We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shukkei-en Garden

Shukkei-en Garden
2-11 Kaminobori-cho, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture, Japan
+81 82-221-3620
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 49 attractions in Hiroshima
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 17th-century miniature landscape garden was restored after its destruction in 1945, and contains a pond, streams, islets and bridges.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
115 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Tranquil Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Shukkeien Koen which has an area of 15,000 square metres, is a gem not to be missed. It is easy to spend 1 - 2 hours wandering the paths that wind through and around the central lake.
Opening hours are; Oct - Mar 9 am to 5 pm, Apr - Sep 9 am to 6 pm.
Entry; adults 250 yen, high school / clege students 150 yen, children 100 yen.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    51
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taree NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I loved these gardens. This was the best garden I visited in Japan. It had a real sense of peace and beauty. I would recommend this to everyone

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quite a walk and only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

An average garden by Japanese standards - pretty in parts but not really worth the walk. Other than the fact that the orginial garden was flattened by the a-bomb, there isn't really anything remarkable about it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantraybridge
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, lovely staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I really enjoyed seeing different gardens in Japan, and this one really was absolutely gorgeous - even on the freezing cold January morning I went there! I had to leave after 90 minutes as I was due to get a train to Hakata at 11.30am, but could easily have stayed for another hour. The garden is lovely: it really exemplifies the way in which Japanese gardens aim to look different from different angles and vantage points, it was amazing... the range of views available in such a small city park space was incredible! Also the koi were fat and impressive, and the small bamboo grove was beautiful!

I really enjoyed this place - very tranquil, lots to see and experience, and very well worth the modest entrance fee. In addition, it has a nice little cafe and a shop with some lovely souvenirs - handicrafts using scraps of kimono fabric and other things I'd not seen anywhere else! Very nice! Also the staff were very friendly here - especially the security guard who spoke with me for a while in very impressive English, and later took my photo for me as I left for my train! A very lovely place. I can only imagine how much more beautiful it is if you visit in spring or autumn...!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is so under rated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We thought an hour or two on day one in town nearly got locked in we spent so much time wandering around admiring it.

Don't miss it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shukkei-en Garden also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Shukkei-en Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shukkei-en Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shukkei-en Garden to your Saves list