We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Affordable and fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was cheap and cheerful, a little dated in its interior and rooms, but well worth the money.
You can't get a better location in Hiroshima, and the room came equipped with a small refrigerator and kettle.

The staff spoke English and were helpful.
Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    310
    132
    23
    15
See reviews for
95
200
72
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last night and apart from the fact that it is in a ideal location we really regretted staying here.

Im not sure if we were assigned the worst room in the hotel as i cannot believe the number of good reviews it had but we found the room gross.

It felt like we had stepped back into the 70's as the furniture and carpet were old and very worn out. There were dark stains on the carpet in both the hotel room and the hall ways. The carpet in the elevator looked like it had not been vacuumed in 6 months.

The bed was hard which i guess is normal for some japanese accommodation but we had two pillows that were very hard. One was really lumpy and it felt like a sack of rags. We had a third pillow and it soft but really thin. I managed to sleep ok on it after folding it so it support the weight of my head.

We paid about 100 for the night and although not much we still think they need to do some refurbishment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

From my room I had a view of the dome, park and river. It was also convenient to catch the boat to Miyajima.
About a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area of the city.
The room was clean but a bit tired looking.
Overall by Japanese hotel standards its a good place to stay, especially as this was by far the least expensive hotel during my 3 week stay in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Perhaps the best attribute of this hotel is its location. It is on the river, directly across from Peace Park, less than a 5 minute walk. Along the river is a very nice walking trail and restaurants are very nearby. There is a Starbucks and a UCC Diner (typical diner food) all within a block. We ate at the UCC Diner every morning and it was very good. Within a 10-15 minute walk is Hondori St., the food/shopping area of the city. Also within a few minutes walk is the Chuden Mae (orange) tram stop. From this location with the tram system, you can go anywhere in Hiroshima.

The lobby is very modern and comfortable. There is a bar on the lobby floor and a restaurant on the top floor, neither of which we visited. Also available at the front desk is a currency exchange, which is very convenient!

The room decor and furnishings are dated, but are still nice and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the pillows very plush. The room size (ours was a single bed room, 11th floor) is adequate for two adults and a small child.

The bathroom has the typical Japanese features: heated toilet w/motion sensor which runs some water when you sit down, heated no-fog mirror, and good shower water pressure.

This hotel still uses and actual key for the room lock, of which you leave at the front desk when you leave the hotel. I've found this is common at most hotels that don't have electronic locks.

They will also store luggage for you if you want to check out, but still sight-see before catching a train/plane.

The only downside to this hotel is the HVAC air/heating system. The hotel shares one system, so you cannot choose between heat/cool in individual rooms. This is no problem in the winter or summer, but during transition months can be problematic. We visited in mid-April and it was warm outside. The hotel still had the heat on, so our room was very warm. There is a thermostat, but it was only a matter of choosing between warm and hot air. We inquired at the front desk and they were very apologetic for the issue and explained about the HVAC system. They offered to move us to a smoking room, which has windows that open. We declined since it was our last night there, but we did appreciate the offer. Later that night, the air was much cooler, so we suspect they either turned the air conditioner on or dialed down the heater.

In all, we had a very pleasant stay and would gladly do so again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and conveniently located to the sights of Hiroshima. The rooms of this hotel are larger than many Japanese hotels. It is a very clean and well appointed hotel. Very quiet. Walking distance to everything you want to do. We walked to the Peace Memorial Park and Museum, A-Bomb bldg., adjacent shopping district and the Hiroshima Castle. All were very interesting. Also, walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

More a 3.5 star review. We had a good time at the Sunroute. The room was small, but just the right size for a 1-night stay. The AC was broken, so the room never got as cool as we wanted it to be. But all in all, the location was perfect and the service was good. Given the chance, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hi,
I am the author of "Moments in Time-a collection of short stories". My stories are based on experiences around the world -hence I have travelled through many countries and stayed in many hotels.
Location:
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima is close to Chuden-mae street car stop. This costs 150 yen from Hiroshima station. Location is excellent as it is only a 5 minute walk to the Peace Memorial Park.
There are plenty of eating places nearby.
Accommodation:
Similar to all the Japanese hotels we have stayed in, the room was very clean and well maintained. The room was bigger than our first hotel and had a couch. For the room and location the room cost was very reasonable. Room had a shower over a bath, and a bidet.
Staff
These were very helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
#12 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Hokke Club Hiroshima
Hotel Hokke Club Hiroshima
#16 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#9 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Park Side Hotel
#8 of 123 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Comfort Inn Hiroshima Heiwa-Odori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Address: 3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.