We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Hiroshima to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Located adjacent to the JR Hiroshima station, where your Shinkansen train will arrive, its ideal post a long journey from Tokyo etc.

Pros:
Location: next to the train station, and easy access to trams (which is preferred mode of transport in Hiroshima). However Hiroshima, the tourist area specifically, is not large - so most hotels located close to the station
Rooms: clean, modern and large by western standards (Japanese rooms tend to be on smaller side)

Cons:
WiFi - no WiFi in the hotel, disappointing as it is so common nowadays. Most other hotels we visited offered free WiFi in the lobby. You do receive a LAN cable in the room, but this is not ideal for tablet owners (e.g. Ipad)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripman234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Situated next to the JR station this Hotel is in a very good position to access all the city sights. Very helpful and friendly staff and comfortable rooms with a view.Small bathroom as usual but the room size was fine and well equipped

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Hotel Granvia, Hiroshima, couldn't be in a better location; right next door to the main train station. We stayed there the first night of our trip and it was a fantastic start to the holiday. After travelling overnight and then another flight from Tokyo, we were well and truly in need of a good sleep. We definitely got that. The cleanliness of the hotel is excellent and the service, typically for Japan, top notch. We'd stay there again in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mareek00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very conveniently located right by the main train station.

We stayed in a number of hotels similar to this on our holiday in Japan. What set this hotel apart from the rest was that the service we received from the reception desk was much better than the other hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had mixed feelings about this hotel. It is very nice, clean, and is very well located (right next to the JR station and the very useful streetcars).

The biggest problem for me was the lack of Wifi. In this era, there is no excuse for a hotel to not have wifi. They have cabled internet .. but nowadays people are using iPhones and iPads to quickly surf the net. I kept on asking them if they had internet to use and they said no. Well literally right beside me was a business center, where you can use the internet (which was expensive). I don't know if they didn't understand English or were trying to brush me away.

It's not a bad hotel by any stretch. The wifi incident was annoying and it was slightly overpriced. I spent less money on hotels in Tokyo then I did with Hotel Granvia Hiroshima.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel was very convenient to the shinkansen/JR station. Rooms were spacious, very clean, modern, and up-to-date. Beds were very comfortable for a Japanese hotel. Bathrooms were nice, and spacious, with a more western size shower. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great all around stay at the Hotel Granvia, very much worth what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There is no doubt that this is a great hotel. It's easy access to the station and local public transport was the perfect access we needed for visiting the main sights in our short two day stay. Not to mention the many food shops and restaurants near by. Our only let down was there was no wi-fi in the hotel. There is however a business room on the ground level with access to two computers and a printer. We used these computers to plan our day. 100yen buys you ten minutes of Internet access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ags K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Sheraton Hotel Hiroshima
#1 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#4 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#3 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
#13 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
#14 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 14:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing