We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
¥2,900 (JPY)
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
roadtrip
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I paid $55.00/night total for a single room at this hotel booked 3 months prior on hotels.com.The previous posts on TA are accurate. The location was fantastic, a 3 minute walk to Peace Park. The internet was reasonably fast (both wired and wifi) There were no English Channels on the TV. The room was hot at times, so I had to open the window (as their A/C does not work yet....only heat)The Bed (medium hard)and Pillows (western) were excellent.I would recommend it to all, a good medium budget choice for Hiroshima.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    261
    115
    17
    14
See reviews for
70
167
65
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is very close to peace memorial park (Just cross the bridge). Staffs are very friendly and helpful. They also suggested some additional activities/places to see. Rooms are very clean and very comfortable. Even though I travelled solo, definitely will recommend this hotel to anyone. Will book again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in July. We purposely visited Hiroshima to visit the Peace Memorial Park and this hotel was the perfect location for it. A 5 minute walk across the street.
The rooms are out dated and furnishings are old, bathroom is small. It is what you would expect for the price. There is only WIFI in the lobby and not in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed in Sunroute for 2 nights in Oct 12 with family, this property is old and so are the rooms. The biggest advantage of this hotel is the location, its 5 min walk away from the Peace memorial.
Location wise excellent, also good connectivity with the trams in Hiroshima.
Room are old and lots of smoking smell in the lobby. If you just spend the night for sleep and day for sightseeing then ideal hotel with the price they offer the room. So in that sense value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for River View Rooms they have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was cheap and cheerful, a little dated in its interior and rooms, but well worth the money.
You can't get a better location in Hiroshima, and the room came equipped with a small refrigerator and kettle.

The staff spoke English and were helpful.
Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last night and apart from the fact that it is in a ideal location we really regretted staying here.

Im not sure if we were assigned the worst room in the hotel as i cannot believe the number of good reviews it had but we found the room gross.

It felt like we had stepped back into the 70's as the furniture and carpet were old and very worn out. There were dark stains on the carpet in both the hotel room and the hall ways. The carpet in the elevator looked like it had not been vacuumed in 6 months.

The bed was hard which i guess is normal for some japanese accommodation but we had two pillows that were very hard. One was really lumpy and it felt like a sack of rags. We had a third pillow and it soft but really thin. I managed to sleep ok on it after folding it so it support the weight of my head.

We paid about 100 for the night and although not much we still think they need to do some refurbishment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

From my room I had a view of the dome, park and river. It was also convenient to catch the boat to Miyajima.
About a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area of the city.
The room was clean but a bit tired looking.
Overall by Japanese hotel standards its a good place to stay, especially as this was by far the least expensive hotel during my 3 week stay in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Address: 3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.