We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

This is another place that for business traveller, its convenient and comfortable. Conveniently located right next to the JR train station. Clean room, though the walls are not too thick and loud voices of the neighbours can be heard. Food is decent (had only breakfast though). Neighbouring small shops are present near the station for immediate use.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    385
    85
    17
    2
See reviews for
150
253
92
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

The location is convenient, but I got lost in Hiroshima station every time I went through it, so try to remember your route to the hotel and stick to it!
Hotel lobby is clean, bright, busy. Helpful staff who speak basic English. Room was basic, but seemed fairly clean. Carpet is very dark which always makes me question how clean it is. Bathroom smelt damp. TV only had 8 channels (all in Japanese).
Bed was a large single and very comfortable. They provide a Tempur pillow, which I had never used before, but I had the best night's sleep in weeks so I am thinking of buying one. The room was completely dark when the curtains were drawn, and soundproof to traffic outside.
I didn't use the room service or any of the restaurants.
One major complaint - I used the phone to call a UK landline, and a 15min call cost me 6000 Yen (about 50 GBP)!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

we stayed at this hotel for a trip to Miyajima and it was great due to its central location. the rooms were clean and the service was wonderful. Very attentive staff.

we decided to eat in the hoteland went for the Stake House Jinseki. First of all, the staff was very helpful and everything was very clean. they helped us decide on which sake to drink and gave us tasters. The view is perfect and the cooks are great, not only in skills but also in their exchange. while servind and preparing the food he was very nice nad made some tircks for our daughter to cheer up. The food was very delicious and the amount was huge. I'd recommend this restaurant for those who'd like to try japanese food and ambiance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Granvia (owned by JR West) is newly renovated and very good value in terms of quality and location. Front desk employees are helpful and service around the hotel is of a high standard, as you would expect. The (European) breakfast was average, but acceptable. Rooms are smallish but well equipped including free LAN internet. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom while small has copious items of toiletry of every need! The only gripe is that the shower is a bath shower and not standalone.

Centrally located ~ which is a good compromise between Hiroshima sights and out of town sights reached by train. Near lots of good food.

Relatively pricy given the current exchange rates, but well worth splashing out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We paid a flying visit to Hiroshima (1 night) in July 2010 and stayed in the Granvia hote. The hotel lobby is huge and really nice and the staff very helpful (we got very detailed and helpful instructions on how to get to the sites). The was perhaps a little small for the price paid (and since we got a reduced rate on the internet we couldn't get a furher reduction with our JR pass - something the JR pass advertises you get at the Granvia hotels). Also sleep quality was afftected a little by the windows of the room being rather close to the aircon vents. However despite these negative points, this hotel is unbelievably convenient if a planning a flying visit to Hiroshima by rail, and provides a very good (if relatively expensive) service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We spent two nights at the Granvia Hiroshima, and while we were generally happy with our stay – having a pleasant sleep and an enjoyable time - the hotel was not entirely without its quirks.

Among the most positive aspects of this hotel is the location: right on top of the train station, with the lobby virtually connected to the platform. The staff were helpful and the hotel itself was clean and nicely decorated. Generally, we found that it provided us a good night’s sleep, and very good value for the rates charged.

However, there were two issues that caused us some concern. First, the breakfast buffet, bar, and restaurant are all of fairly good quality, but extremely expensive for what they offer. You can easily find some local restaurants to enjoy, but it was disappointing not to be able to make use of the convenience of the hotel services as much as we would have liked (simply because we didn’t see the value in them). Secondly, and perhaps most importantly – the rooms are really quite small, with little room to move around once you find a way to open your luggage. The quirkiest of all is the bathroom – it is tiny! And by tiny, we mean “airplane-size tiny” in every detail… right down to the hollow folding style door! Space in Japan is always used very efficiently, but this to us just seemed to take the concept to the extreme.

Having said all that (and not to give the wrong idea), this is still a very good hotel. While it is not quite up to the same high-luxury standard as its Kyoto counterpart, there is nothing particularly unpleasant about the Granvia Hiroshima. By any definition it is clean, well maintained, with a great location, and will definitely provide you with a comfortable, convenient, and relaxing (albeit small) place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is a regular business hotel. But the best thing about this hotel is the location. Imagine getting off the Shinkansen (or any other train that you might be taking) at the JR Hiroshima Station and then just wheeling your luggage down the platform and into the hotel lobby. Absolutely no stress with regards to waiting for your taxi / vehicle and then reaching your hotel thereafter. Nothing beats the convenience of a great location as far as this hotel is concerned. Right outside the train station is also the Main Bus station, though on the other side. You will have to use the subway to reach the hotel from the bus station but even then, it's not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 14:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.