We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to train station and airport bus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient to train station and airport bus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I felt very grateful for this hotel upon my arrival from Tokyo. It's very conveniently positioned very close to the train station, and the entrance to Shinkansen (bullet) trains is on the second floor of the hotel. There are however no signs posted directing you to the hotel, at the station, which is a bit of an inconvenience. If you follow to the shinkansen exit and go outside you should see it on the left hand side. This hotel, overall, was a bit of an odd experience. There were great things and some that were just weird/not so good. We stayed there for two nights, in the interim for one night going to nearby Miyojima (which I also highly recommend). The room, the bathroom, the breakfast buffet (alas not included but reasonably priced and excellent), the free wifi were all lovely. They kept our luggage and upon our second arrival actually had it waiting for us in our room! It was like magic - I often find service like this in Japan and it's such a relief. But then we decided to go for dinner at the hotel, and chose the only reasonably priced option which was Vern Vert on the second floor. That's where things started to fall apart. They couldn't comprehend that we wanted to do a la carte menu instead of the buffet, simply unable to stomach all that food for the moment, and then when they finally got it they sat us in the very back of the restaurant, in a not so attractive portion of it, and behaved weirdly, doing things like staring at us, switching our chairs, and acting as though overall we were committing some kind of rudeness by not going to the buffet. The food was actually surprisingly good for all that, so I can't complain on that account. Another disappointment was that they had not been able to change money for me - unfortunately I was left without yen by the end of the trip and then I hoped that they would be able to withdraw money from my credit card and give me cash. Instead they sent me to the ATM nearby at the JR station, but I was unable to use all 4 of the machines for some reason. I tried my darndest, to be sure. I don't know about other hotels in Japan, but in other countries I have not had difficulty with doing such transactions at the hotel. So here is a tip: bring more yen than you think you will need. Another tip: next to the hotel, there's an airport limousine bus that costs Y1300. It will take you straight to the airport and take only 45 minutes, running on 20 minute intervals. Finally to get around the city you need to walk through the underpass next to the hotel and head for the street car which only costs 150 yen and takes you anywhere you want to go. For the quality of the room/bathroom/free internet and the overall convenience of the hotel's position, I would recommend it very highly. For dinner, just head to one of the okonomiyaki places around town - we went to Nagataya which is close to the A-Dome and the Memorial Park, and had some of the best food in Japan. They have an English menu!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    393
    90
    17
    2
See reviews for
154
260
94
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located just opposite Sheraton and next to the train station and loads of little cafés. We didn't have breakfast included so we ate breakfast in the cafés instead.

The service was good and friendly. The rooms clean and normal Japan size. There were some marks etc on the walls, but it that's kind of to expect where the space is limited. The hotel felt fresh and clean, so no worries.

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: As to the room - no real tips. As always a room higher is quieter. Our was on floor 12 and it was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I took a tour of Hiroshima this holiday weekend. The hotel was awesome. I wonder what star rating it has? Breakfast buffet was nice, and my room was even nicer. Plus it right next to the main JR station in the city. With the city trolley (Streetcars) on the other side of the station. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is located in a great location - just outside the Hiroshima train station. We arrived via shinkansen and were relieved at how close to the hotel we were. There is a Hiroshima loop bus just outside the hotel which stops at all the major city sites. It is free if you have a JR rail pass. We actually spent an evening shopping in the city centre and walked back to the hotel and it only took half an hour.

Our room was situated on the 19th floor. It had a great view of the train station; my partner spent too much time watching the trains arriving! The room was clean and large, the biggest out of all the hotels we stayed in during our Japan holiday. There was a good sized bed and table and chairs next to the window. The window actually opened about 10 cm which was great to let fresh air in!

The staff were all extremely helpful, we received a collection of English maps and information upon checking in. We were unable to connect to the free Wi-fi and after calling the front desk they sent someone up to help immediately. After that we had no issues with the Wi-fi.

There are plenty of places to eat at in the hotel and in the train station. We ordered room service one evening and it was fantastic. Initially thought it looked a bit pricey but the meals were huge. The beef curry was delicious and was accompanied with a side salad and rice.

Overall we had an extremely comfortable stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After stying in a wonderful ryokan for three nights, the kids wanted to stay in a "western" style hotel when we came to town. We only stayed one night in Hiroshima so the location at the station was very convenient. We had a room high up which meant a fantastic view over the city and no disturbing noise from below. A high quality hotel that met our expectations. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was good and clean and very convenient to the station(walk through the station to the hotel). Hotel Granvia was also on the red bus loop which pulls up outside. This bus takes you to all the main sites in Hiroshima and around the city. The bus goes to the Memorial Peace Park, Museum etc. You can hop on and off all day and with a JR pass it is free. The staff on the bus were really helpful too. We stayed for a couple of days and really enjoyed Hiroshima. The main purpose of our visit was to see the Memorial Gardens and Museum so this hotel was very convenient to the stations, shops and to other sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Granvia hotel can be reached from inside the Hiroshima station if you can find your way to it. On the Japanese site of the hotel there is a page that describes the direction clearly, complete with photos.

The hotel is a Japan Rail West hotel, and is on the north side of the station. Be aware that the south side and north side of the station, separated by train tracks and platforms, can only be traveled between on foot via an underpass. It is crucial that you take the North exit 北口 (as opposed to 南口 south exit) when you emerge from the station to reach the hotel.

The hotel is old fashioned and seems to cater to its Japanese clientele of well-dressed couples and some families. My room with one bed was small, but it has everything except storage spaces. But the service is excellent: good quality towels; thorough cleaning; daily supplies of fresh slippers and robes; Japan Times (English) delivered to the door. Best of all is a superb shower head (a Toto wonder) with tremendous water pressure - a really wonderful treat after a hot day outside.

There are plenty of eateries within and around the station, including a McDonald's and a Danish bakery. The hotel itself has a few restaurants, but they are pricey (20USD for breakfast). The Sheraton hotel and this hotel face each other, and is said to be a newer (but also perhaps more expensive) hotel. One plus of this hotel is that the city's sightseeing loop bus -- which operates during tourist season -- stops right in front of this hotel.

Hiroshima is less English-friendly than Tokyo and Kyoto, and finding your way around without being able to speak or read Japanese could pose a challenge. I didn't have problem communicating with the people at the front desk of this hotel, as each time someone was able to speak in English, including a helpful concierge/bell captain.

I stayed on the 9th floor. The Internet connection worked well during my stay; I used the Ethernet connection instead of the wifi. My luck did run out on the day of my departure, when the connection failed me for no apparent reason, in spite of a valient attempt to help by a staff who came to the room. But there are PCs available for rent in the business center in the lobby.

Minuses: there is no safe in the room, no shelves or drawers for storage, and (for some reason that escapes me) the shower door can only be half closed, which can result in a very wet bathroom if you turn the shower on full blast.

All in all, this is a good hotel to stay in to explore the city of Hiroshima, especially if you need to make use of the train station to travel elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 14:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.