We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a shorter stay in Hiroshima” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Hotel Granvia Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0822, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Shenyang, China
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location for a shorter stay in Hiroshima”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located just opposite Sheraton and next to the train station and loads of little cafés. We didn't have breakfast included so we ate breakfast in the cafés instead.

The service was good and friendly. The rooms clean and normal Japan size. There were some marks etc on the walls, but it that's kind of to expect where the space is limited. The hotel felt fresh and clean, so no worries.

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: As to the room - no real tips. As always a room higher is quieter. Our was on floor 12 and it was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    281
    67
    15
    1
See reviews for
110
174
71
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokosuka, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I took a tour of Hiroshima this holiday weekend. The hotel was awesome. I wonder what star rating it has? Breakfast buffet was nice, and my room was even nicer. Plus it right next to the main JR station in the city. With the city trolley (Streetcars) on the other side of the station. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is located in a great location - just outside the Hiroshima train station. We arrived via shinkansen and were relieved at how close to the hotel we were. There is a Hiroshima loop bus just outside the hotel which stops at all the major city sites. It is free if you have a JR rail pass. We actually spent an evening shopping in the city centre and walked back to the hotel and it only took half an hour.

Our room was situated on the 19th floor. It had a great view of the train station; my partner spent too much time watching the trains arriving! The room was clean and large, the biggest out of all the hotels we stayed in during our Japan holiday. There was a good sized bed and table and chairs next to the window. The window actually opened about 10 cm which was great to let fresh air in!

The staff were all extremely helpful, we received a collection of English maps and information upon checking in. We were unable to connect to the free Wi-fi and after calling the front desk they sent someone up to help immediately. After that we had no issues with the Wi-fi.

There are plenty of places to eat at in the hotel and in the train station. We ordered room service one evening and it was fantastic. Initially thought it looked a bit pricey but the meals were huge. The beef curry was delicious and was accompanied with a side salad and rice.

Overall we had an extremely comfortable stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After stying in a wonderful ryokan for three nights, the kids wanted to stay in a "western" style hotel when we came to town. We only stayed one night in Hiroshima so the location at the station was very convenient. We had a room high up which meant a fantastic view over the city and no disturbing noise from below. A high quality hotel that met our expectations. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was good and clean and very convenient to the station(walk through the station to the hotel). Hotel Granvia was also on the red bus loop which pulls up outside. This bus takes you to all the main sites in Hiroshima and around the city. The bus goes to the Memorial Peace Park, Museum etc. You can hop on and off all day and with a JR pass it is free. The staff on the bus were really helpful too. We stayed for a couple of days and really enjoyed Hiroshima. The main purpose of our visit was to see the Memorial Gardens and Museum so this hotel was very convenient to the stations, shops and to other sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Granvia hotel can be reached from inside the Hiroshima station if you can find your way to it. On the Japanese site of the hotel there is a page that describes the direction clearly, complete with photos.

The hotel is a Japan Rail West hotel, and is on the north side of the station. Be aware that the south side and north side of the station, separated by train tracks and platforms, can only be traveled between on foot via an underpass. It is crucial that you take the North exit 北口 (as opposed to 南口 south exit) when you emerge from the station to reach the hotel.

The hotel is old fashioned and seems to cater to its Japanese clientele of well-dressed couples and some families. My room with one bed was small, but it has everything except storage spaces. But the service is excellent: good quality towels; thorough cleaning; daily supplies of fresh slippers and robes; Japan Times (English) delivered to the door. Best of all is a superb shower head (a Toto wonder) with tremendous water pressure - a really wonderful treat after a hot day outside.

There are plenty of eateries within and around the station, including a McDonald's and a Danish bakery. The hotel itself has a few restaurants, but they are pricey (20USD for breakfast). The Sheraton hotel and this hotel face each other, and is said to be a newer (but also perhaps more expensive) hotel. One plus of this hotel is that the city's sightseeing loop bus -- which operates during tourist season -- stops right in front of this hotel.

Hiroshima is less English-friendly than Tokyo and Kyoto, and finding your way around without being able to speak or read Japanese could pose a challenge. I didn't have problem communicating with the people at the front desk of this hotel, as each time someone was able to speak in English, including a helpful concierge/bell captain.

I stayed on the 9th floor. The Internet connection worked well during my stay; I used the Ethernet connection instead of the wifi. My luck did run out on the day of my departure, when the connection failed me for no apparent reason, in spite of a valient attempt to help by a staff who came to the room. But there are PCs available for rent in the business center in the lobby.

Minuses: there is no safe in the room, no shelves or drawers for storage, and (for some reason that escapes me) the shower door can only be half closed, which can result in a very wet bathroom if you turn the shower on full blast.

All in all, this is a good hotel to stay in to explore the city of Hiroshima, especially if you need to make use of the train station to travel elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A most pleasant stay in an excellent room. The room was larger than the two other small double rooms we stayed in on this trip. The attention to detail with the room servicing was exceptional. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0822, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#5 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 13:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.