We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location and well appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Save Saved
You added Hotel Granvia Hiroshima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0822, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 107 hotels in Hiroshima
Auckland N Z
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Handy location and well appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you want a hotel of good standard close to the railway station and foodhalls then the Granvia is a good choice. It is arge and modern without a lot of personality so doesn't stand out but it has a pleasant spacious lobby and really nice rooms with good beds and excellent bathrooms and most rooms have wide views.
We splurged on a teppanyaki meal on the top floor. The views were fabulous at night, our personal chef cooked us a truely delicious and fresh meal and the wagyu beef was divine. It was expensive but worth it. Recommended as a good overnight stop.

Room Tip: Check out the restaurant on the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    294
    71
    15
    1
See reviews for
116
187
73
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just a short walk from main Hiroshima station to Hotel. Room provided was on 18th floor with a great view over the city. Bed comfortable and bathroom had all mod cons. What was new for me was the fact that the bathroom mirror even had a section with a heating element or something behind it. This meant that after a shower, whilst a lot of the mirror would fog up the section that was heated stayed clear. A couple of pillow types provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Compared to all the other hotels we stayed in this was the worst. The rooms are tiny, 'bug hutch' springs to mind to describe it and that is after we paid for an upgrade after seeing the first room they wanted to put us in. The bathroom whilst well appointed can't fit more than one person, a bit tough if trying to get ready in the morning. Location is good, next to the station and easy to pick up provisions and take back to your room. The concierge really struggled with English, not something you would expect at a hotel like this. Room dated and pillows on beds not great. We stayed on tbe west side of the hotel which overlooked a building site, I think the east side view would be best. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I went to this hotel via JR from Kansai Airport. It is convenient because you don't need to go out because there is a connecting between Shinkansen and the hotel. Staying the train station so it is easy to find foods.

The room I booked is a small room which looks like a single room and put another bed to be twin. I am ok cos I knew at the time I booked. Room has everything you can find from a normal hotel and clean.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We did not push suitcases very far from Shinkansen to arrive at the Granvia and our room with a south view was spacious, with excellent bed and shower, which are my main criteria for comfort. staff was most helpful although not much English spoken. breakfast buffet excellent as you can choose western or Japanese food. no noise.

Room Tip: we liked southnview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After staying at the Granvia Kyoto, we were expecting much more. The hotel is perfectly located less than 2 minutes from the train station. From the outside it looks very modern but we stayed in a double room on the 15th floor and were disappointed. The whole floor is smelly - a mix of disinfectant and smoke even when it's a non smoking floor. The rooms are smell and very dated. The bathroom does not have proper ventilation and again it reeks of disinfectant. Breakfast buffet is ok but nothing amazing. Giving it 3 stars because of location and free wifi.

Room Tip: I heard some floors are being renovated. Ask to stay in one of these rooms instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is situated right next door to the Hiroshima station and the bus and tram terminus. The hotel foyer area is connected to the railway. It is a stylish hotel that offers a range of services and the staff have good english. The rooms are smallish and one side of the double bed is only 30 centimetres from the wall. Wi-fi was available in the room. There was no english speaking programmes available on the TV. However, the bed was hard by Australian standards and became uncomfortable after a few hours sleep. All the general amenities were good and all was immaculately clean. Being close to the railway there was a range of restaurants and convenience shopping within 5 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0822, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 13:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.