We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
¥2,900 (JPY)
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
California, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The location for this hotel is wonderful, I received a room with a beautiful view or peace park. Peace park, Hiroshima museum and Hiroshima castle are all within walking distance. Also close to streetcar chuden mae exit ( 4min walk to hotel. The hotel itself is no frills, slightly bigger then standard Japanese hotel room. My only complaint is they do not offer any English TV channels. But with so much to do in the area, you will not be watching too much TV.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    248
    110
    15
    14
See reviews for
67
159
58
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a companion for three nights from 22nd January 2013. My companion was at a conference at the nearby International Conference Centre which was a five minute walk away. Also in that area close to the hotel was the Peace Park and the Peace Memorial Museum. The A-Bomb Dome was a few minutes walk away. The location of the hotel was excellent with the No.1 tram line being three minutes walk from the hotel, with stops at either Chuden-Mae or Fukuro-Machi. It takes 20 minutes by tram from Hiroshima Railway Station to the tram stops near the hotel and costs a flat rate of 150 Yen. First impressions were that it was an older, established hotel (some might say dated). Reception checked us in quickly and when we asked about internet access they were surprised on being told we had brought our own Ethernet Cable. They would have gladly rented us one ! The room was warm and cosy and had a homely feel about it and was spotlessly clean. We did not have smoke smells as reported by other reviewers. As with many Japanese rooms the bathroom was compact but adequate with bath, shower and copious hot water and fluffy towels. The free wired internet was fast and useful during the stay. There was a small fridge and we also had a cute little hotplate set into the desk unit with a water jug to boil water for your tea or coffee. You can request a room with a view of the A-Bomb Dome but we were at the rear of the hotel. A short walk away was the busy Hondori street with shopping and dining to suit all tastes. If you want boutique style then this is not for you but we would recommend this value for money hotel for a comfortable stay in Hiroshima.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if that is important to you....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Excellent location, overlooking the Peace Memorial Park and museum. Otherwise you're just a very short walk to shops and restaurants. No Wifi in our room but the foyer area is a nice enough place to sit. Beds and pillows quite firm but Western pillows avaiable on request. Room a litte on the small side even for Japan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel's in Hiroshima & Japan in general are not cheap but the Sunroute in Hiroshima was quite reasonable even at short notice. It's not exactly in the centre of Hiroshima but it is right across the street from the Hiroshima Memorial Peace Park and the A-Bomb Dome. Needless to say, if you are going to Hiroshima, you have to visit this park, it is remarkable. It's about a 10 minute walk from the main Bus Station. The hotel itself was very good, got a room up on a high floor, had a great view, it was clean, comfortable and convenient. The staff were very helpful too and I found them to have a decent level of English, which was very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is located in the immediate vicinity of the atomic bomb memorial and the museum, and within a 10 min. walk to the main shopping streets. The staff is the average japanese hotel staff: extremely friendly and polite, but unfortunately only little english is spoken. Our room was rather large for japanese standards and came with a TV, water cooker and a safe. Theoretically it would also have an aircon, but the system turned out to be horribly oldfashioned. Apparently the system is either hooked up to a boiler, or to a cooler. Twice a year they switch from one to the other, so if you're unlucky enough to be here in spring or fall (like us), you may find your room to be intolerably hot or cold, with no way of changing it. I really found this extremely annoying, as the only way we could keep the temperature in the room below 25C, was having the window open to the noisy street. Swithcing on the "aircon" would blow in huge amounts of hot air and turn the room into an oven. Apart from that, the room was OK and clean. Free CABLE-internet is available, there is no wifi. Carpets in the corridors were a bit stained and outdated. The top floor restaurant offers a great view over the city. The breakfast buffet is unfortunately is heavily oriented to the japanese clientele: don't book the breakfast based on the misleading pictures of the buffet the staff may show you. Overall I found the experience to be very average and would recommend the hotel's direction to modernize the hotel, especially the climatization systems and internet access.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

In the morning, I could hear monks chanting at the Peace Park. It was incredible. It is also a comfortable distance from eating and shopping areas. The rooms are a little dated, but the location makes up for it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is great, just outside the Peace Park (impressive!) and close to a tram stop of the tram that will take you to and from the train station.
The lobby is grand and comfortable, the room a decent size, and internet is free (lan, connector is provided). Hot water pressure was good, bed comfortable, amenities sufficient.
Coffee and tea facilities are included, as well as a fridge.

I was on a non-smoking floor, but one of my neighbours could not control his addiction.
Also, the emergency route was blocked by a cart with linen supply ….
All in all, it was a comfortable stay and it would most likely be my choice again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Address: 3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.