We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, cosy and superb location....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Comfortable, cosy and superb location....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a companion for three nights from 22nd January 2013. My companion was at a conference at the nearby International Conference Centre which was a five minute walk away. Also in that area close to the hotel was the Peace Park and the Peace Memorial Museum. The A-Bomb Dome was a few minutes walk away. The location of the hotel was excellent with the No.1 tram line being three minutes walk from the hotel, with stops at either Chuden-Mae or Fukuro-Machi. It takes 20 minutes by tram from Hiroshima Railway Station to the tram stops near the hotel and costs a flat rate of 150 Yen. First impressions were that it was an older, established hotel (some might say dated). Reception checked us in quickly and when we asked about internet access they were surprised on being told we had brought our own Ethernet Cable. They would have gladly rented us one ! The room was warm and cosy and had a homely feel about it and was spotlessly clean. We did not have smoke smells as reported by other reviewers. As with many Japanese rooms the bathroom was compact but adequate with bath, shower and copious hot water and fluffy towels. The free wired internet was fast and useful during the stay. There was a small fridge and we also had a cute little hotplate set into the desk unit with a water jug to boil water for your tea or coffee. You can request a room with a view of the A-Bomb Dome but we were at the rear of the hotel. A short walk away was the busy Hondori street with shopping and dining to suit all tastes. If you want boutique style then this is not for you but we would recommend this value for money hotel for a comfortable stay in Hiroshima.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if that is important to you....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent location, overlooking the Peace Memorial Park and museum. Otherwise you're just a very short walk to shops and restaurants. No Wifi in our room but the foyer area is a nice enough place to sit. Beds and pillows quite firm but Western pillows avaiable on request. Room a litte on the small side even for Japan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel's in Hiroshima & Japan in general are not cheap but the Sunroute in Hiroshima was quite reasonable even at short notice. It's not exactly in the centre of Hiroshima but it is right across the street from the Hiroshima Memorial Peace Park and the A-Bomb Dome. Needless to say, if you are going to Hiroshima, you have to visit this park, it is remarkable. It's about a 10 minute walk from the main Bus Station. The hotel itself was very good, got a room up on a high floor, had a great view, it was clean, comfortable and convenient. The staff were very helpful too and I found them to have a decent level of English, which was very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is located in the immediate vicinity of the atomic bomb memorial and the museum, and within a 10 min. walk to the main shopping streets. The staff is the average japanese hotel staff: extremely friendly and polite, but unfortunately only little english is spoken. Our room was rather large for japanese standards and came with a TV, water cooker and a safe. Theoretically it would also have an aircon, but the system turned out to be horribly oldfashioned. Apparently the system is either hooked up to a boiler, or to a cooler. Twice a year they switch from one to the other, so if you're unlucky enough to be here in spring or fall (like us), you may find your room to be intolerably hot or cold, with no way of changing it. I really found this extremely annoying, as the only way we could keep the temperature in the room below 25C, was having the window open to the noisy street. Swithcing on the "aircon" would blow in huge amounts of hot air and turn the room into an oven. Apart from that, the room was OK and clean. Free CABLE-internet is available, there is no wifi. Carpets in the corridors were a bit stained and outdated. The top floor restaurant offers a great view over the city. The breakfast buffet is unfortunately is heavily oriented to the japanese clientele: don't book the breakfast based on the misleading pictures of the buffet the staff may show you. Overall I found the experience to be very average and would recommend the hotel's direction to modernize the hotel, especially the climatization systems and internet access.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

In the morning, I could hear monks chanting at the Peace Park. It was incredible. It is also a comfortable distance from eating and shopping areas. The rooms are a little dated, but the location makes up for it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is great, just outside the Peace Park (impressive!) and close to a tram stop of the tram that will take you to and from the train station.
The lobby is grand and comfortable, the room a decent size, and internet is free (lan, connector is provided). Hot water pressure was good, bed comfortable, amenities sufficient.
Coffee and tea facilities are included, as well as a fridge.

I was on a non-smoking floor, but one of my neighbours could not control his addiction.
Also, the emergency route was blocked by a cart with linen supply ….
All in all, it was a comfortable stay and it would most likely be my choice again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is in a brilliant location to everything you want to see in Hiroshima! Just a short walk from Chudenmae Station and ideally located to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial and A-Bomb Dome. I highly recommend anyone travelling to Hiroshima to stay in this hotel, great prices, friendly staff and perfect location. I would ask when booking to a view over the river as our room was facing the opposite direction and had no view at all which was a real shame! .. If you are walking from Chuden Mae Station on your way you will see a small soup kitchen its got brown wood with white flags, EAT THERE! Try the Hiroshima Special Soup or the Chop Suey on rice you will be amazed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#7 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
#13 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Park Side Hotel
#9 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#3 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hiroshima Tokyu REI Hotel
Hiroshima Tokyu REI Hotel
#11 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Address: 3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Rakuten, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing