We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ikawa Ryokan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ikawa Ryokan to your Saves list
Ikawa Ryokan
5-11, Dobashi-cho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0854, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,521 reviews 1,521 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 241 cities Reviews in 241 cities
741 helpful votes 741 helpful votes
“Basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very small and basic rooms, a bit of a cold feeling about the place. On the other hand, reception has a great lounge with big TV and best of all a massage chair. A lot more comfortable than the room. The Ryokan is in a great location, 5 minutes walk from the peace park and one minute walk from Dobashi street car stop, which will take you to Miyajima. I would be interested to see if other people slept really badly here, I had a very restless sleep due to noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
7
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just 5min from peace park. We slept in traditinal room very nice and clean. Not many rooms, try to book in advance.the place offers Western breakfast ita recommeded.
Arriving from Dubashi station. Nothing more to add.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great location just by the peace park (though a cab ride/longish tram from the main station). Rooms are basic and clean but in need of some attention - like the paintwork, curtains etc. A bit noisy at night. Breakfast nothing special.

Basically it's OK and great value for money. I'd stay there again, but it's nothing special.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

It is so far from the city center, if you want to go there you need 45min journey by tram. The rooms are without personality and very expensive if you compare them with other ryokan in Japan. Plus the staff is not nice. We definitely don't recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

For our first 2 nights in Japan we chose to stay at a traditional style ryokan and our room consisted of tatami mats with futons, though we did choose a room with western style bathroom. We arrived early evening and was greeted by the owner who speaks enough English to communicate with. A nice touch was our name on the welcoming black board. This place is popular with school groups and tour groups, though we heard next to no noise and saw only a handful of other guests during our stay. We chose not to have the traditional Japanese breakfast, though the dining room ladies were happy to reheat my leftovers from a fantastic small restaurant we found 2 streets behind the ryokan. It is within walking distance to Hiroshima Peace Park and A Bomb dome, and the tramway that will take you to the ferries to Miyajima Island. A good base to explore Hiroshima from. Probably a little expensive compared to staying in a normal hotel, but I found I slept really well on the futon after a full day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed here with a school group. We were greeted by the owner on arrival and allocated our rooms. Mine was a traditional room, about 5 tatami, with futons. Really comfortable, and great for sleeping. While relatively close to a main road, with trams (light rail) direct from Hiroshima Station, it was quiet. For breakfast we had Japanese-style one day, then Western-style. Japanese was interesting, some of it quite nice, but other parts a bit strange. Western breakfast was lovely, with fresh toast cooked and delivered to the table while still hot. The staff could not do enough for us. Free wi-fi available in the foyer and dining room was easy to access and relatively quick. The staff fussed around the children, making sure that everything was to their liking, food-wise. Central location, the trams give easy access to most of Hiroshima's attractions, and it is only a short walk to the Peace Park, the Hon Dori shopping arcade and the fabulous Okonomimura

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I drove into Hiroshima late in the evening without any hotel reservations and came upon this place. It consists of an older building, which I believe has Japanese-style rooms, and a newer addition which has "regular" hotel rooms. We stayed in one of the latter with twin beds for four nights. As with many hotels, the room was small but adequate and clean. We had a private bath with lots of available hot water. We were able to control the room temperature. The hotel is on a quiet side-street close to the Peace Memorial and a major streetcar stop. We found a food market and some decent restaurants within walking distance. The staff provided a LAN cable for our laptop so we had an excellent Internet connection. On the downside, our room rate was OK but equivalent accommodations can be found for less, especially in the winter off-season. The staff were not especially helpful or friendly. Ikawa caters to groups of foreign schoolchildren; I don't have a problem with exuberant teenagers having a good time (I was once like this), but it can get noisy in the small hallways when they are talking or coming-and-going late at night. We don't regret staying here but would look for other accommodations the next time we visit Hiroshima.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ikawa Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikawa Ryokan

Address: 5-11, Dobashi-cho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 730-0854, Japan
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Ikawa Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikawa Ryokan Hiroshima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikawa Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.