We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Memorable Restaurant That Should Not Be Missed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Ponte

Caffe Ponte
1-9-21 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan
+81 82-247-7471
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,470 restaurants in Hiroshima
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
599 helpful votes 599 helpful votes
“Such a Memorable Restaurant That Should Not Be Missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

After touring Peace Memorial Park, we wanted to have lunch. On the way back to our hotel(Rihga Royal Hotel Hiroshima), we found this delight.

It's situated just across the river from a nice tourist office in Peace Park, right by the bridge and water. Smoke free. There is outside dining under pretty umbrellas and also inside tables. We managed to get a nice table outside...the wait was only about 5 minutes. They have heaters for the colder days/nights. A lot of wood and an upscale feel.

Menu was in English with good pics so ordering was uncomplicated. We each ordered the lunch special, which was linguine in oil with seafood. A couple glasses of house red wine, which was tasty. Service was attentive with a lot of smiles! The food was delicious, we could not get over it. And for the price, it was really a steal. Nice and hot when it was brought out. Offered us parmesan and crushed hot pepper for topping, with us not having to ask. We were there about 2 hours by choice and really enjoyed ourselves.

Really nice view, in a great location after sightseeing with delicious food and drink at reasonable prices. Upscale feel. What more can you ask for? All good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    13
    11
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Avoid nothing like Italian food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced and in attentive service.
We ordered standard size portions of mussels (16 dry and lukewarm mussels ) and chicken risotto which was a small lump on a large plate.
Overall a let down.
Our inpression was over hyped and not worth the prices which were above the average by 20%

So our advice - and we praise when we eat a good meal - avoid and try somewhere less on the tourist trail.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food, service & location are all outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I ended up enjoying this place a number of times on my visit to Hiroshima. The location, right on the river is a great place to sit back and enjoy a meal. Even when it rained very heavily the staff really go out of their way to help you. The staff were excellent and some of the best I encountered in Japan. The food was excellent quality and very well presented.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top notch food and service in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I had a delicious and very relaxing dinner at Caffe Ponte. We shared a salad, and I had the pasta with spinach and oysters. My husband had the oyster risotto. Everything was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Wine by the glass was very good. Restaurant is located on the river across from Peace Park. There is both indoor and outdoor seating, but many of the indoor tables have a nice view of the river. Service was very attentive. Prices are extremely reasonable for the quality of the food served. Though it wasn't Japanese food, this was one of the tastiest meals we had during our 2 weeks in Japan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Due to its high ranking on tripadvisor, my wife and I stopped here after visiting the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum. I'm not usually motivated to write (somewhat) negative reviews, but I thought it would be helpful to balance out some of the more positive reviews on here.

The good: The restaurant is in great spot along the canal and the outdoor seating area is shaded which makes it a nice place to eat. They serve refreshing orange juice, made in a juicer (not squeezed) which seems to be one of their signature drinks. They staff was friendly and made a lot of efforts to explain items to us and the menu is in English with pictures. The place is a bit pricey for what you get, but they do offer set menus that are much better value, though it is restricted to a few pasta dishes.

The ok: We had a miscommunication with the staff regarding the price of drinks. They had indicated that ordering two of any drink meant a discounted price (which is marked on the menu). However, that only applied if an entree was ordered with each drink. Therefore, when we ordered two sets of two drinks only one set ended up discounted because we ordered two entrees (not four). I don't fault the restaurant for this, we are in Japan and don't speak Japanese. The waitresses did their best to explain things in English -- these things happen and it wasn't intentional.
We also didn't receive our wine spritzers (a mojito-like mixed drink made from white wine), which we had requested to have served with the meal, until ten minutes after we'd finished. I had actually already gone to pay and told them just to take the two drinks off the bill, when they told us the drinks were being made at that moment and brought them over to our table. They were apologetic and told us they would take them off the bill if we didn't want them, but we felt a bit guilty and accepted the drinks, which were ok.

The not-so-good: I ordered a pizza which clearly came pre-made (we could see it being opened out of a bag), though the mushrooms and bacon may have been added on fresh before entering the oven. It was Italian, thin crust style, but it wasn't baked long enough and the dough was still chewy and soft. The cheese had very little flavor and there were no herbs or seasoning. My wife's tomato-mozarella pasta dish, had the same problems with lack of herbs (one tiny slice of basil, not even the half of a small leaf) and no seasoning. It was also completely soaked in tomato sauce, unlike the picture on the menu.

Had we not had high expectations, the experience probably would have been better. It isn't homemade or authentic Italian, but it's ok. IF I had to do it over again, I would order off the set menu because it's a much better value. Also, the carbonara looked much more appetizing than our dishes. Maybe it was just an off day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Ponte also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Caffe Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.