We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regalo Hotel Hiroshima

Regalo Hotel Hiroshima
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Regalo Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Regalo Hotel Hiroshima
9-2 Hashimoto-cho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0015, Japan (Hiroshima Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Large room, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My daughter and I didn't have a booking when we arrived in Hiroshima. After visiting a couple of hotels we called into the Regalo and was greeted by 3 English speaking receptionists. They were so bright and bubbly. We were immediately shown to a large room with two large single beds on a non smoking floor. We had a winch in our room we assume in case of fire. As usual everything supplied, toiletries, fridge and tea making facilities. Our room faced the river and I am surprised how quiet it was. Transport was easy with a number 2 or 6 tram from station one way and down the other way to shopping centre, night life, peace park and museum. (about 10-15 min. walk). Great location. Room very clean, bed a little hard but expected in Asia, pillow average. An ample Japanese buffet breakfast with toast and coffee. Free internet in rooms. Elevator. Great location. We don't look for frills, a clean room, good location and elevator.

Room Tip: They have non smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

The hotel offered free breakfast, with both Japanese and American choices. In addition, it was very convenient to the streetcar/light rail public transportation system. However, the walls were incredibly thin, making for a loud stay; the hallway and room smelled of cigarette smoking (even though we'd booked a non-smoking room); and the bed was uncomfortable, with a hard mattress and bamboo filled pillow. Also, we were awakened throughout the night by street noise of an undeterminable origin that seeped through our single-paned window. Front desk staff was very helpful and spoke English. The hotel accepted credit cards.

  • Liked — proximity to public transportation
  • Disliked — noise from other rooms and outside being CLEARLY heard in my room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

Regalo is a nice, affordable budget hotel in Hiroshima. Stayed in large double room (one of the largest we've had in Japan) facing river -- very pleasant

Plus: About 10 minute walk from train station/nightlife district/shopping area and 15 minutes to Peace Park (or grab the tram right around the corner); staff was very attentive (although did not speak a lot of English); in-room refrigerator -- ask for ice at front desk; hot-water heater; hair dryer, razor, brush, toothbrush, soap, etc....; internet in room and also a computer in the lobby with internet for guests; breakfast is included (but note that it is Japanese breakfast -- rice, salad, soup, fish, etc...); bathroom is decent size; coin-op washer and dryer on roof floor.

Cons: Tram is a bit noisy but seems to be quieter at night. Check-in is not until 3 pm (but they will hold your bags -- a typical experience that we've had in Japan). Bring your own coffee or tea to use with the hot-water heater.

Enjoy! A quiet, affordable stay in Hiroshima. Be sure to pick up a "Get Hiroshima" map when you arrive at the hotel desk.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2005

We stayed in the Regalo in 2004 and have booked in for 2005. It is located between the city centre and train station, clean and comfortable and well priced. Staff wer friendly and attentive. The restaurant downstairs is also highly recommended, Italian but with a japanese touch ( I have never seen spagetti eaten with chopsticks before!).

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

I stayed in this hotel during a visit to Hiroshima in late May of 2005. The hotel is centrally located and it was a comfortable walk to the main attractions of Hiroshima such as the Peace Memorial and the Art Museum and Gardens. The room I stayed had a nice view of the river. The room was spacious, the bedsheets and towels were almost like new. In fact, the entire hotel seemed like new. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was quite good. The staff was courteous and friendly. Of the five different hotels I stayed in during my trip to Japan, this was the best one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regalo Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regalo Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 9-2 Hashimoto-cho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0015, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station , Kanayamacho Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Odigeo so you can book your Regalo Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regalo Hotel Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.