking room for heath reasons, but due to a disproportionate ratio of non smoking rooms, we were assigned a room that clearly was NOT non smoking. This is a serious issues for those of us with health issues such as allergies, or pulmonary disease. But that's an issue that is country wide, as everyone seems to smoke in Japan, and it's almost impossible to escape second hand smoke. Even China has more stringent non smoking regulations.

Room Tip: Even if you request a non smoking room, don't be surprised to find that is stinks of cigarette s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on a whirlwind tour of Japan and we really enjoyed Hotel Flex. The foyer and restaurant are beautifully decorated in simple, natural style with a funky edge. iMac for guest use is a nice touch. If the weather was nicer we would have had drinks on the deck overlooking the lovely river but breakfast with complimentary blankets was nice enough! Am puzzled why they used plastic with a pattern instead of clear for their conservatory as it blocks much of the view....

The rooms are simple and smallish but perfectly fine for one night where we barely unpacked. Little desk with chair was appreciated. I can't remember the bed so it must have been comfortable!

Staff were helpful in printing maps for us to find our recommended izakaya. Highly recommend a walk through the red light district for a bit of colour!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My wife, daughter and I stayed at this hotel from October 1 to October 3 this year.

We wanted to say how much we enjoyed staying at Hotel Flex. The staff were very helpful, the rooms very clean and tidy and the café was also very good.

The breakfasts were terrific. In other places we stayed, we often found the hotel breakfasts to be too big. Hotel Flex has everything just right.

Added to the above, Hotel Flex is so convenient to Hiroshima Station too. We arrived in Hiroshima with no accommodation booked and the lady at the Hiroshima Visitor Information Centre recommended Hotel Flex to us, and booked us in straight away. We could not have been happier!

We will recommend Hotel Flex to anyone we know who travels to Hiroshima.

Thank you Flex for a pleasant, comfortable stay. We hope to see you again some time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIlano
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel in the centre of Hiroshima. Very trendy and modern hotel. The rooms are small but the price is worth the quality of the room and the location. We were 2 nights in a small room perhaps it would be better to choose a bigger room even if the price is slightly bigger. Hihghly reccomended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed here as we could not get accommodation out on Miyajima Island so I'm not sure how far away we were from the Peace Park, but being in Hiroshima in the past the transport is very good to get around everywhere here. But this was a great little hotel in a nice location with very helpful staff. The room was modern enough but for 2 adults travelling with a 4yr old & 3yr old (sharing one bed) it was very tight in a "Triple Room" which was two single beds with a fold out single sofa bed which took up what little other floor space there was left. But we had a high floor with a great River View below. We drove to the hotel and it was raining when we arrived after dark, but where the hotel is located there is no where to stop out the front to unload luggage or Children. They do provide a pre-paid discount parking voucher for car parking stations within a 2-3 minute walk away. The Breakfast was very nice and even though it was raining we sat out in a fully enclosed annex with a lovely feel to the place overlooking the garden. The breakfast cost is about JPY1,400 but was worth it I thought for the lovely selection on offer, scrambled or hard boiled eggs, chunky style baked ham, salad, pastries, breads, quiche, cereal, coffee, teas and juices plus of course Japanese options too like miso soup, rice etc. All in all I would stay here again but only for overnight stays as rooms are too small for a long stay with children in tow. But would be great for Couples since it is really well priced for Japan. About JPY12,000 for a Triple Room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima
#1 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Station
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
#20 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
#13 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#9 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flex

Address: 7-1 Kaminoboricho | Naka Ward, Hiroshima 730-0014, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flex 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Flex is located on the riverbank where the Kyobashi river and the Enko river diverge. Facing the rich greenery of its surroundings, it is a certainly a city type designer's hotel, being positioned so as to afford the guest easy access to downtown Hiroshima. Hotel Flex is only a seven-minute walk from JR Hiroshima station, making the hotel one of the most convenient as a base for both sightseeing and business. We offer guestrooms from a compact single room, a maisonette, and also a personalized room with a terrace. We also have a living-room like open cafe and banquette rooms, all arranged in our ten-story premises . We are always there for our guests to make their stay in Hiroshima as comfortable and safe as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, HostelBookers, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Flex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flex Hotel Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.