We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Value for money, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very pleasant and clean hotel, friendly staff and great location next to Hiroshima station. Quick access by foot or tram to the Peace Park and associated A-bomb related sites. Quiet and clean room, powerful shower was enjoyed though the bathroom felt like it was in a caravan. Would stay again when next in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    385
    84
    17
    2
See reviews for
150
253
92
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The South
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My daughter and I were visiting my son, who is in the Navy and stationed near Tokyo. He went to his base ITT office to make us reservations for one night in Hiroshima, and they selected this hotel. I am so glad they did! We rode down on the Shinkansan and arrived early in the afternoon. A quick check in, and we were off for touring Hiroshima, then checked out the next day. They let us keep our luggage in their cloak room, as we were not leaving again on the train until 5 pm.

The staff was so helpful and very English fluent. We were on the 19th floor and had a great view of the city. The beds were just right, the room and the bathroom were spotless. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were provided and seemed to be of high quality. There was also a mini fridge and a hot water heater for tea, along with a coffee maker. The thermostat was responsive and we got the room nice and cool for sleeping.

If I ever return to Hiroshima, this will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had just 24 hours in Hiroshima so I wanted to be based somewhere that would not involve lots of wasted travel time in the city. As I was arriving by Shinkansen in the evening, I chose the Granvia as it is located right at the station, and was also a good price. Aside from the station, there is not that much to do in the immediate area, but you can get the JR Sanyo line train to the ferry terminal for Miyajima (27 mins away, and much quicker than tram or bus). I went from there and then stopped off on the way back at Yokogawa (JR Station) from where it is easy to get a tram to the Peace Park (No.7), and then again from the Peace Park back to the station (No 6 or No 2). All very convenient to be based at the station, and the hotel lets you keep bags there after check-out.

As for the hotel itself, the room was fine - everything worked, and was clean, and the bed was comfortable. There is a kettle, but only tea is provided, so if you want coffee in the room maybe take some with you. The front office staff were very helpful and check-in and out was quick. All in all a decent 4 star hotel in a very good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in this hotel and so far it is the best we have stayed in during our trip in Japan. We chose it for the location as it is attached to the station and there are buses and the tram close by. Also plenty of restaurants and coffee places in the station itself. Compared to other hotels the room was "huge" and it had so many thoughtful features.The AC was quiet. A small table and 2 chairs were useful in addition to a desk chair. The free LAN internet was easy to access and good speed. Very good bathroom amenities, more mirrors than usual including a 3 way make up/dressing mirror and a no fog section in the bathroom. Plenty of drawers if you wanted to unpack all your luggage, a little less hanging space but ok. Our room was on the 19th floor overlooking the station and other buildings but the double glazing and excellent block out drapes meant we slept very well on the firm but comfortable beds. Two types of pillows were a bonus. Little features such as clever light switches with a red/green dot meant you could find them in the dark, easy access switch to the fridge if you wanted to turn it off (some hotel fridges are annoying), dimmer switches on the reading lamps. The bathroom was a reasonable size and the bath large enough for a soak. Hand rails made easy access. The teabags of green tea and oolong were reasonable quality.
Staff were friendly and efficient. Every day when we returned to room it was serviced. Wherever we went in the hotel staff were helpful and accommodating. We wanted a drink in the bar one night but it is a smoking bar so we were about to leave when the staff member offered us a table in the restaurant instead. It was a great view and our drinks were perfectly made. We had a buffet breakfast 2 mornings and enjoyed the large variety of food which was all fresh and tasty. We had some laundry done as we couldn't find a local laundromat...a little pricey but well done. Check in and out were both courteous and efficient. Only 1 thing stands out as a possible negative...the only English TV channel is the BBC and it was crackly. We would recommend this hotel, particularly if you want a good hotel in an excellent position.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel was great. The bed was the comfiest yet during our stay in Japan. They also provided us with therapeutic memory foam pillows (which were great!) but also had standard pillows in the wardrobe. Room size was good. Room was very clean. Staff were friendly. Location was obviously helpful as its located behind the train station and its just a short walk under the station to the other side where you can catch the #2 or #6 tram into the peace memorial park and main shopping strip. Free wi-fi from the bedrooms which was good too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

stayed her in april 2012, 3 mins walk from train station, and 3 minutes walk to tram, direct line to city and peace park. good size room, for japan standards, very helpful staff, would definately recomend

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAIWAN
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stay this hotel for the first 2 nights and the last 3 nights during our 13 days San-yao tours. This is a very good hotel, very comfortable bedroom even for family of 3 person. Good location and near most of the interesting sights!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are under construction as the Hotel announce,but we did not hear any noise or inco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 14:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Hiroshima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.