We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
¥2,900 (JPY)
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel's in Hiroshima & Japan in general are not cheap but the Sunroute in Hiroshima was quite reasonable even at short notice. It's not exactly in the centre of Hiroshima but it is right across the street from the Hiroshima Memorial Peace Park and the A-Bomb Dome. Needless to say, if you are going to Hiroshima, you have to visit this park, it is remarkable. It's about a 10 minute walk from the main Bus Station. The hotel itself was very good, got a room up on a high floor, had a great view, it was clean, comfortable and convenient. The staff were very helpful too and I found them to have a decent level of English, which was very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    248
    110
    15
    14
See reviews for
67
159
58
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is located in the immediate vicinity of the atomic bomb memorial and the museum, and within a 10 min. walk to the main shopping streets. The staff is the average japanese hotel staff: extremely friendly and polite, but unfortunately only little english is spoken. Our room was rather large for japanese standards and came with a TV, water cooker and a safe. Theoretically it would also have an aircon, but the system turned out to be horribly oldfashioned. Apparently the system is either hooked up to a boiler, or to a cooler. Twice a year they switch from one to the other, so if you're unlucky enough to be here in spring or fall (like us), you may find your room to be intolerably hot or cold, with no way of changing it. I really found this extremely annoying, as the only way we could keep the temperature in the room below 25C, was having the window open to the noisy street. Swithcing on the "aircon" would blow in huge amounts of hot air and turn the room into an oven. Apart from that, the room was OK and clean. Free CABLE-internet is available, there is no wifi. Carpets in the corridors were a bit stained and outdated. The top floor restaurant offers a great view over the city. The breakfast buffet is unfortunately is heavily oriented to the japanese clientele: don't book the breakfast based on the misleading pictures of the buffet the staff may show you. Overall I found the experience to be very average and would recommend the hotel's direction to modernize the hotel, especially the climatization systems and internet access.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

In the morning, I could hear monks chanting at the Peace Park. It was incredible. It is also a comfortable distance from eating and shopping areas. The rooms are a little dated, but the location makes up for it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is great, just outside the Peace Park (impressive!) and close to a tram stop of the tram that will take you to and from the train station.
The lobby is grand and comfortable, the room a decent size, and internet is free (lan, connector is provided). Hot water pressure was good, bed comfortable, amenities sufficient.
Coffee and tea facilities are included, as well as a fridge.

I was on a non-smoking floor, but one of my neighbours could not control his addiction.
Also, the emergency route was blocked by a cart with linen supply ….
All in all, it was a comfortable stay and it would most likely be my choice again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is in a brilliant location to everything you want to see in Hiroshima! Just a short walk from Chudenmae Station and ideally located to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial and A-Bomb Dome. I highly recommend anyone travelling to Hiroshima to stay in this hotel, great prices, friendly staff and perfect location. I would ask when booking to a view over the river as our room was facing the opposite direction and had no view at all which was a real shame! .. If you are walking from Chuden Mae Station on your way you will see a small soup kitchen its got brown wood with white flags, EAT THERE! Try the Hiroshima Special Soup or the Chop Suey on rice you will be amazed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Glad that they accommodated my request to switch the rooms. I booked non-smoking rooms, but both rooms smelled like cigarette smoke. I think they need to crack down on smokers in non-smoking floors.

Conveniently close to the Peace Memorial. Just a 5 minute walk to the entrance.

Had problems communicating with some of the front desk staff who didn't speak English. But it's ok - it's their country. Visited the Mazda plant (10am for English tours every day). You actually see the assembly line of the cars being built.

This hotel is close to shopping areas.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker or allergic to smoke, make sure you check the rooms first before settling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

So, we asked for a non-smoking room. The first thing we noticed upon walking into the room was the stale stench of cigarettes. We opened the window (with great difficulty), but outside our window was an air-con outlet (a loud fan-type thing, we think it was air con related) so we couldn't sleep with it open since it was too loud. I confirmed with reception that the room was indeed, non-smoking (the entire floor was) but I was told that 'due to the air ventilation system in the whole hotel, rooms inevitably smell of cigarettes'. The reception staff did put a ventilator machine in our room for fifteen minutes which helped a bit, but the smell promptly returned the following morning.

The bathroom was dated and didn't have handwash?!

Other than that, everything was clean and functional. The staff were pleasant. The Peace Park was within a couple of minutes from the hotel and very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Address: 3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0051, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.