We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
¥2,900 (JPY)
Ranked #22 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in July. We purposely visited Hiroshima to visit the Peace Memorial Park and this hotel was the perfect location for it. A 5 minute walk across the street.
The rooms are out dated and furnishings are old, bathroom is small. It is what you would expect for the price. There is only WIFI in the lobby and not in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    225
    95
    11
    12
See reviews for
53
137
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed in Sunroute for 2 nights in Oct 12 with family, this property is old and so are the rooms. The biggest advantage of this hotel is the location, its 5 min walk away from the Peace memorial.
Location wise excellent, also good connectivity with the trams in Hiroshima.
Room are old and lots of smoking smell in the lobby. If you just spend the night for sleep and day for sightseeing then ideal hotel with the price they offer the room. So in that sense value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for River View Rooms they have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was cheap and cheerful, a little dated in its interior and rooms, but well worth the money.
You can't get a better location in Hiroshima, and the room came equipped with a small refrigerator and kettle.

The staff spoke English and were helpful.
Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last night and apart from the fact that it is in a ideal location we really regretted staying here.

Im not sure if we were assigned the worst room in the hotel as i cannot believe the number of good reviews it had but we found the room gross.

It felt like we had stepped back into the 70's as the furniture and carpet were old and very worn out. There were dark stains on the carpet in both the hotel room and the hall ways. The carpet in the elevator looked like it had not been vacuumed in 6 months.

The bed was hard which i guess is normal for some japanese accommodation but we had two pillows that were very hard. One was really lumpy and it felt like a sack of rags. We had a third pillow and it soft but really thin. I managed to sleep ok on it after folding it so it support the weight of my head.

We paid about 100 for the night and although not much we still think they need to do some refurbishment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

From my room I had a view of the dome, park and river. It was also convenient to catch the boat to Miyajima.
About a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area of the city.
The room was clean but a bit tired looking.
Overall by Japanese hotel standards its a good place to stay, especially as this was by far the least expensive hotel during my 3 week stay in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalalabad, Nangarhar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Perhaps the best attribute of this hotel is its location. It is on the river, directly across from Peace Park, less than a 5 minute walk. Along the river is a very nice walking trail and restaurants are very nearby. There is a Starbucks and a UCC Diner (typical diner food) all within a block. We ate at the UCC Diner every morning and it was very good. Within a 10-15 minute walk is Hondori St., the food/shopping area of the city. Also within a few minutes walk is the Chuden Mae (orange) tram stop. From this location with the tram system, you can go anywhere in Hiroshima.

The lobby is very modern and comfortable. There is a bar on the lobby floor and a restaurant on the top floor, neither of which we visited. Also available at the front desk is a currency exchange, which is very convenient!

The room decor and furnishings are dated, but are still nice and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the pillows very plush. The room size (ours was a single bed room, 11th floor) is adequate for two adults and a small child.

The bathroom has the typical Japanese features: heated toilet w/motion sensor which runs some water when you sit down, heated no-fog mirror, and good shower water pressure.

This hotel still uses and actual key for the room lock, of which you leave at the front desk when you leave the hotel. I've found this is common at most hotels that don't have electronic locks.

They will also store luggage for you if you want to check out, but still sight-see before catching a train/plane.

The only downside to this hotel is the HVAC air/heating system. The hotel shares one system, so you cannot choose between heat/cool in individual rooms. This is no problem in the winter or summer, but during transition months can be problematic. We visited in mid-April and it was warm outside. The hotel still had the heat on, so our room was very warm. There is a thermostat, but it was only a matter of choosing between warm and hot air. We inquired at the front desk and they were very apologetic for the issue and explained about the HVAC system. They offered to move us to a smoking room, which has windows that open. We declined since it was our last night there, but we did appreciate the offer. Later that night, the air was much cooler, so we suspect they either turned the air conditioner on or dialed down the heater.

In all, we had a very pleasant stay and would gladly do so again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and conveniently located to the sights of Hiroshima. The rooms of this hotel are larger than many Japanese hotels. It is a very clean and well appointed hotel. Very quiet. Walking distance to everything you want to do. We walked to the Peace Memorial Park and Museum, A-Bomb bldg., adjacent shopping district and the Hiroshima Castle. All were very interesting. Also, walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Address: 3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.