We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Affordable Dining on the Water in Hiroshima” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Ponte

Caffe Ponte
1-9-21 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan
+81 82-247-7471
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,471 restaurants in Hiroshima
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegant and Affordable Dining on the Water in Hiroshima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We found this lovely restaurant after a day spent visiting Miyajima Island, and Peace Memorial Park, in Hiroshima. Caffe Ponte is located near A-Bomb Dome. It has an elegant yet family-friendly atmosphere (tables are set with white table cloths and white votive candles) and is located right on the water with scenic views, whether dining inside or out. Outside dining is made available even in the cold of winter with plenty of outdoor heaters arranged among the tables.

We were hoping for fresh oysters (a specialty in the area) which they did not offer, but there were plenty of other oyster entrees as well as meat, pasta, and other seafood. I had a shrimp risotto which was memorably one of the best I've ever eaten. My husband and son both had a muscles appetizer and oyster pasta entrees and they raved about both. We did not have young children with us, but if I remember correctly they did have a children's menu.

We found the prices to be some of the most reasonable in our whole stay in Japan, and the service personnel were excellent and spoke pretty good English, too. I cannot think of one negative thing to say about our dining experience at Caffe Ponte and I recommend it highly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    13
    12
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A terrace in Japan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

After traveling in Japan for a while, I noticed that there are very few places to have a drink or something to eat outside. Caffe Ponte is nice place overlooking the river, with nice food. Prices are on the high side though!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Good dining choice while exploring Peace Memorial Park area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a good, if slightly pricey cafe / Italian restaurant on the edge of Peace Memorial Park and an easy walk from the downtown shopping core of Hiroshima. Staff speaks English. Food is good - pizza, sandwiches, warm baguettes / bread. Great lunch spot break.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic oyster pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After a day walking around the Memorial Peace Park and visiting the museum, we found the this nice place nearby the A-bomb dome. My girlfriend and me both enjoyed a pasta dish with oysters. (mine penne, hers spaghetti)
Both priced around the 1300 yen, it was really delicious. There are not many places in Japan where you can eat outside like this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good location, set meals good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Located on the river just by the A Dome with, unusually for japan, a set of outdoor tables that allow you to watch the world go buy. Place specialises in oysters and Italian food. Set meal was a good deal (for Italian food in Japan - 1980 yen for soup, bread, salad, pasta, desert and a drink - include g beer and wine). Food very good and love,y place to while away an hour or too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Ponte also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture

Been to Caffe Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.